We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem for Texas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem for Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We just got back from a great stay at this new property. I will tell you I think this is the nicest family resort in Texas that offers something for everyone. The amenities is top notch as well as the golf course and spa. We travel often out of state because the lack of luxury family resorts in Texas . Now the JW is not of the caliber of the Four Seasons, Peninsula, Mandarin but I would say as comparible to the Ritz. The staff is very friendly and gave special attention to my children and always asking them "are you having fun"? The lazy river is wonderful and so much better than the Hyatt Hill Country. The spa was top notch and service attendants were wonderful. For those being critical of price , I have always thought that you truly get what you pay for in the service industry. I have never gone to a luxury resort expecting a deal ! Thankyou for a wonderful stay JWMarriott !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    301
    99
    33
    31
See reviews for
455
200
23
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The place is lovely, but the service is really just getting underway - case in point - the Starbucks ran out of coffee!!! During my conference my entire table didn't get a lunch plate - the server said 'oops' and walked away.

But, ALL that melted away once everybody found the pool - it was perfect. 86 degrees year round - lots of space an amenities and a great poolside staff. Loved the lazy river and the zero-depth pool that stayed shallow enough for my kids to play in all day.

Rooms are average but nice - not sure who decided there should be longhorn artwork in every room... that's a little creepy.

Make sure to visit the sports bar with the giant wall of 50 foot tvs.

Location: a solid $50 cab ride from the Riverwalk - not a plus. But a lovely view of the hills in all directions from the resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We were in town for a family event. The property is beautiful; everything is brand new, immaculate and family friendly. There appeared to be several conferences going on as well, so it is not solely family oriented. We had our two year old and our 22 year old with us (yeah, I know). We had adjoining rooms, and it worked out well. Normally we have to book a suite, so this was a nice alternative. Check in was easy; staff were friendly and helpful most of the time. The restaurant we ate at, Cibolo Moon, was ok; some of us (we were in a large family group) had fantastic meals, and other just ok. The buffet breakfast was good. Call ahead for reservations if you have a large group, since there is a wait on the weekends. The waterpark was great; most of our family and friends loved the lazy river and slides (we refrained with the toddler). The only thing we were not happy about was the bell service on our checkout. We waited so long that we wound up schlepping our own bags so we didn't miss our flight. We called in plenty of time (over a half hour) and advised them of our need to leave asap.
We also had a private brunch on Saturday, and the family member who organized it was very pleased with the catering person who booked it. The food for that was very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We were there Easter weekend and they had activities for everyone to enjoy. The decor is absolutley awesome no skimping on this property everything is top notch. The service was great and the Cibolo Moon for breakfast is a must. This resort has it all and more it's a place I would highly recommend for anyone couple or a family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed Friday and Saturday night April2-3rd. It was Easter Weekend and we were not quite sure what to expect for crowds; we never left the property -there was no need. There were alot of people but because the resort is so.... big it never felt overcrowded. When you drive up to the resort what a sight, it is beautifully nestled in the trees. Friday night was Smores and a Dive In movie-great for the kids. The staff was very friendly and had the kids so excited. We ate at the pool side cafe it was fine typical bar food. We also at at High Velocity sports bar good food there as well. The best food was at Cibolo Moon they had a Backyard Bar-b-que buffet going on, very good food! The pool and lazy river and water slides kept my daughter as well as my husband and I entertained, there are plenty of lounge chairs and tubes. My husband went golfing on the Oaks course, he said it was great but "challenging". On Easter Sunday they had an Egg Hunt; which was so fun for the kids. We had Easter Brunch there as well. It was the most Gorgeous buffet setting I have ever seen (I've been to alot of Buffets) .Large staions with so any choices of food. The dessert area was in the middle in which you had to step up on a platform to get to the unique Easter desserts.-Yummy!! There was a small jazz band playing while you ate. It was just wonderful!! The whole experience from the time we arrived till the time we left was fantastic I would truly recommend this resort and come back again!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

As many of the reviews say this is a beautiful resort but needs a lot of work in some areas. The staff seems friendly but it does not seem like they are staffed properly to deal with a full hotel. We arrived late with our family of 5 for our spring break trip. I had twice confirmed there would be a roll away in the room as I knew we would want to get the kids right to sleep. We haul our luggage to our room (it's a very big hotel!) only to find the roll away in a regular guest room and not the suite we had reserved. I immediately called the front desk and the woman said she'd have to speak to a manager to straighten out and would call us back with in 10 minutes. At this point it was after 11PM! My husband called back 15 minutes later and was told they were on their way to take us to our new room. Not a good way to start the week! We were told the hotel was full capacity but as it was a very large conference, we never saw many people and the pool area was empty. That changed drastically on Friday night when all the families arrived for Easter weekend! Breakfast wait went from no wait to 45 minutes. They definitely need another restaurant on property to deal with a full house of leisure travelers. The food seemed so-so. We had the breakfast buffet included in our room rate so that was great but 18 Oaks, High Velocity and Cibolo Moon for dinner were nothing great. We ordered room service one night and that was expensive and not good. Kids loved the pool area and they enjoyed a movie out by the pool one night , s'mores by the fire pit, an amazing balloon maker, the chess sets, and a duck race down the lazy river. Another thing they need to figure out is the pool music. One day during our week stay we were awakened in our first floor room by blaring music at 7AM. It appeared the pool speakers had come on full blast. We were all sound asleep and it woke us up. When it wasn't off by 7:15 we called the front desk. Still blaring at 7:25AM so we called again. They didn't shut them off until 7:35! Then that night after the pool closed at 10PM they were blaring again. Again we called the front desk twice and it took 45 minutes for them to be shut off. A manager called us back to apologize but it was annoying! We utilized the concierge quite a bit to get information and directions. They were very nice and helpful but twice the directions given to us were very poor and resulted in us getting lost. So in a nutshell, a great property that hopefully will improve with time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Let me start by saying, I stay at Marriott Hotels 3 nights per week and this is my first online bash after almost 20 years of business and pleasure travel. I actually paid instead of points on this one(saving for Maui again) but this one is really not worth it. The pool is very nice and the rooms are Okay, but the service is as if they had no idea guests actually come to vacation in San Antonio. There are a lot more, but a couple of examples; First night dinner was maybe a 30-40 minute wait after ordering. 2nd night 60-90 minute wait for a table at their restaurants and couldn't order room service or take out because the kitchen's (plural) were swamped. Basically, management is either awful at planning or they have hired a totally inept crew. Definitely not what you have come to expect from Marriott. Some great points- lifeguards are super nice and genuinely care! Other than a few employees, the service overall was as bad as I can remember anywhere. St. Kitts Marriott and JW in Cancun both had a WAY BETTER organized and friendly crew, how does that happen??? Decided to leave 2 days early and stay on the Riverwalk instead. The pool didn't trump the incredibly poor service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.