We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #30 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel was great and we love the area. We were completely satisfied with our stay and the staff did a great job in making us feel welcome.

The check in and out process was flawless. Any questions we had about the area were answered with professionalism and the kind of local knowledge you would expect from Hotel staff. We asked for recommendations on certain types of restaurants that met different requirements and the staff pointed us to great choices every time. We were given great recommendations on the activities as well.

The hotel was clean and well kept. It was very comfortable and relaxing. The hottest week of the year so far but at this hotel everything was cool.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms will be quieter, the street noise during the day and evening can be heard on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    96
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
103
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel staff at the front desk was wonderful. They were helpful and knowledgeable about places to eat. They are a great group. The housekeeping staff was also superb. They provided a clean room each day, which is not always the case at other properties. The breakfast choices were very good; nothing fancy, but very convenient. Coffee was always available. The people working there are some of the best I’ve encountered. Of course, you couldn't beat the location. Everything we needed or wanted was within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked a twin room as part of a family group weeks prior to our visit. When we checked in we were told there weren't any twin rooms available, so we had a king with a pull-out sofa bed. We weren't too impressed but there was nothing we could do about it. The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was lovely. It was very tight once we'd pulled out the sofa bed and it wasn't very comfortable (one end stuck up). The worst thing about the room was the air conditioning. It was the loudest air conditioning unit I have ever heard (and I have stayed in lots of hotels!) and it blew freezing cold air on the sofa bed all night (the sofa was right next to the unit). We didn't want to turn it off as it was June and hot but we didn't get a very good night's sleep. Pros: Great location. Reasonably priced for San Antonio. Room clean and nicely furnished. Cons: Very loud air conditioning. Pull-out sofa bed right next to air conditioning unit. No space at all when using the sofa as a bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fantastic location just a few blocks from the River Walk area and tons of sites and restaurants. Hotel is very modern and the rooms were very nice... large, clean and kitchen facilities. However, the 5-7pm reception was awful, stale nachos and salsa was all they served. Also, there is no parking at this hotel so unless you want to pay $25+ for valet parking, be prepared to bring lots of quarters for the parking meters.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, SD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

So glad we stayed here! We have stayed on the Riverwalk before but this hotel is cheaper and is in a great location. It's just a very short walk to the Alamo and easy access to the Riverwalk, about a block from hotel either direction. It is easy to get to by car, has a friendly staff, clean rooms, and the valet guys were all great! The breakfast in the morning is a perfect way to start the day, with eggs, hashbrown, and bacon or sausage. There is a waffle machine and toaster, lots of yogurt and cereal choices, and a nice room to have a relaxing breakfast. I will definitely stay here again when I come back to San Antonio!

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were looking for accommodations near the Riverwalk to avoid paying the higher rates for being on the Riverwalk. This hotel was absolutely perfect. We were only a few blocks from one of the many Riverwalk entrances and close to the Alamo. The hotel itself was exceptional. The room was very clean and modern and the complimentary breakfast was awesome. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imadork
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Considering what we paid to stay here, this place deserves 4 out of 5 stars. However, had we paid a lot I would probably drop a star. We stayed 5 nights and in two different rooms, so have a good idea of the hotel overall. Service needs improvement.

First off, the location is amazing ! You are about a 2 minute walk max to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. You will not need a car, but if you do have one they only have valet and although efficient, it was a bit $$ ($23/day). I know that is the norm for downtown hotels though, so don't be shocked. You also get in and out privileges.

We booked two seperate rooms, both king studio suites, both the same price.

Room 1 had a very large layout and faced the atrium pool. The pull out sofa is not comfortable, and the bedding for it had a makeup stain on it as if it had not been washed, so requested extra bedding. The coffee pot had someone elses old coffee bag in it. We called to have them clean it, and the next day it was still there! One morning, kids were screaming and playing at 8:30 in the morning in the pool. For later sleepers, 8:30 is a bit early to let people use an atrium style pool, because of noise and it was very noisy, despite being higher up. The beds were pretty comfy, and other than the things mentioned above they were clean.

Room 2 was much smaller. It faced a little alley. Sound definitely traveled despite being on a higher floor. In the mornings, trash guys would wake you up, and one morning a VERY loud giant loading truck sat out in the alley for about 30 minutes. Their web site says sound proof windows..that is a lie judging by the two rooms..and neither of our rooms were on the busy street. Anyways, we still slept pretty good. Our room had no cleanliness issues when we got there.

HOUSE KEEPING: First day there, NEITHER of our rooms were cleaned by housekeeping. and the old coffee from previous guests I had called about the day before was still there. I called down, and the housekeeping lady clocked back in to straighten up our rooms and bring towels. However, they STILL did not get that old coffee. Finally, after two days it was taken care of.
After this incident, housekeeping did clean, and cleaned fine. I do think they should put trash bags in the trash cans in the room but they do not.

Breakfast: worst continental breakfast ever. There are not enough people checking the breakfast. Most hotels have someone constantly looking over and resupplying. The hot items were cold and gross, and they only had a few continental items. They usually had like literally 3 pieces of fruit in a bowl, and 1 banana, and 2 apples, and so usually there was no fruit. The waffle batter was the worse continental waffle batter I ever had. It was like cardboard and tasteless; they need a better supplier. It took forever to get items restocked, and the tables in the dining area were definitely not cleaned. It was hard to even find someone who worked at the hotel in the dining area in the mornings. I will say this hotel has the best coffee, but most of the time it was out :(.

Manager's reception: Nice idea, but it is no Embassy suites manager's reception (which is every night, has liquor, and actual food). They had a bowl of pace picante and some bagged tortilla chips for food, and then budweiser and cheap wine for the drinks..not really worth the trip to the basement for this.

Lastly, the pool is small..looks like a hot tub, and the printer for guests was not working the entire time. There was one guy that worked the front desk with a bit of a short attitude. They did not have a safe in the room.

I know this all seems harsh, but I still rated them good based on the price that we paid (again full price and this would be a different review), the room itself, and the awesome location.

Would I stay here again? For the same price; absolutely. The service is lacking, but it is a beautiful hotel and the location can not be beat !

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up..and really all of the rooms can be noisy (they need to change their pool ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.