We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great room, great for Air force Graduation!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Richland Hills Drive, San Antonio, TX 78245 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #76 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Monroe,La
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great room, great for Air force Graduation!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Can't say enough good things about the staff, especially the Asst. Man. Richard. I made these reservations to attend my son's Air Force graduation from boot camp. I made them well in advance and received a great deal of 30% percent off if staying 3 nights or more. That made my rate approx $70.00 a night before taxes. All of the rooms are suites and the hotel is only 2 years old. Free breakfast included. The night before we were scheduled to fly out, Richard called with a reservation problem. The system failed to catch that the type of room we reserved wasn't available so he cut our rate in half. Not only that, he cut the rates for the other family members who also reserved rooms at SpringHill even though there was no issue with their reservation. That's A+++ customer service and he should be commended.
Now to the room itself... Very trendy and well furnished. The mattress was very comfortable speaking for a person with back problems. Nice and spacious. The only drawback would be that the the doors to the shower area and the restroom area, (seperate), are frosted glass doors. They look great but if someone gets up early or in the night, and cuts on the light, the whole room lights up. Other than that , no complaints. Breakfast was good and they even had it out early due to the graduation ceremony.
It's an easy trip of 5 or so minutes to the Valley Hi gate exit for the graduation ceremony.
I highly recommend this hotel and will be looking for Spring Hill suites in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel! First of all, congratulations to your son on his graduation! We are glad you were able to see him graduate and that we could provide the accomodations for you. It is always nice to hear when we are doing a good job. Guest satisfaction is something we take pride in and we strive to provide all of our guests with A+ service. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
95
9
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Another example of misleading reviews. This place is a mess. It's dirty and poorly managed. The first bad sign was that the lobby hadn't been swept and the elevator and hallways hadn't either. The room was just as bad.
I'm normally a big fan of Marriott but this was just one disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for honest review of our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and strive to continually improve ourselves. It is unfortunate that you had an unpleasant stay and were not pleased with the accomodations. This is not the impression we want to leave on our guests. We are looking into the issues you mentioned seriously. We hope you will give us another chance to wow you and hopefully change your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My wife and I selected this hotel based on the price and positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We traveled to San Antonio to attend ours son’s recent graduation at Lackland AFB. I’m sorry to say that we were very disappointed. After a long day of traveling, we arrived later in the day, around 8:00 pm. We were assigned room 431. The room had a terrible odor. We complained the next day and were given another room. That rooms (414) air conditioner sounded like a jet engine. Needless to say we didn’t sleep well. The pool was closed the first two days and breakfast and service was just so, so. The good news is that the location placed us 10 minutes from the base which was our main reason for being there. I could go on but I would be wasting your time and mine. If you are looking for a budget hotel with low expectations, this is the place for you. Just don’t expect anything more. I wonder if all of the “spectacular” reviews are actually written by real people, or just a bunch of paid hack writers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Springhill Suites hotel. We appreciate all feedback and use it to make changes to better please our guests. It is unfortunate that you did not have an enjoyable experience. Obviously that is not the impression we want our guests to have. Hopefully you will give us another chance to wow you and ensure that you have a spectacular experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Great service. Extremely clean. Very comfortable well appointed rooms. Lobby/breakfast are very attractive. Great location. Will return upon next visit to the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a spectaular review of our SpringHill Suites hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great service and cleanliness are very important to us. We want our guests to feel comfortable and taken care of. Thank you for considering us for your next visit to San Antonio and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel the week between Christmas and New Year's. It was our first time staying at a Springhill Suites; usually we try for a Hyatt Place but there wasn't one close to Lackland. I was surprised and pleased about the hotel in general and the rooms in particular. I loved how the bathroom is separated into two areas: toilet & small sink in one room, shower and "getting ready area" (sink, large mirror, lots of counter space) in another. That was unique and exceptionally convenient with a family of 4 sharing the same room for a week! All in all, our experience was as good as the Hyatt if not better. Springhill rooms (at least at this property) were lighter & brighter, with lots of extra touches and a nice layout. 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our SpringHill Suites hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with excellent customer service and make them feel at home. We hope to sway you from Hyatt Place and that you will let us continue to serve you on your future visits to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Came for Basic Training graduation and is close to the base and easy to get to. Hotel is new and very clean. Very modern and unique design to the room. Large and very roomy. Could easily live in room if needed to stay for extended period. Room had the feel of an apartment with amenities such as a dresser, pillows on the bay windows, vases, large closet, small kitchen type area, desk in the "livingroom" area. The unique lighting was really cool ranging from low "mood" lighting to full florescent daytime lighing. The TV is equipped with all the necessary connections for iPods, DVD's etc to keep kids happy. All of this was just your basic room category. This definetly qualifies as a suite in most other hotels charging much higher prices. EXECELLENT VALUE!!!
The staff was just as great as the room. They were very friendly and made it a point to remember your face and why you were in town. Seemed to geninuely care about their guests. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay here if in town again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the room accomodations. We aim to provide our guests with such amenities so that they will feel at home during their stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Overall, this SpringHill Suites fires on all cylinders as a new-build brand style that includes some nice touches in rooms and in the breakfast area. I give it a B+ instead of an A only because of indifferent service, especially to Marriott elites.

