We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Riverwalk to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Riverwalk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #17 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a fairly new hotel. Lobby and breakfast area was large and comfortable. The made to order breakfast was over the top delicious, with many selections of any food that you might consider as a breakfast item to choose from. Staff was very professional and helpful. We had a 2Q suite over looking the river. Was everything that we needed, refrigerator, microwave and pull out sofa making a comfortable stay for 3. Room was clean upon arrival and room service did an excellent job of keeping it that way durning our stay. Great location on the river, easy walk to restaurants and .04 miles to Market Center. Parking is pricey, but the excellent breakfast makes up for the cost. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: 11th floor overlooking the river is a great choice. Stay away from the elevators and ice maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    299
    86
    33
    23
See reviews for
410
247
19
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a an anniversary trip for wife and me. It was dissapointing. When we arrived the room was like an oven and the TV did not work. I called and they sent maintenence and fixed the TV.

That night the room was hot and then cold all night long. The next day we went out for the day and left information about the AC. We returned about 2:30 PM to find that the room was horribly hot and housekeeping had not been there. We called and they sent maintenence and housekeeping right away. The maintenence "technician" gave me a lecture on how a chilled water system worked. (Something I've all ways wanted to know), and left with instructions " If you want it to be 72 degrees, you must put the thermostat on 62 degrees. Silly me, I should have known that !

That night, was a repeat of the first. First HOT and then Cold but never comfortable.

"Free" drinks and "free" breakfast" were nice; could be though we may have paid for them through the expensive rates and parking fee.

This is a lovely place in a nice setting. Too bad the lack of attention to details negates much of its appeal

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay experience. I am sorry you encountered any issues with the maintenance of the room but I am glad we were able to correct the issue with the television in your suite. I certainly apologize for the challenges that you encountered with the air conditioning. Our goal is to create a comfortable home away from home and we certainly recognize the importance of reliable air conditioning, especially during this time of year. Should your travels bring you back to San Antonio I hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackettville, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Haven't stayed at ES since kids were in high school showing livestock. What a nice surprise. This hotel has everything. Great Rooms. Our was a double w/balcony river view. 16th floor was great. Left the curtains open all night. Very clean, quiet and peaceful. Walking distance to almost everything. A corner room/king would have offered more space, but was not available. We WILL stay here again. The evening reception and morning breakfast left nothing to be desired. Thanks Embassy Suites for a nice stay in downtown SA.

Room Tip: Higher room on corner for best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A great place to stay , near riverwalk,restaurants, etc, great price ,great gym and very clean. The breakfast was just great and able to handle a crowd so no waiting made it nice. Just wish the parking wasn't so steep in price !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west des moines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

There's no topping Embassy Suites if you have a family! Free breakfasts, coctail hour, 2 room suites, and high quality accomodations every time. The Riverwalk Embassy Suites went beyond my normal expectations. Perfectly situated on the riverwalk, we spent 4 nights just being out and about the downtown area. Also walking distance to both the Alamo and the Old Market. Check out a map-you can beat it! The free manager's reception included homemade salsa, cheese trays, fruit, veggies, pasta salad, snacks and bowls full of candy which our kids loved! Breakfast was great as alway and as expected.
Two downfalls though...the pool is really small and the hot tub seats only 4-5. The other downfall is the parking. I don't remember the numbers exactly but you have to pay approx.$25 per day for valet parking, otherwise you can go find some other paid lot for $12-15 but have to repay everytime you leave and return. At least the hotel's fee allows you to come and go and covers the whole 24 hours. Staff was excellent and helpful. With 3 kids, we almost always choose Embassy Suites because of their 2 room suites, free breakfast and manager's reception and were certainly rewarded at the San Antonio location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We splurged to stay a night at this less-than-two-years old property. The location on the Riverwalk was nice. However if you want to be right at a bust intersection of the RiverWalk sidewalks with many restaurants to choose from, this is not your location. We did not mind walking to get where we needed to go. As HHonors Diamind members, we had made a room request, which management was unable to accommodate. The entire seventeen floor hotel was booked!
We were assured that our room was in a good location with a 'park view.' hardly! Though the room was nicely appointed and clean, there was no balcony and the view was of a PARKING LOT. Also we were placed on the third floor where both the Gym and Outdoor Pool are located. Very busy area with noisy (and intoxicated from pool bar) guests at all hours.
The Managers Reception had flat beer on tap and watered down sangria and margaritas. Not my idea of Embassy Suites at its best. The staff here could smile more. ESP the Front Desk managers and check in clerks were swamped with only one of three computers being used.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are familiar with the Embassy Suites hotels... you will love this one. Very well maintained property. All common areas are very well designed. The rooms are decorated very nicely and the beds are very comfortable. The manager's reception is one of the best I have seen at an Embassy Suites. They have a full bar with a few different local and specialty beers on tap (as well as your standard 'light beer'). They also have wine, magaritas, sangria, and mixed drinks. They will even make a cherry coke for the kids. If you want regular soda or water, they have self-serve machines for this. For snacks, they had M&Ms, gummy bears, fruit, cheese & crackers, vegetables, nachos, snack mix, and pretzels.
Breakfast included buffet type food as wells as cooked to order eggs and omelets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Riverwalk

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.