We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great price and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, what a great location! The hotel itself was clean and was so nice to have a kitchette. The valet staff was wonderful..really our only complaint is with housekeeping...we did not receive services 2 of the days we were here. While we did have our do not disturb sign out until about 9:30 am, we removed it after that and the cleaning service did not circle back to tidy up our room at all during the day. We had to pick up clean towels at the front desk and our garbage did pile up. The managers reception was also a nice added bonus on wed and thursdays. All in all the loctaion and price cannot be beat and we would recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    96
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
103
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I took our first vacation with our baby (5 months) to San Antonio. I chose this hotel because of the great rate, location, and its amenities. Having a kitchenette proved to be a wonderful thing with a 5 month old. There was plenty of space for his pack-n-play also. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of everything downtown. The valet is a little pricey but was really convenient and the guys are super nice. The breakfast was great with a lot of variety. There were just a few negatives but nothing that would keep me from staying there again. The pool was really small. Our first two days there we didn't get housekeeping for some reason (we never knew why) so we had to go down to the front desk to get towels, etc., and the second night they were out so we had to use hand towels to dry off. So, again, a negative but nothing that would keep me from choosing this hotel again. I highly recommend it to anyone going to San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband typically travels 3 out of 4 weeks a month, so needless to say, he stays at a lot of Marriot properties. We travel with him when we can, and love the Residence Inn hotels. He's really been curious about the TownePlace Suites, so we decided to try this on a lark. We booked on points, figuring we didn't have anything to lose.

This is an excellent hotel within perfect walking distance to everything a family or a group of adults would want to do in downtown San Antonio! It's a couple of easy blocks from the Alamo, the Riverwalk, and so much more.

As for the hotel itself, I can't say enough. We arrived in San Antonio earlier than expected and were able to check in with no problem. The staff at the front desk was very kind and helpful. Valet parking made things so much easier - no dragging our heavy suitcases a long city block to save a few bucks. For $24, we could take our car in and out as often as we liked (we didn't). And even though check out was at 11 the next morning, we could have kept our car parked until 3:00 in the afternoon. What a nice add on!

We spent several hours sight seeing in the hot Texas sun (it was over 100 degrees), and when we returned our room was cool, clean, quiet and spacious enough for 2 adults and a 12 year old. On the smaller side than what we're used to, but spacious for a hotel in the heart of a large city. The rooms (and the entire property) had obviously been updated very recently, everything seemed so crisp and modern. Both the bathroom and the kitchenette sparkled. The beds were very comfortable, too.

Breakfast the next morning was nothing more than a typical hotel hot breakfast, which was included. Nothing to write home about, but the price was right so we couldn't complain. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked, hot food was hot, etc. An attendant was nearby if we needed anything, and she was very friendly and helpful.

The only area in which someone might complain is the pool. It's a miniature pool. I've never seen anything like it. It was adequate for a family with smaller children (I don't think it was any deeper than 3 1/2 feet - at the deep end), but for a family with rowdy teens who need to burn off some energy, this really wouldn't cut it. We were too exhausted to even think about swimming, but if we had been in the mood, I don't think this pool would have been a comfortable fit for us. Also, there was no hot tub. Again, definitely not an issue for us, but something to be aware of if you're looking for one.

All in all, this is a wonderful hotel - perfect for a family, for business travelers, or for singles/couples looking for a fun time on the town. This hotel is clean, friendly, modern and comfortable. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived around 7 pm with a reservation, and the only king room left was a handicap room on the main floor. Upon opening the door my heart just SANK! The bathroom was huge, with a floor drain in the middle of the room (it felt and smelled like the basement) and yet no shelves to put our stuff---had to use the kitchen counter. Oh, and the kitchen drawers were broken, wouldn't close shut. One side of the closet door was stuck shut. There wasn't a luggage rack or a full-length mirror. When I asked the clerk, we were offered a 'normal' room for the 2nd night. Unfortunately we declined b/c we were on a long road trip, many cities, as it was.

Valet pkg was $24/day (ouch!) & they stored our truck 4 blks away. OK, as hotel is 2 short blks to Riverwalk....a fabulous tropical paradise to explore.. Also 1 blk from Alamo.

Complimentary breakfast was served in the basement level, nice modern décor, good selection.

LESSON LEARNED: when making a reservation I now always state "No handicap room." To management, pls make handicap rooms comfortable for the able-bodied guests who may end up there......like shelving & robe hooks in the bathrm & tall mirrors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband played golf Sunday, Father's Day, with his son so we decided to spend Monday night downtown and continue to celebrate Father's Day. The check in was seamless not a hitch and even got a cheaper rate for being military, That was a plus. The parking attendants were very courteous and when we called for our vehicle it was promptly delivered. The room was very nice with a small kitchenette with everything you could possibly need, We had a drink before going to dinner then coffee the next morning which by the way was very good coffee, Love the bathroom with the large shower all in all very comfortable room, The pool area was beautiful and the breakfast area very comfortable, You are close to everything Alamo, river walk and some very good restaurants like Bohannan's and The Palm. We would definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. We chose this hotel because of its relatively low price for downtown San Antonio, and we were not disappointed. The negatives are smaller rooms than we are used to, mediocre breakfast served on paper and plastic, very noisy air conditioning units in the room, and a pool that is 4 feet deep and 3 laps long. These details were compensated for by clean rooms, comfortable beds, plenty of storage space, excellent towels and toiletries, and a friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: High floor to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We used all the facilities. Nice room, nice full kitchen, nice breakfast, nice gym, nice laundry room, nice computers to use, nice tiny general store, nice location (local to sights), but hard to get a good nights sleep. You can walk to everywhere downtown. Would stay there again, but would request an inside room to try to eliminate the bar noise at 2am from the sports bar directly across the street. I went to the bar myself, but not to get drunk or stay there until late night. There for 5 nights and heard a loud drunk every night except one and that was the night they got a thunderstorm with 9 inches of rain and flooding. Night 1 and 3 heard drunks, night 2 the storm, night 4 motorcycle racing and drunks for an hour, night 5 a car parade with horns blaring for an hour celebrating the Spurs win in Game 4 of the WCF. All this at 1-2am in the morning.

The noise is the only downside (except the pool is really just a large Jacuzzi). If you can eliminate the noise with an inside room this is a great value at about a buck twenty a night,. compared to others with these amenities at about $180 per night. The inside room will only show the pool and a large wall, six story attractive wall, but I am confident you will sleep better.

Room Tip: A couple of items were amiss with the room when we arrive, but they were addressed quickly, thus my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.