We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Cleveland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The staff and check in was flawless. The area is great, and the room was fantastic. Had a wonderful 3 days. The bathroom was big and shower had hot water the entire time. Bed was perfect. The kitchen was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    87
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
94
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed the weekend of September 16-18. This is a great location to walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk area. Many restaurants and nightclubs within a few blocks. The young woman who checked us in was very helpful and accomodating. They have a nice selection of breakfast items including waffles and a hot egg and sausage item. I highly recommend a nightclub called Howl at the Moon, which was only a couple of blocks away. It is considered a "piano bar" but that simply doesn't do it justice! There were rotating musicians who could sing and play a variety of instruments. They were very entertaining. We also enjoyed dinner at Joe's Crab shack. The mananger, who happened to be named Joe, came by to be sure everything was good with food and service and stayed to talk for a bit. The personal attention was "above and beyond". If you are looking for a fun place to visit, I recommend the Riverwalk area of San Antonio, and I also recommend staying at the TownePlace Suites. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel and was very pleased with the hotel. It was clean, room was nice size (2 queens with small kitchen area, writing area and bathroom), lobby bright and staff very personable and professional. The hotel is about 1 block from the RiverWalk area.

Room Tip: Top floor not facing street. The view is not great, but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here from Oct. 6 - 10, 2011 for a wedding. It was within walking distance of the venue, saving us a lot of time and parking hassles. The location is convenient to the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall, Majestic Theatre, International Center, and the Riverwalk. Hemisfair Plaza and The Tower of The Americas is a bit more of a hike, but doable. Valet parking was $23/day, and the crew was great. Never had to wait long for them to bring the car around. Room accommodations were excellent. The kitchenette was great to have, and the bathroom was roomy, especially the shower. AC functioned almost too well! Closet was just a tad small, but usable. Great view from our room (507) of the SA downtown skyline. Could hear just a bit of traffic noise from outside, but that's to be expected. It didn't disrupt our sleep any. Full breakfast in the morning was outstanding. Go for the waffles. At night, to beat the snack cravings, we did buy a few items from the little Market that's by the front desk. Never used the swimming pool or the fitness center so I can't rate those, but I'm sure they're good. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just a block off the Riverwalk this hotel is always clean, has a friendly staff, and is pet friendly at a price that you won't beat on the Riverwalk.

Did I mention that there is a park a block away as well so you have somewhere to take your pet to do their business.

The rooms are also very spacious, have a mini-kitchen with fridge, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot etc. Huge walk in showers, plenty of towels, shampoos, body washes, and a blow dryer.

There is a coffee bar and breakfast every morning that's a lovely spread and not just bagels and dry cereal, all this is included in your room price.

I've stayed at almost every hotel on the Riverwalk and this is by far my favorite hotel for the price, amenities, and the service that is offered.

I highly recommend this for couples looking for a weekend get away, couples with kids (that refrigerator will save you some money) and especially recommend it for anyone with small pets.

Room Tip: Select a high floor(only 7 floors), corner room if available, or a room backing the elevator as thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,Ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Fantastic location, 2 blocks away from the Alamo, 2 blocks away from Riverwalk, and a nice price to boot. Parking can be an issue, $23 valet, but there are other less expensive and convenient alternatives nearby. There is a liquor store across the street, for those inclined, but they close by 9. We enjoyed our stay here, immensly. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a fridge with a freezer in the room, as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

As an employee at a very nice courtyard, I have to say I fell in love with this hotel. Me and my husband went on a weekend get away and stayed here. I loved it! It was so nice, right downtown and easy to access everything San Antonio has to offer. We had to cut our trip short ( I missed our little ones to bad to stay 2 nights) but our night there was great. The staff here was great! I love the glass stair case!! Everything was so nice, clean and perfect! If im ever back there, I will definately stay here again! Thank you so much for the enjoyable night!

Room Tip: I had room 415 which was right up high, looking outside downtownish. I loved it. +
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 409 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#28 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.