We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed thru. :^(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Caverns

Natural Bridge Caverns
26495 Natural Bridge Caverns Road, San Antonio, TX 78266
210 651 6101
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$20*
and up
Ranked #13 of 135 Attractions in San Antonio
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come on down (way down) at the largest underground attraction in Texas! Daily guided tours allow guests to explore large underground chambers and see huge formations. The largest room is bigger than a football field. Above ground, discover rocks, minerals, and rough-cut gems at the Natural Bridge Mining Company Sluice. The Canopy Challenge will test your agility on over 40 different obstacles while you are on our 4 story, 60 foot high Adventure Course. Then you can fly across the scenic Texas Hill Country on our zip-lines! (Canopy Challenge is open daily but weather dependent.)
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
North Port
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Rushed thru. :^(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This cave doesn't have adequate lighting to highlight all it's beauty. The guide seems interested in " getting you thru" on time. There are so many splendid formations, but look quick. Nothing special is pointed out. She just read what was on the few signs.. So much potential there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erin_nbc, Manager at Natural Bridge Caverns, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry it was not a positive one. We expect our guides to be friendly, informative and to highlight the beautiful features of the cavern system while taking guests on tour and I am sorry that was not the experience you had. We will address this with our staff and I do hope you will come back and visit us again in the future so we can have the chance to improve on your recent visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    351
    68
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Underground Marvel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our second time going, but the first time our kids were old enough to appreciate it. The caves are beautiful and I love the information that is shared. We were fortunate to be in a small group of only 8. Our guide was great and really got by 6 & 9 year olds involved. You know it's a winner when you 9 year is thanking you for taking them to see the caves!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Caverns are Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Took the Discovery Tour with my husband on a Sunday morning. We got there in time for the second tour (first tour is at 9 am). The caverns are great no matter how times you see them! It is not for anyone with health issues or very small children as the walk is somewhat strenuous for some. Your tour guide will remind you of this at least twice before you enter the cavern. Our tour guide was great, funny, and able to answer all the questions that came up during the tour. The cavern is amazing and great for all ages. The various rooms all have something unique to offer. It's been many years since I've been to the caverns and the visitor's center have been upgraded, larger restrooms with more stalls, and waiting for tours is a lot better.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the $30 cavern fee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I came here during our anniversary trip. We toured both caverns and had a blast. Between the two caverns, you are inundated with information and out of this world views. This is above and beyond every other cave system I've been to. They do have a moment of total darkness on one of the two tours which is always fun. Lots of history and extremely beautiful. After touring both caverns we also did the four story canopy challenge. Basically it's an adult size ropes course/playground. Zip lines are also available but we didn't do that. Spent four hours there and will never forget it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fascinating caverns and fun zip slide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited the caverns in January 2014 when the weather was exceptionally cold and thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We were able to have a personal tour since it was very much off-season and our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant. I'd never been in a cavern before and found it fascinating, especially to hear that these caverns were found by chance and yet have been forming for thousands of years.

We had a go on the zip slide and after some initial trepidation, we both loved it - it just wasn't long enough - literally! We were left hanging slightly short of the end due to the high winds but were safely pulled in by the staff.

The only criticism is that there wasn't much in the way of food on site, other than some grim looking hot dogs, so bring your own.

A great couple of hours for all ages.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.