We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expansive hotel in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #8 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expansive hotel in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

The JW Marriott in Hill Country opened in March 2010. It is the largest Marriott property in the US, maybe the world (it is documented about the US and I heard in the world mentioned).

- Located on over 2,500 acres
- Over 1,000 guest rooms and suites
- 2 PGA 18 hole golf courses
- A day spa with over 30 treatment rooms
- Multiple pools, a lazy river, and water rides (all outdoors)
- Huge meeting/conference facility
- 5 restaurants/bars (check out the multimedia sports bar)
- Starbucks
- Large gift shop
- Hertz car rental on premise

All and all, the place is huge. Even the basic rooms were spacious and had both a shower and a tub. The beds were super comfy. As far as I know, each room has either a balcony or a patio (I could be wrong with this).

Typical resort pricing on food and drink so expect slightly higher prices.

I was here for a conference. The conference rooms and ballrooms range in size from conference rooms to grand ballrooms. The catering was OK (think typical wedding food - good but not fantastic). But I guess that's what is expected when trying to serve 1,000.

Some of the down falls:
- The place is in the middle of no where. It touts that it is 20 minutes from downtown but be prepared for 30-45 minutes and a $60 cab ride from the Riverwalk.

- The bars and restaurants stop serving food at 11pm, room service closes at midnight. It is in the middle of no where so pizza and etc. will not deliver. You get the munchies late night, you're in big trouble.

- Since the place has only been open a month, there were a lot of quirky things that I won't mention. We hope it is because they are still working out the kinks.

I did also notice that on the property there seemed to be condos, probably could buy into or rent if you're looking to come and play some serious golf.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    731
    276
    89
    30
    30
See reviews for
414
186
21
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Beautiful new, 1000 room resort in Texas Hill Country. Opened Jan 2010, so everything is modern and CLEAN! The staff are universally friendly and everyone greets you continuously as you walk through the property. Do not come here if you want to visit the tourist sites in San Antonio. This resort is a $35 cab ride from the airport and over $50 to the Riverwalk. This resort has a large conference facility and everything ran smoothy (A/V, meals, etc). Family members would have a great time here. Kids club. Lazy river and multiple slides create a water park feel. There are many dining choices on the grounds. Nice lounges inside and seating areas outside with music. Plenty to keep the you exercising. Walking/ jogging trails, fitness center, golf, and a fabulous spa. If you do not want to splurge for a spa treatment, indulge yourself in a $30/day spa pass and take advantage of the rain shower, wet and dry saunas, aroma therapy room, hot tub, gym, and 2 relaxation rooms. The best part of the resort room was the bed with its firm mattress,comfy bedding, and more pillows than you could use. They could have put a little more $ into the room to make it shine. High ceilings and nice decor, but carpet has no padding. There is no TV in the bathroom, no separate toilet area, no fancy tub, and just your basic vanity items. The shower is small with a diagonal wall and a shower head too large for the space that sprays out the door when you turn it on to warm the water. The tile is very generic and the drain makes noise while the water drains. Free in-room internet was a big plus and the desk is outfitted with many outlets and connection ports. There is in room coffee and a Starbucks on property open 6AM-6PM. The hotel is reasonably priced for what you get and I would definitely recommend it for conferences, a special event, or an escape.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

What a phenomenal hotel. Easily 5 stars. I travel 150 days out of the year and stay in some of the best hotels in the world. This is easily one of them. The staff is new but learning quickly. The check-in is so professional and top-notch. And for the previous poster - there are safes in each of the rooms and also safes at the front desk for larger things. Not sure what you expected the staff to do once your property was allegedly stolen. Just for the record though - in the Hotel industry there is allot of folks which try to rip off the hotels by saying things get stolen. Only thing you could really have done is called the police, file a report, and use your Home Property Insurance for the claim.

Try to get a room facing the waterfalls/pool. The sound at night is great. Makes you think you are right on the ocean. Also – ask if there are upgrades available. I wound up with an 1200 ft executive suite – AWESOME just for asking. Tery to get as high floor as you can. The guys with lower floors I was with had noise levels at night. (people outside on the outside bar talking could be heard)

Their Sports bar is awesome. They have the largest screens i have seen (rivals ESPN Zones) . Beer and drink prices are reasonable and fair.

The Good :
1. The location. Nothing around it much. Quiet, serene
2. The hill country scenery from the balcony of your room.
3. The valet check in service. Man they can have you out of the car and into your room in seconds it seems
4. The water park is indeed a water park. I went up and down the slides so many times I can barely walk. The wait staff at the pool was great ... there are more lifeguards then I have ever seen... and the slides are fast and fun. Both my 8 and 13 year olds had a blast. If you don't want to do the slides then you can float in a tube abound their gigantic pool. Also there is a kid and adult only section.
5. The food was good for hotel food - but not great for a 5 star hotel. They need to work on that. Obviously their cook staff needs culinary help.
6. It feels like a resort. (Which is good). It’s relaxing, its quiet, there are so many fireplaces outside. Tons of chairs outside. Tons of open seating inside.
7. Free pool tables, chess boards, croquet, books, etc.
8. Two free drinks per room per night.
9. Everything seems to still be new. (its only been open for two months)
10. Lots of surrounding restaurants (if you have a car)
11. One of the few resorts which still have large balconies to sit on.
12. Free Internet and free local and domestic long distance.
13. Man the bathrooms have Jacuzzi tubs and LARGE separate showers.

