We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location for Riverwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Riverwalk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #19 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    224
    64
    25
    14
See reviews for
303
175
15
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days and loved the location and the hotel. Nice breakfast every morning with very friendly morning staff. I know some people complained about the valet parking and the price but they must not travel much. The price was reasonable for the area and the parking very convenient. There were times we retrieved/left our vehicle multiple times and the attendants were very efficient. They knew the area, offered dinner suggestions and were very friendly even when it was swamped down there. Tip them, a couple bucks can return the mood. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors and riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I normally stay at another hotel right on the Riverwalk when I visit San Antonio, but because of the make-up of our group this time, we needed a "suite" set up. So based on TripAdvisor reviews, I chose the Embassy Suites Riverwalk, got a very good AARP rate, and was very pleased with the experience.

The room was spacious and very clean. The location is further down the Riverwalk, but it's really only a few minutes longer to walk to get to the restaurants and shops. In addition, being a bit further down, it is nice and quiet. I especially appreciated that factor as we stayed over New Years Eve and didn't hear any of the partying on the Riverwalk.

The included breakfast buffet is predictable, but quite good. There are lots of choices, and the staff keeps the entire area very tidy, even with lots of people going in and out. We didn't try room service this trip. The Embassy Suites Riverwalk is also a very short walk to Alamo, which was our primary destination as we were hosting a friend who had never been to Texas before.

The only negative associated with the hotel was that as we were leaving, I asked the valet for directions to Market Square. The directions that he gave us were completely wrong and took us in the complete other direction. I sometimes wonder if the valet guys at hotels do that on purpose just for chuckles.

At any rate, I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay there again when I need that kind of set-up.

Room Tip: Whenever you are in San Antonio, ask for a Riverwalk view. You'll enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here because the wedding I was invited to was in this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised with my room which I found to be roomy and comfortable, especially the bed. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The free breakfast and happy hour daily were better than average. The hotel bar and restaurant had a great wine list and good food. Yes, it is on the Riverwalk, but it is just river and concrete, however, the Alamo, shops, restaurants, and parks are all within a mile of the hotel. My only complaint is the lack of self parking. At $27 a day valet parking makes the stay a bit more expensive, but other hotels in the area may be similar as parking in the area is very limited. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

When you stay central the advantage is walking distance to attractions, you'll get that here. Prices are higher, valet parking is required and rooms are smaller. Food at the nightly welcome reception is reasonable quality as is the breakfast. The only downside is the hotel isn't clean enough! Breakfast areas are understaffed for the volume of guests and our room carpet had obviously not been vacuumed after the last guest. (Clothing tags, food debris and a few small pebbles were the give away here). Decor in the rooms is lovely, bathroom toiletries are mid range and the in suite fridge/microwave would be handy if you need it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslet, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My youngest daughter and I visited the Riverwalk for the first time in Feb 2013. We stayed at the Hilton on the Riverwalk across from the convention center. We were so impressed, we knew we have to bring back the rest of our family. We tied to make a reservation for Spring Break, but the price was more than we wanted to spend. Loving the Hilton hotels, we chose the Embassy Suites Riverwalk. When we got to the hotel we found out, while it is technically ON the Riverwalk, it is at the FAR END. The hotel itself was not in a part of town that we felt comfortable walked in and out of at night. When we arrived our room was not ready. No big deal, we would wait. We waited until after 4pm before it was ready. When we walked in, the A/C was very noisy and the room was not well kept. We asked to have another room, which they accommodated. The next room was nice, but still seemed old. The room has a nice countertop with a wet bar sink and mini fridge. There was only the desk type table to eat at and not enough chairs to accommodate four people around to eat. We ordered from the room service menu for dinner on evening. It was pretty good and not overly priced. They did have a wonderful evening reception that was included with our room. The breakfast was also great. Make your own omelet, fruit, juices, muffins. Our conclusion, we will choose another hotel next time since location is important to us.

Room Tip: Be sure to turn on the A/C to see if it runs quiet enough for your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay experience at the hotel. We have found in our short 3-years of operation that our beautiful Riverwalk location has been a strength that many have enjoyed, I apologize that you did not find it to your liking. Our goal at the hotel is to make a memory and I am very happy you enjoyed both our breakfast and evening reception offerings. I hope that should your travels bring you back to San Antonio that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay which included New Years Eve. Our room was a two room suite which included two queen beds and a sofa bed in the other room. Also had a microwave and small refrigerator. Our small balcony overlooked the river and was on the 17th floor (the top).

This hotel is located a few steps from the quiet end of the Riverwalk and very short distance to the more active areas.

Included in the price was a buffet breakfast with made to order omlettes. In the evenings between 5:30 until 7:30, there are drinks and small snacks available.

The staff was excellent and we would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Riverwalk

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Riverwalk 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.