We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best, cleanest, spacious and best service ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
2 reviews
“The best, cleanest, spacious and best service ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would like to recommend TownePlaza Suites Hotel in San Antonio TX. I had an awsome experience on my stay there. It is super clean, spacious, good breakfast and the customer service is great. I be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    92
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
82
96
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed Easter weekend, nice hotel near river-walk. Hotel is clean and modern. Rooms a bit on the small side. Valet parking is a bit high at $23/night. Breakfast bar is inthe basement, feels dark (no windows as you are below grade. overall no complaints, would likely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice for family visits to San Antonio. It is one block from the Buckhorn Saloon and the Riverwalk. This area of the Riverwalk is a happening area too so it is a perfect location. The pool is small but my kids enjoyed it even on a cool day. The evening happy hour on Wednesday & Thursday was nice with free hot appetizers and beer. The free breakfast was great with waffles, eggs, sausages, muffins, yogurt, etc. This is a great value for a family. I also travel for business and would certainly choose this hotel for business as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned after a week and I would give it a high recommend,close to the Alamo,River centre and walk,mall,river cruises,Tower of America,Hemisfair park,Gonzalas convention centre,Majestic and Empire theatre,Alamo bus tours,trolley and electronic green and primo buses and retaurants..Landrys seafood,Texas at Brazil,and Lukes(a john besh restaurannt) with the 50 cent oysters at happy hour 4-6pm..kudos to all three with happy hour food and libations.What am I speaking of ?The restaurants are all within one block.,,Lukes turn right on Houston,.find the rest within one block left, turn right and you will begin to experience it all within less than a mile.The hotel has complimentary hot breakfast and all the usual fare,do not miss the managers happy hour 5m-7pm weds/thurs free wine/beer,appetisers.They do not skimp on one serving.The suites equipped kitchen done well.Also houses a small courtyard with soaking pool..need I say more all is wheelchair accessible and so are the sidewalks of san antonio..lovely ,lovely city full of culture and fiesta..and for the cowboy in you, kiddy corner to the old buckhorn saloon which moved 4 times to this location,old and meaniningful..across from Alamo,wax museum,ripleys,guiness house of records,tomb something or other,a whole 2 blocks for the kidos..buy a 4 dollar day pass ride the trolley and other buses all day long and feel the layout,ride the double decker and pay an extra dollarfor 2 days..go the the mexican market by bus the largest north of the Rio Grande,find the Marachi bar and cafe housed a a huge decorated mexican restaurant in the plaza across from the market.(not to be missed ,Terraza?Go to La Vallita a arts and craftsmen square just outsise and across from Hemisphere park after you do the tower..and more and more..AWESOME SAN ANTONIO I LUV YOU..and not to forget these Texans and visitors are very friendly and kind..

Room Tip: bonus discount for seniors/military and if you are 55 plus..rooms seem all ok and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last three years.It is still the best hotel value in the downtown area. Located one & one-half blocks from the Alamo & the Riverwalk, it's location can't be beat.The hotel is well maintained & the staff are efficient & helpful.Melissa is a marvel in the
breakfast room.We know where we will be staying on our next trip to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We want to thank you for the kind words you said about our hotel. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. We'll be sure to share it with the hotel staff. We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. The more satisfied customers we have, the more our business will thrive. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givat Ela
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I absolutely agree with the comments from other reviewers. The hotel is very well located, clean, modern and functional. The breakfast is standard but it has every thing needed for beginning a day. I got a small room, but it was enough for one person. the only negative comment is that the heating-air conditioning was noisy. Lastly,and always important, the staff was excellent, very professional and always willing to help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found this motel to be modern, clean, and quiet. We had a room by an elevator and didn't hear any noise from it or our neighbors. It is a better value than other hotels in this great location, within walking distance of the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We didn't need to take taxis at all. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is that we left some items in the room, and they were not mailed to us as promised. However, the manager took care of it quickly and nicely by giving us reward points on our account, so I was pleased. We will most likely stay here again. The free appetizers, beer, and wine were a nice touch on the days they were available. The breakfast is fine for being free, which I prefer. I'd also recommend walking to Zinc for a great burger.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.