Now The not so good:

1. The kids club charges for everything. Even making little paper plate hats for the kids was $5 a kid. This added "cheapness" to the otherwise great stay.
2. You better have a car unless you are going to stay and eat at the hotel the entire time. It’s a $40 taxi ride to downtown.
3. PARKING - if you don't utilize their Valet service - well parking is a ways out - and uphill -- not a fun or easy walk.
4. If you need a roll-away bed in your room - or anything else - tell them at check in... it takes them hoursss to get it to your room ... don't wait to the last minute.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Stayed here for 3 days for a convention last week. The hotel is beautiful, the staff has that "how are you today ma'am" smiley, chit-chat thing down pat. The room service food was cold & mediocre, but the restaurant food was decent. Unfortunately, I had items stolen from my room via room service staff which no one has seemed to bother trying to locate, or even assist me with resolving. After 3 phone calls, waiting for calls back, and nothing but the run-around, I've given up. A shame that the staff has so little interest in assisting guests when something bad happens, not to mention the the theft itself. A huge disappointment. I'll be thinking twice before EVER staying at another JW Marriott again, in any city. I also informed the conference organizers to choose another venue for next year's convention. Too bad.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful trip to the JW Hill Country in San Antonio. First off I have to say how beautiful the resort is. All the décor and amenities are first rate. We stayed there for three days (after the local spring break) so it wasn’t very crowded. Our kids basically had the water park to themselves. I was worried that the resort and water park would be barren and stark since it just opened up, but I was wrong. Mature trees and landscaping have been planted and the place looks great. The river park is HUGE with several fun water slides. There is also a separate kids’ pool with it’s own small water slide and play things. Located in the kids’ pool area are water cannons that anyone can use to “shoot” water at the guests floating on the river very similar to those you find at Disneyland on the Grizzly River Rapids ride. Very cool!

The breakfast buffet was very good with a wide range of choices. The High Velocity sports bar is very loud, but the words “sports bar” is a dead giveaway. With our room package we were offered two free drinks from the bar so my husband and I went to the bar and I got a glass of white wine, but when my husband asked if he could have a soda instead of a glass of wine they said no, only free wine. That didn’t really make sense to us since soda is so much cheaper than liquor. This seems a little ridiculous.

With a daily $20 resort fee the WiFi leaves a lot to be desired. You have to reconnect every time you move to a new location in the resort. I would have expected more being that the place is so new. Someone should have put more thought/equipment/money into a really slick WiFi system throughout the resort for those using smart phones.

If I had to be nit-picky I’d have to say that there are so many wonderful amenities in the rooms that the cleaning staff can't seem to take care of everything, every time. Our coffee/tea box was half empty upon arrival. The complimentary waters were not replaced daily. However, all of these items were remedied very quickly once they were brought to the staff's attention. The one major item in the room was that we asked for a rollaway at 2pm and it did not arrive until 8pm.

Overall, this is an awesome resort. A little expensive for leisure travel so we were glad to get a deal of buy 2 nights, get the 3rd free. Everyone in Texas is so friendly. We had a great time in San Antonio!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed at this resort 4/7/10-4/9/10 (Family of 4 - Mom, Dad, 5 yr old girl, 13 yr old boy). We had an exceptional time here! The weather was somewhat chilly for TX that time of year, but the pools are heated to a very comfortable temperature and we took a dip anyway! There are multiple "regular" pools, as well as a lazy river and a kids pool with 2 slides. There are also large "adult" slides. The lazy river provides inflatable donuts, and there are lifejackets available for anyone (esp kids). There is a service building where towels are available, so there is no need to bring towels from the room. Additionally, there is a bar in the pool area (that also serves some food items). The wait staff attends to patrons in the lounge chairs around the pools. I found the gentleman who waited on me to be very friendly and courteous.

There is an attendant at the gate to enter the pool area - one just needs to give her your name (room number? I can't remember now) and number of people in your party. The room key is needed to enter the gate at the pool area.

From the main building to the pool area, we passed the sports bar, arcade, kids club, and gym. There was a convention going on in the hotel at the time of my stay, and there was a good amount of people in the sports bar in the evening. The doors to the patio were all open, and the resort provided those tall outdoor heaters since the evenings that week were a little chilly. The TV screens in the sports bar are enormous!

There were about 8 or 9 games availabe in the arcade (to include hunting, driving, classic PacMan/Galaga, Guitar Hero, Poker), and a claw machine. There is a change making machine available in the arcade. A resort room key is needed to be able to open the door.

