We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must get cream corn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Bar-B-Q
10623 Westover Hills, Hwy 151, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)
210-520-5552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Far West Side
Ely, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“must get cream corn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've been here twice and the cream corn is wonderful! The meat variety is good and very tasty. You order as a group and get meat per the pound and a loaf of bread to go with it. The staff is friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    56
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We don't have a Rudy's where we live, so I was very excited to eat there after a day at Sea World. Rudy's is my absolute favorite BBQ place. Their sauce is spicy and perfect! A bit on the pricey side, but it seems like BBQ always is.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We tried everything and we LOVED it. Took a ton home too. Great prices and speedy friendly service. The corn is to die for and the free samples don't stop!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A BBQ Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I've only been to Rudy's in Austin before so a trip to the original San Antonio location was a treat. We had all the meats (well we are on holiday!) and sat outside. It's an amazing place, great food and although not the cheapest - we'd go back like a shot. We like the brisket and turkey best of all and the sause is superb.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rudy's Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

True authentic Texas BBQ in a great setting. Take the family, they will truly enjoy it. Sauce was so good we came home with a 32oz bottle which you can buy there. We enjoyed the chicken the most, the coleslaw and peach cobbler were favorites, and the root beer in a bottle chilled over ice just topped it all off. Great place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.