We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Riverwalk to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Riverwalk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #19 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I just spent five nights at this hotel. This was the first time I have stayed that long in a hotel without growing tired of it. The rooms are modern and very quiet. The beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfasts in the morning had a wide variety to choose from. We were met each morning in the breakfast area by a very friendly employee named Rudy who we looked forward to seeing each day. We asked one morning if we could take a plate back to the room to warm up leftovers from dinner the previous night. When we finished breakfast, Rudy brought us a tray with two plates, napkins and silverware for us to take to the room. He also made several suggestions as to where to eat if we wanted a change from the tourist restaurants. The location of the hotel is ideal. It is about a five minute or less walk to the loop of the Riverwalk that has all of the restaurants and bars so it was a lot quiter at night than many of the other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    299
    85
    33
    23
See reviews for
410
245
19
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the first hotel I have ever called where I was told by the sales department they would not book a block of nine rooms for three nights with a discount. I have never had that happen before - EVER! They are obviously very proud of their hotel and their prices....and the person in sales I spoke with? A little snotty and not very helpful...

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry your group was unable to stay at our hotel. We book group rooms with a minimum block of ten rooms per day and I’m sorry our booking policy did not meet your needs. We try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience with our hotel and hope that next time you are in the area you will consider staying with us.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was excellent. Very pretty lobby. Valet parking was friendly and accommodating!
The suite was large. The living room was roomy with a bar area as well as a desk. The bath had a pretty walk in shower with all glass enclosure. The bedroom was roomy and bed was comfortable. We stayed 5 nights. I had room service one night and it was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay. From the hotel valets to the house keepers and all other staff, they were great. Very friendly and helpful with ideas on places to eat and attractions to see. The location is great. Right beside river walk and a couple blocks from The Majestic Theatre. It's a short walk( about 15-20 mins) to the Alamo and the Tower of Americas. You can park and basically walk to every attraction. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Room was excellent and service by staff was great. No complaints here. This is the second time we stayed and enjoyed this time much more. The summer is very busy with familes and we enjoyed the hotel more this visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I was in this hotel for a conference with my wife. We wanted to stay on the Riverwalk where all the activity is. The hotel is on a Riverwalk, but about 2 blocks where everything is. Don't spend money for the riverview here. Waste of your money. You won't see anyone walking or the boats.

Room service was poor. I had to call the front desk at 4:30 pm to come in and make our beds and clean towels, they left towels, but did not make our beds.

I called the night before asking for a late checkout and was informed I would have to do so after 7. The next day the staff was rude and said they could not do so that they had already given out all late check outs. I just wanted to have a place to change after the meeting. I was told if I was not out on time I would be charged a half day rate.

Being a Hilton Honar member, I was angered by this treatment.

I would not recommend staying here. Especially if you want to be on the Riverwalk. Your not "really " on it here in the true sense.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay experience at the hotel. I apologize that you were not happy with the hotel location during your recent trip. We strive to accommodate all requests for late checkout but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Free breakfast, free happy hour, suites... It's not bad. Parking is a little pricy. I think it was about $25/night to valet. There is not self park officially, but there is a public lot across the street, which I think was about $15/day. It's not my favorite section of the Riverwalk, but it's not a far walk to things. Alamo is 0.6 miles. My old complaint was how dirty the carpet was. I have a two year old who is not a fan of shoes, and his feet were black w/in a few hours of arriving at our room. The floor felt a little damp too- almost like the humidity just condensed there. Also keep in mind that weekends can be really packed because of so many weddings around the area (Weston Center nearby). Oh, the suites are kind of small too so it can be hard to find a spot to put a crib in the room. The kitchen is pretty minimal- mini fridge, sink, microwave, 2 cup coffe maker. No stove, no dishes/pans, so not the place if you think you'd need to cook.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Riverwalk

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.