We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing some signs of wear, but still tops in north San Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1610 E Sonterra Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78258 (Stone Oak)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #36 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Showing some signs of wear, but still tops in north San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I hit San Antonio a lot on business, for the most part on the north side. I don't tend to stay downtown or at the Riverwalk so, for the past five years, my business alternated between the Drury Inn and Suites and the Hyatt Place, both off 1604, and both usually convenient to where I needed to be.

Usually I booked on rate as the places are near each other. But a bad experience at Drury a year ago (used wash rag hanging in the shower ... shudder) made me reverse course and go here full time.

It's not a bad place to default to. I've noticed, after about six total stays, that the quality of stay can very from room to room. One time, had a beautiful, clean looking room. Three weeks later I had a room on a different floor that seemed a little worn with the furniture showing some tears and the carpet starting to shed a bit.

But it's still the place to stay in that area, IMO. Never had a bad experience with the staff. Sleep decently and, for the most part, it's quiet from room to room. Until someone else muscles in -- maybe the Staybridge near there -- this is going to be the place I book in north San Antonio.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    51
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
35
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Not right on the River Walk, but not River Walk prices either. It's a 10 minute trip to the airport and 15 minute trip to dontown San Antonio in off-peak hours.

The staff was super friendly. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and there is a very small, but very serviceable bar in the lobby. The workout room is small (2 treadmills, an elliptical, a recumbent bike and free weights), but, again, serviceable.

There are a couple of decent eating establishments right on East Sonterra (Lion and Rose Pub, Perico's Mexican Restaurant).

Not a bad deal for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stay here every week for at lease a couple of nights, and the hotel staff is extremely attentive and accommodating. Free WiFi, breakfast, decent workout facility, free access to the Lifetime Fitness if you require something more, spacious rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Hyatt Place is a regular old cookie cutter hotel. I hate the physical plant. The air conditioning is right next to the bed and blows like a tornado all night. Even though it is not set on Auto, it goes on and off all night, each time with a blast that wakes me up. I could hear the extremely loud elevator rings all the way down the hall. The bathroom lighting is so dreadful that I had a difficult time with my confidence after seeing myself in the mirror. Not kidding. I felt exhausted and ugly the whole time I was there.

HOWEVER, the staff is superb. Every single person with whom I dealt was an angel, going the extra step. Breakfast was also terrific, the best of any included breakfast anywhere.

Whoever hires the people who work here is to be congratulated. They had wonderful attitudes, have been beautifully trained, and raised the spirits of everyone who came in contact with them.Felicia, Leslie, Desmond, Sian, the fellow whose name I didn't get who was working at breakfast Tuesday morning and gave me a ceramic up for my coffee: all extraordinary. They should be proud. Thank you all for making me forget what I don't like about the place.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the elevator as possible. The rings that let the blind know what floor they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here as per the reviews on trip advisor. The hotel was nice, in pretty good condition, almost new it seemed. The staff was very kind

The not so great: breakfast is only served until 9 am, and the couple of times that we did make it, it wasnt GREAT: they ran out of cream cheese and its hard to eat a bagel without any cream cheese. The waffles were toasted, so my kids couldnt eat them since they were so hard, and as we were getting juice, they were clearing them, without even waiting for us to finish!!!! they couldve waited just a couple more minutes......

Room Tip: Dont get a room too close to the elevator. We had roon 611 which is the first one, and its right nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here. We arrived early & had no problems checking in. The staff, especially Sian & James, were very attentive towards my 4yr old son which I appreciated. Received a room on the 5th floor & it was fine. Typical Hyatt Place room, although I prefer the rooms with showers vs. tubs, as they have here. The hotel is newer & very close to everything. Wasn't too far way from downtown & the sights.
The only downfall was the pool, the chlorine smell was a bit much for us & although my son was begging to swim, I wasn't comfortable letting him since he's still fairly young.
Also, breakfast here was pretty good. It's the only HP I've seen offer hot items such as eggs, sausage, breakfast sandwiches, etc.
Would stay here again if we visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at this location for a second time, my first visit was last year in August, nice hotel, nice staff, not far from six flags fiesta texas which was our reason for trip. Nice size room and siting area. The bathroom is a bit small with a good size shower. The breakfast is the normal free breakfast and has a nice sitting area downstairs to eat. Was able to prepay with cash as I don't like the holds put on credit cards. There was some trouble for my brother in law, he was charged with a pet fee when he did not have a dog to begin with. Housekeeping said he had a dog in the room, even though they didn't actually enter his room due to a do not disturb on his door all day, when he complained about the fee the front desk said the housekeeper may have heard a dog in one of the rooms near his, so with out proof of a animal being on site the charge was removed. Aside from the dog mystery the stay went well. This hotel last year this time was ranked number one on trip advisor. Now it's down to nine so I hope they get it together otherwise ill find another place in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak

Address: 1610 E Sonterra Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Stone Oak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#58 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.