We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Area So-So” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12507 SW Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78224-3148   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #58 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Area So-So”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed here for an overnight getaway with my wife. The general location of the hotel is convenience, but specifically has a bit to be desired - from 410 you have to drive through/across/between a corner store and a Jack In The Box - the entrance is not clearly identified, and we initially pulled into an adjacent apartment complex.

The hotel is fairly new, and looked, smelled, and was clean. Rooms were nice, but our TV was a little off-kilter on its wall bracket. The A/C unit worked well, which is a requirement in South Texas in the Summer.

The breakfast had a good selection, but needed staff to be more handy to attend to the area for clean-up and restocking.

The only complaints are fairly minor - walls seemed thin - heard traffic outside and stomping upstairs, but that was lessened or drowned-out when the A/C cycled on. The pillows were comfortable, but were too small - need either bigger pillows, or one pillow more.

Vending machines - the soft drink machines were sold out of every selection on every floor, and listed 20oz. bottles for sale, but only dispensed 12oz. cans.

All-in-all, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
10
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HOUSTON
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the reviews for being clean and new. It is one of Best Western's better accomodations, however I am not sure we would return because of the surrounding area. We drove into town for restaurants and activities which was about a 15 minute trip. We were going to eat in the area as well as catch a movie, but upon driving around the area, quickly decided it was not a safe place for three women. We did stop into a nearby Walgreens and were hit up twice by street beggers. Our biggest problem came when we were ready to go to bed and pulled out the sleeper sofa to find it had no sheets. We had to go down stairs to get the bedding and make the bed ourselves. As we bent over the couch bed, the stench of urine was extremely strong. Upon lifting up the mattress, you could see where a puddle of urine had soaked through the mattress and then dried on the under support/ frame. We immediately reported to the front desk and they said their manager would take care of it in the morning. So, that meant our party of three had to bunk up with someone else in the bed. In the morning, the manager did make it right by adjusting the price of the room. We were charged for the price of a regular room rather than a suite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, NJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights while attending my son's graduation from Lackland Air Force Base. The hotel was 10-15 minutes from the base, an easy drive. The rooms were fine for our needs and the entire hotel was extremely clean being only about a year old. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The hotels indoor pool and hot tub were small but were clean and the area well kept. The A/C in the room was great! You really appreciate this after being out in temps near 100 every day. A small fridge, and a one cup coffee maker was no problem since my wife can take it or leave it when it comes to coffee. I, on the other hand MUST have it as soon as I get up. So even the one-cupper was fine. The breakfast was phenominal! Full hot breakfast. Eggs, tater tots, bacon and sausage on alternate days, biscuits and gravy, coffee, juices...just great! You don't see many hotels offer such a great daily breakfast like this for free. There is a gas station with a convenience store just steps away and also steps away, a Jack in the Box. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel. Now my hope is that there's a Best Western just like this one in Biloxi, Mississippi. That's were my Son will be job training for the next 3-5 months. I just gotta add this...I AM SO PROUD OF HIM!!! When I go to visit him, I will certainly make Best Western my first choice as to where to stay.

Room Tip: We booked on-line as a package deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The hotel had plenty to offer at a good price. Very clean new hotel, breakfast was appreciated, and housekeeping was great. We requested extra towels and linens, and the staff was very helpful. The only downside is we could hear the cars on the highway from our room and it is on the outskirts of town. Not a big deal though, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

I usually stay at Hilton properties. However, the location of this hotel was very close to the Palo Alto Community College. The hotel is relatively new (less than a year old). It was quiet and the beds were great. Rooms were large and had a refrigerator and flat screen TV. Free internet too. Very good breakfast is served every morning and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent hotel for the price!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for almost a week while attending an NCAA swim meet at nearby Palo Alto College. The location is convenient as the college is a ten minute walk from the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised as the hotel was new and very well kept. Our first disappointment came when we found out the kitchenette had no utensils, cookware or dishes. Not wanting to buy these, we ended up eating out more than we had planned, which was hard to do since there were very few restaurants close by unless you like fast food. We were also disappointed because every morning the smells of breakfast (bacon, sausage, etc.) entered our room. Sunday morning we awoke to sounds of a church service. Apparently hotel management rents out their conference room to a church for services. The conference room door was open and hymns could be heard throughout the first and second floors of the hotel. Maybe some people like this but it seemed inappropriate for a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I've been travelling to the South Texas town of Kenedy to visit my son for the past couple of years and usually stay at the Best Western in Floresville, TX. It's the nearest hotel to my destination that is not completely roach-infested, moldy and stinky...but it's not cheap, either. Although it has been remodeled recently, it's not as luxurious as the rates might indicate and I could never negotiate a lower rate even when the hotel was only partially booked. Last week I attempted to book a room for the long weekend (Columbus Day) but was told that the hotel was booked solid for the entire month of October due to their historical, annual "Peanut Festival". Soooooo, I looked online and discovered that a new BW had opened about 7 months earlier, (but was in San Antonio - an additional 30+ miles from my son). Well, it was beautiful, modern, clean and had an amazing shower...and all for about $15 less a night than the Floresville location. It was right on the highway and had a Jack-in-the-Box in the parking lot! . Bye bye Floresville...you just lost a customer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites

Address: 12507 SW Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78224-3148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Palo Alto Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Palo Alto Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.