We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavern was great, kids were not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Caverns

Natural Bridge Caverns
26495 Natural Bridge Caverns Road, San Antonio, TX 78266
210 651 6101
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Natural Bridge Caverns like an insider
Top Rated
$21*
and up
Natural Bridge Caverns Underground Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 327 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come on down (way down) at the largest underground attraction in Texas! Daily guided tours allow guests to explore large underground chambers and see huge formations. The largest room is bigger than a football field. Above ground, discover rocks, minerals, and rough-cut gems at the Natural Bridge Mining Company Sluice. The Canopy Challenge will test your agility on over 40 different obstacles while you are on our 4 story, 60 foot high Adventure Course. Then you can fly across the scenic Texas Hill Country on our zip-lines! (Canopy Challenge is open daily but weather dependent.)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cavern was great, kids were not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I went on 6/22 and with 45 people in the group and a lot a kids under 6 years old, it ruined the experience for us. Screaming, crying kids so loud we couldn't even hear our guide most of the time. Most parents did nothing to stop them from touching the formations either. Spent most of the time waiting for everyone to catch up. They really need an adult's only tour or limit the age to 6 and above. Small children don't have a clue what they are looking at anyway. Pictures at the end? Please, this is not a cruise ship.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    401
    79
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

You can spend an entire day out at Natural Bridge Caverns and Wildlife park. The caverns are spectacular. As with most caverns, it can get a bit cool, so if you have a tendency to get easily chilled I would recommend taking a jacket or sweater. It's a long-ish hike (not as bad as Carlsbad Caverns), so be sure to wear comfortable shoes. As for the Wildlife Park, if it's summer time be sure to go early when the park closes, or later when it starts to cool down. During the heat of the day, the animals are hiding out in the shade and you won't see as many.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Really amazing. Like nothing I have ever seen. It was well worth the price. Great for kids and adults.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome UnderGround Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a cool experience! The caverns are magnificent and the stalactites and stalagmites are so impressive. This place is worth the stop! Wear shoes with good grips, humid and wet inside. No hiking to get to the cavern. Pretty easy walking tour for 75 minutes with just some steep areas, but there are grab bars everywhere for those who need it. Overall We Loved It!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We took the Discovery Tour. It was my teens' first cave experience and they thoroughly enjoyed it. As adults who have been in other caves, we found it just average for the price. We did a combined cave experience and Braken bat cave visit. This is a great way to see two very interesting and unusual natural sights in one visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.