We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good service ... Paper thin walls.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, good service ... Paper thin walls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

No real complaints. Everything was clean and the service was excellent. Unfortunately, the walls are paper thin. We could hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms above and below us, as well as the noise from the street. Ended up sleeping with the TV on to drown it all out.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
90
103
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had never heard of this new property in downtown. I booked online for a fantastic rate for 6 nights. They even extended the great rate for New Years Eve!! The entire staff was very kind. The valet service was top notch. Everyone smiled!!! The location is perfect for walking to all downtown tourist sites. 5 min. walk to The Alamo. The rooms are awesome too. All Suites and comfortable bedding with daily housekeeping service!! The complimentary breakfast was good also! I do not think there would be any reason for us to stay anywhere else when we visit SA.

Room Tip: 6th floor with a view of Tower of Americas was really really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We got a corner room, on the fifth floor and the room is not that large. The main annoying things are the lack of bathtub, not easy when you travel with a child, and the window set up. The windows starts 5 feet above the floor so it give a strange feeling. The breakfeast is not very good, with poor choice and like always those tasteless hard shell wafels (does anybody enjoy those?). The cheesy part is that they charge $25 for parking when a block away you can park for $9 a day (city parking with a green park logo on east houston street). Also the carpet smells in the corridor, in the room, it smells old fart everywhere. The location is good as you are or two away from the river walk. The manager reception is also cheap, you have the choice between duff or duff light, and cheap guacamole and salsa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff is always friendly and very helpful. Breakfast Buffet is awesome. MY room is very clean and modern. Housekeeping does a great job keeping everything moving. Great hotel close to all the downtown attractions!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jerzy, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this venue from Mon to Fri for a business trip. It was a great place to be right in the heart of downtown. Overall the experience was great and will come back here if the opportunity arises again.

Location: Few blocks away from thr Riverwalk, the Mall and the alamo. I walked every evening to venture out and explore downtown. No need for a car to go around as there are plenty of restaurants, walgreen, coffee joints, etc.

Lobby: It's a tad bit smaller but this is due to being downtown. The valet folks are on the right as you enter and the reception is on the far right. Lounge area far left as you walk in along with the elevators on the left.

Rooms: I was surely impressed with the high end of the rooms. I had 2 queens beds, with nice decor all around. The kitchen and room looked niche and classy. The bathrooms are decent size as well. I had the room facing the swimming pool in the lobby. So expect screams/noise til 10pm each night if folks are down there. Voice travels up the tunnels and along the rooms.

Breakfast: This was truly a disappointment. There's Coffee stand nearby in the 'C' lower level. There's just eggs, potatoes, and bacon most of the mornings. Yogurt, juice, muffin, bread also exist. There might be a fruit laying around too. I def would have liked more hot breakfast items. For Vegans, eggs are sometime made with meat and the spoon for the potatoes are the same that touches the bacon. Please have different spatulas for each food item.

Parking: The hotel charges $24 for overnight parking. There's plenty of garages in the area that charges 10 to 15 per night. Street Parking and Metered Parking is available. You pay from 8am to 6pm. After 6pm is free, so I didn't pay anything to park my rental car on the street. A Hint for ALL TRAVELERS! If you need to stop for a quick 10 mins park at the valet and leave your keys to drop your stuff in the room.

Overall this is a great place to stay and convenient!

Room Tip: Park on the Street for Free. Stay away from the Ice Maker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a good place to stay if you want to be near all that downtown San Antonio has to offer (which is a lot) and not pay for a 5 star hotel. Also, we were on a six night visit and it was nice to have a refridgerator, etc.
The rooms are nice, clean and well laid-out, as in most Marriott branded hotels. One problem was that we were put into a very small room for the first two nights but the front desk moved us to a normal suite when one became available. Apparently the key that I missed was accepting a room with a single queen bed which means a small room so watch out. Also, a clogged bathroom basin took two days to fix but other than that, no problems.
The buffet breakfast was pretty standard, the pool very small and the exercise room was well equiped.

Room Tip: Do not book a room with only one queen bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations, from the friendly valet, to the friendly desk clerks. Our room was great, with the mini kitchen, all upgraded room features! We will stay here again! Can't speak more highly of this hotel. The convenience within walking distance to the Majestic Theatre, the Riverwalk and all other downtown must see spots! thanks TownePlace for a GREAT stay! We wanted to stay an extra night, but they were booked! We were spoiled just the one night we stayed here, the hotel we stayed the 2nd night in no way lived up to this hotel!

Room Tip: great place to stay, saw alot of families here as well. the suites are great for those who want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.