We did not go into the kids club or the exercise room. We also did not eat at the on-site restaurants.

The outside patio has many chairs and conversation areas, as well as 2 outside fireplaces. There are several fire pits located on various parts of the property. The entire resort is very well lit at night, and we felt safe walking around after dark.

The lower level lobby also has several fireplaces and conversation areas. There are tables with chess or checkers available. The lobby bar is also the location to receive your 2 complimentary drinks per day (included in the $20/day resort fee).

On the main floor there is a computer available for printing boarding passes (for free). In this same area there is a large touch-screen on the wall where you can get various information on the hotel and/or surrounding area (restaurants, attractions, weather, local news, assigned convention rooms, etc) The two tables in the center of this lounge area are also touch-screen, and appear to have games on them.

The gift shop in the resort is huge! There is one section with Texas related souvenirs (clothes, hats, etc), another one with handicrafts (such as porcelain crosses and hand made soaps), and a third area with travel related essentials/food and drinks/magazines. Next to the gift shop is a store with golf-related items (shirts, club covers, etc).

In the room itself, we had 2 double beds and a Juliette balcony. The sliding glass door opened, and there was just enough space to stand just outside the door for a beautiful view of the surrounding hill country. The bathroom is stunning! There is a glass-enclosed shower and a separate tub. The tile floors were extremely clean and complemented the decor well. There was plenty of lighting in the spacious bathroom, as well as lots of towels in varying sizes on the shelf below the sink. There is a hairdryer available in a bag on the shelf as well. Beyond the standard bath amenities (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, bar soap) they also provided cotton balls and Q-tips!

The coffee maker is in the foyer area inside a cabinet, and there is a box next to it with coffee (decaf and regular), tea bags, creamer, sweetener (regular sugar, equal, sweet n low, AND Splenda!) My only disappointment in this resort was the in-room coffee. It was unflavorful. However, there is a Starbucks conveniently located in the hotel for true coffee aficionados!

There is a flat-screen TV on a dresser in the room, and there is a "control panel" just above the desk with all the appropriate auxiliary jacks to be able to plug in various electronic components for viewing on the TV! The alarm clock also has an iPod docking station. Inside the dresser, there is a drawer containing an in-room safe, and the internet cable was in another drawer. (high-speed internet access is included with the $20/day resort fee) The dresser also contained the refrigerator.

I found the beds to be very comfortable, and I did not hear any noise at all from next door nor the hallways.

Regarding the staff at this hotel, we had ONLY positive experiences! As soon as we pulled up the first day, several employees opened the car doors for us, and assisted with getting the bags out of the trunk. Another employee promptly obtained a luggage cart for us, and after several calls to have a bellman take our bags to our room (evidently there were none available at the time), he took the bags all the way to the 9th floor for us himself!

Although there is valet parking available at this resort, we opted for the free self-parking, and we never had a problem finding a parking space.

The check-in process was also quick and simple. We were greeted immediately, and the whole process took less than 5 minutes. We were offered a choice of morning paper (Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and I think there might have been a local paper?). Upon check out, again the whole process took less than 5 minutes, and we received a copy of our bill e-mailed to us at home. We did not call to have our bags retrieved from the room - we just carried them downstairs ourselves.

There were employees stationed at the front doors every time we came in or out of the building, and they opened the doors for us and greeted us with a hello and a smile every time. I, for one, am not offended by frequent hello's! I appreciate friendly employees, especially in a service industry.

I hope I am not overlooking anyone who contributed to our wonderful stay at this resort - the whole package (property + people) would definitely have me return many more times! Everyone we encountered truly seemed interested in making sure we had everything we needed and that we had a successful stay. I would highly recommend this resort!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I enjoyed the beauty of the hotel once I got there. It is 25 minutes north from San Antonio airport, on the edge of no where all by itself. It is huge at 1,000 rooms. Nice design if you like the typical Southwestern look. Without a car, you are trapped at this expensive resort.

The golf course is great, as is the large pool area with a superb lazy river for kids and adults. The water slide is great too. Country music singer during the day inside and outside was good.

If you are not here for a conference and even if you are, you don't golf, there is no reason to go to this hotel. At $300/night, it just is not worth it.

The hotel room walls are paper thin, so you can easily here the rooms on the other side of you. The beds were not comfortable. There is a 36 inch flat screen HDTV in each room which is nice, and the showers had good water pressure. The hotel opened in January 2010, so everything is new.

The staff are exceptionally friendly, and there are security personnel everywhere (which can be annoying since they all say "hello" to you). Starbucks was busy. Sports bar had good beer on tap selection.

Just know you are at a resort not anywhere near anything except by car 15 minutes to a few stores and restaurants and 35 to 45 minutes from downtown San Antonio. With so many other great resorts in the United States with much more interesting surroundings and culture, I am surprised JW Marriott built in the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.