We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Caverns

Natural Bridge Caverns
26495 Natural Bridge Caverns Road, San Antonio, TX 78266
210 651 6101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 196 attractions in San Antonio
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Geologic Formations
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come on down (way down) at the largest underground attraction in Texas! Daily guided tours allow guests to explore large underground chambers and see huge formations. The largest room is bigger than a football field. Above ground, discover rocks, minerals, and rough-cut gems at the Natural Bridge Mining Company Sluice. The Canopy Challenge will test your agility on over 40 different obstacles while you are on our 4 story, 60 foot high Adventure Course. Then you can fly across the scenic Texas Hill Country on our zip-lines! (Canopy Challenge is open daily but weather dependent.)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

As a tourist, I've been to a variety of different cave systems around the world. This one does not have the biggest caverns, but was impressive for the variety of the many interesting rock formations within the cave. Cost is reasonable and I didn't think the tour group was overly large (around 20 people), but I imagine during 'high' season it can get quite packed. A nice little trip if you want to get out of San Antonio (if you have a car) or are continuing your travel north of the city.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    289
    51
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
689 helpful votes 689 helpful votes
“Excellent Cave to Tour. Worth the drive from San Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We did the combo tour, which was $28 per person and included both tours. The original tour is called the Discovery Tour and goes through four or five spectacular and large rooms with many formations of flowstone, stalactites and stalagmites. The pictures on the website really can't capture the majesty of this cave. The Hidden Passeges Tour is another section of the cave that has only been open to the public for a few years. This tour doesn't cover nearly as much ground but has an incredible amount of soda straws and some of the soda straws are amazing in their length. The cave that I felt was most similar to this cave was Luray Caverns in Virginia.

If you want to do both tours, plan on it taking about half a day. Even though we were there on a weekday in November, there was still a fair amount of people touring the cave, so it probably gets extremely crowded during the peak summer months.

This was the first time we had visited a cave that was warm and humid. Unlike other caves farther North, that are much cooler, this cave is about 70 degrees, with 99% humidity, so there is no need to bring a jacket or dress that warmly. The day we were there it was colder outside than inside the cave, so we were sweating inside the cave and it felt good to get back outside to the cooler air. Although you don't have have to be in great shape to take the tour, there are some steep pathways going back up and out of the cave, so be prepared and wear proper shoes.

The cave is about a 30 to 40 minute drive from downtown San Antonio. The cave is located right next to the Wildlife Ranch, so you can make a day of it and visit both on the same day. If you are going back to San Antonio at the end of the day, and visiting on a weekday, traffic gets pretty bad on I-35, so you may want make sure you leave before 4.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Couldn't believe how much I liked it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

One of those places you don't plan to go, but guarantee you will do twice if you do.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We have been to other caverns and found this one spectacular. It was a 70 minute tour, which seem to go really fast. It would have been nice to take it a little slower and absorb all there was to see. As an extra aid for my mother, I brought a pen-light to help her navigate some areas which were a little dark. The hand rails and slip-resistant flooring made it easier for her to get around.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Great for the hot summer days as it is nice and cool underground - bring a jacket! We go every few years and enjoy it still

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Natural Bridge Caverns to your Saves list