We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten minutes from Sea World” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Richland Hills Drive, San Antonio, TX 78245 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #75 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Ten minutes from Sea World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great location for Sea World. Turn right on access road as you leave and you will see a small sign pointing to the exit for Sea World. Hop on 151 and it will take you 10+ minutes to get there. Clean and quiet location and good breakfast in the morning. The line for waffles was long with so many kids staying there so this may be the time that you tell your kids ahead of time they are having cereal for breakfast. They were out of skim milk but I asked and they brought me some. We would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Go early for breakfast to avoid the Sea World rush
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
95
9
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

While continuing our road trip we stayed at this hotel..the hotel was spotless clean..the service was comparable to any 4 star hotel..the breakfast was hearty and it changed on a daily basis...they even had a waffle maker that made the state of Texas..if I have to visit San Antonio, I would stay here again...

Room Tip: Try to get the high floors close to the exit..this is very quiet. They have the Air Force graduates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

you can never go wrong with the Marriott chain. Safe super nice place to stay. Went for an air force graduation but would stay here when visiting San Antonio. Friendly staff ,clean large rooms. breakfast was great. and after a night out the kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Close to ever where you need to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is super close to the base (maybe 10 minutes depending on lights) and great for the money. The staff was very friendly and familiar with having military families in every weekend for graduation. When they found out that we were there for graduation they checked to make sure we had the BMT grad rate. Turned out that I had found a better rate online, but it was really nice that they checked without question. The hotel was clean and well kept during our stay. The room was a little odd with sliding doors for the two bathrooms, but it wasn't a huge deal. They serve a continental breakfast every morning; they start this earlier on Thursday and Friday due to the ceremonies, but we left for base before 6 am on Thursday so we couldn't take advantage of it that day. This hotel is also right next to a great restaurant (54 Street) - walking there was great. Another bonus - if you turn right out of the hotel parking lot and make a left at the next intersection you will find yourself at a huge shopping center that includes a Target, Panera, and other stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laconia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Myself and four of our airman's family members arrived the Wednesday before graduation. We were greeted by a very friendly and informative front desk staff. The grounds and the reception area were beautiful and clean. We checked in quickly and with no snags. As we entered our room we were very happy with what we saw. It was roomy and clean. The sitting area with the fold out sectional was very nice as was the desk area and microwave/refrigerator area. The beds were nice and there was plenty of storage for 5 people. There is a dresser and a couple drawers under the tv as well as a closet. We really liked that the shower room was separate from the restroom. And there are sinks and mirrors in both. Being as we had 4 adults and a teenager we had plenty of room to get ready. The only draw back is there isn't a lot of noise barrier since the doors to both are sliding doors and not heavy doors. But I figure if the five of us can deal with it, most people will be okay with it. I have to say one of the best things about the hotel for us was it's convenient location in regards to Lackland. It only took us about 10 minutes to get to and from the base. We traveled back and forth during the week and on the weekend and never had trouble with traffic. Our airman just wanted to hang out at the hotel when he had off-base liberties and the hotel was very comfortable for that. I also want to mention the restaurant next door. I believe it is the 54th street grill. We ate there twice during our stay and it was amazing both times. It is also fairly inexpensive. If we ever visit San Antonio again we will definitely stay at springhill suites. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We just wanted to take a moment to let you know how much we appreciate your business and positive comments. We really value you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. If there is anything we can do for you, please let us know. We would also like to know where we can find more great clients like you! It's customers like you that make this business worthwhile. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights to attend our daughter's graduation from the Air Force BMT at Lackland AFB. Very convenient to Lackland. The hotel was great, the staff was warm and very helpful in every way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a good property. It was clean and well maintained. We would stay here again.

Location: This property is VERY close to SeaWorld. I missed that there was a shuttle to the park which would have saved us $15.00. Since we didn't know about the shuttle I can't really comment on it, but I did find the review "Very Nice Property" on 8/21/2012 to be interesting!

Breakfast: The breakfast was standard for this type of Marriott property. Make your own waffles, eggs, cereal, pastries, fruit, etc. The seating was inadequate for the property. Breakfast was VERY busy each day we were there and since we don't enjoy the intensity in cutting through the crowd to get this type of breakfast we ended up going elsewhere. There is a "Cracker Barrell" and "Egg and I" in the nearby plazas if you are like us!

Coffee is available 24 hours off the main lobby.

Rooms: The rooms were clean and well maintained. We did have one day in which house keeping was a little less thorough but no major complaints. The bathroom was split (toilet and sink in one room, larger sink and shower in the other). The doors of these two bathrooms were frosted which had an unexpected consequence. I am usually the first one up in the morning and in most hotels I take my shower before anyone else is awake. The frosted glass meant that the light would have woken up the light sleepers so I ended up waiting in the dark not wanting to wake anyone too early :-/

Free wi-fi is available in the rooms.

rooms have a refirgerator and microwave and nice flat panel tv.

Quiet: The property is on a busy road and right next to the highway, that being said the traffic noise was not bad. We stayed on the top floor (4) and did not really hear any of our neighbors.

Ameneties: The pool is VERY small, we used it a couple nights but it could easily become too crowded. The exercise room contained two ellipticals and two treadmills. There are also two pc's available to guests off the main lobby.

Staff: The staff was very friendly, we found everyone in San Antonio to be very friendly...

Also: The Alamo, River Walk, and SeaWorld are naturally popular spots in San Antonio... I would also check out the Mission Trail (it is a part of the National Park Services) these are five Spanish/Catholic missions (including the Alamo) in various states of repair, they are pretty interesting and give you a good idea of the early history of Texas!

If you read this far and found anything interesting, please let me know by clicking that it was helpful!

Room Tip: Top floor (4), no noise from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland

Address: 138 Richland Hills Drive, San Antonio, TX 78245
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Antonio Seaworld/Lackland Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.