SpringHIll Suites reinvented itself a couple of years ago and new construction is showing this hip/trendy design. Rooms are filled with aquas, sage greens and wood tones. To allow for a larger bedroom and living area to emphasize the "suites" in the brand name, the new build takes components of the bathroom and splits them along a narrow band on the side of the room. The toilet goes in a separate water closet with a slider door and a cruise ship-sized sink; the shower and a second sink sit alongside in a separate "room" with its own slider door. I have yet to see a tub in a new construction SpringHill Suites; normally I stay in king rooms so am unsure if, or how many, queen/queen rooms have tubs. This can be an issue for families with kids or those who have to have a tub - but it appears that the numbers of such guests are steadily falling as the years go by.

Rooms include a 37" flat panel TV that should be a 42-incher, and it swivels to handle the bedroom area and living area with sectional sofa. At least the TV has local channels in HD - but not any others, although there are dozens of standard definition channels. Marriott continues to be behind in this technology. The make up for it a bit in outlets - there are power outlets galore, and convenient to the desk, sectional sofa, and bed.

Breakfast is included in the rate, and includes the usual fare in this price range - there isn't a lot of variation or originality among the competing brands with the possible exception of Holiday Inn Express's cinnamon rolls. Scrambled "egg product" at SHS is tofu-like and really below what Marriott standards should be, but it is what it is. Waffle makers seem to be popular among guests. (If free breakfast is your compelling hotel stay interest, then there's really only one brand to consider, and that's Staybridge Suites.)

Given the overall room size, cleanliness, newness and convenience to my work in town, I'm able to overlook the indifferent service. I've stayed here a few times and not once been recognized as a Gold Elite. One time I asked about a Gold Elite amenity and the bored desk clerk said "Oh, yeah - you can get anything you want from the Market" (a reference to the adjacent soda-and-candy selection that's essentially a vending area, except you give your money to the clerk instead of into a slot). On one check-in, I had to wait about three minutes while the desk clerk finished her conversation with her boyfriend in the public lobby area. Sigh. As long as I can get to the room, I can ignore such poor service, although Marriott and the owners of this hotel shouldn't.

You will have to drive a short distance to restaurants, but the property is perhaps two minutes from a new big-box shopping area with new casual fare including a Ghengis Grill - mongolian stir-fry that's fun.

If this property works on the service levels it could easily be a top 10 SpringHill Suites globally.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland

Address: 138 Richland Hills Drive, San Antonio, TX 78245
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Antonio Seaworld/Lackland Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorld/Lackland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.