We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spring BReak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
“Great Spring BReak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have used this site for years on deciding where to vacation and have never written a review, but I felt compelled to share after a fabulous trip this year. Our family spent our Spring Break at the resort this March and it was a great vacation. Not enough can be said about the staff and their great service. The resort is great for kids and the activities throughout the resort were fantastic. The restaurants were also very good and offered plenty of variety to able you to stay for an entire week and not eat the same meal. The sports bar is incredible and not enough is said about it on their website, with the huge TV screens that take up the entire wall above the bar area, and is a great spot to watch any sporting event. Great hotel, great rooms and great service. Perfect place for a family get away or an adult trip for golf and relaxation.

Room Tip: You could ask for a resort view, but not neccessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    319
    101
    33
    32
See reviews for
474
212
24
438
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Planned anniversary for my wife and I. Front desk staff was fabulous! Upgrade to balcony room, complimentarty drinks WOW! Room was high up as requested, excellent views of the Texas Hill Country. Made Spa appointment for couples massage, again congrats from staff on anniversary (not prompted). The staff and facilities are top notch. Family oriented but we did not feel out of place traveling as a couple. Pools were clean, staff everywhere, the pool area w2as definitely well managed. We will be back and bringing the grand daughter next time!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We recently stayed one night for a family function. Our room had a balcony and overlooked the courtyard where there were several campfires going at night. There were families enjoying roasting marshmallows over the fire. The heated pool was very nice. The view of the hill country from our room was beautiful. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The service at breakfast was not the best, but the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Wanted to write about how disappointed we were with the JW Marriott for our Mother's Day stay. Since they have opened, we have visited the JW every year for Mother's day and it continues to get busier and busier. The issue we had this stay and each stay before, not just for Mothers Day, but other holiday/celebration weekends, is that they are VERY understaffed for the pool area. It is unacceptable to wait 1 hr to receive your drink order and 1.5 hrs for your food! They know that it will be a very busy weekend, especially now having the TRI the same weekend as Mother's day, and you continue to under staff the pool area. Also, it is wrong for guests to "save" their lounge chairs at 9am in morning with their towels and then not return until the afternoon. We witness this time and time again and the JW does nothing to stop it. We saw families with babies, etc., walking around and around the pool area looking for chairs to sit and could not find any....yet, there were plenty of chairs with folded towels on them with no guests. No saving of lounge chairs should be enforced at this resort and it is a shame that so many guests take advantage of this situation....because they can.
We were also disappointed in Cibolo Moon for dinner Sat. evening. Four of us at our table ordered a baked potato and when we received them, they were just slightly warm and not completely cooked. When my husband asked for a hot one, the waiter returned with a baked potato that looked "torched" on the outside but still not cooked inside. We love the Marriott brand, and every time we travel we make a point on staying at a Marriott in the city we visit. Our stays are always great and we hope it continues that way. There are just a few things the JW Marriott in San Antonio need to work on, and having enough staff to accommodate the large number of people at the pool is a huge one. Again, this is not the first time this has happened. It has happened each time we visit on a big weekend, we just always hope that on our next visit, it will have been fixed, but yet again, it never is.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddw100, Manager at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Txgirltravels,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you had on your stay over Mother’s Day weekend. I am disappointed that your stay had the challenges that it did.

We did have a couple of significant areas of opportunity at the pool area during and particularly after the triathlon finished. We have had several detailed debriefs with our staff and more importantly the organizers of the event to identify where the pinch points and any missed details were. This will positively impact not only Mother’s Day and the triathlon next year but all of our major holiday weekends. Of note is that we have constructed a service bar area to increase the amount of bartenders and assist with pool server efficiency. We have also increased our number of summer staffing for this year starting on Memorial Day weekend. Next year we will have that staffing level ready for the triathlon event.

I wish we had delivered the service that has put us at the very top of the JW Brand for Overall Satisfaction and Staff service. Please accept my apologies for not delivering what we normally do and know we are working to improve in all areas, particularly on the busy holiday weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed at the JW for a convention(my husband's association) and it proved to be the perfect fit for a group of this size (close to 600). Our corner room was a bit of a walk from the elevator but the view (fountains and golf course) along with a little extra square footage was worth the walk. I was very impressed by the friendly staff who never failed to greet us with a smile and a little chit-chat no matter where we were around the property. My massage was divine (focused on scalp, feet and back-) as well as the spa pool and main pool area with 2 water slides and a lazy river. The workout facility is fabulous. The food was overall good, I enjoyed the restaurant at the Golf Club House the best- -the grilled cheese with apple and bacon was incredible. Our lunch on the last day at Cibolo Moon was mediocre and the queso dip at the Sport's Bar needs a makeover--I think it came out of a jar. The resort was a hit with our group, but is an excellent family resort too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, where I stayed for four nights for a conference. It is far from San Antonio proper. Be prepared for high taxi prices; it was roughly $45 from the airport. As there are no services within (nearby) walking distance, food prices at the restaurants are high. The food at Cibolo Moon is good but for that price, it should be great. My co-worker noted that the BBQ was dry, so disappointing for Texas. Oddly enough, the conference food was exceptional!

Staff are helpful & professional throughout. One person noticed that I was looking at a directory. He stopped to ask if he could help me to find something--very nice! The only unpleasant person I encountered was at the concierge desk.

The property is clean, well-maintained, and feels safe. It's a good place if you're on an expense account but I wouldn't stay here on my own dime.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Enjoyed this get away and especially the Oak Course. It has the ultimate experience for us with Golf for me and the Spa for my wife and a very nice pool for the kids. Its a great staycation location for us pending you can find a decent deal on the property. Its about to get REALLY FREAKIN hot here in Central Texas and if we can find some decent deals…..We will be back.

Also, EXCELLENT Breakfast taco's and one of the best hot dogs I have ever received at a golf course or anywhere else for that matter. Only thing that would make it better is offer some onions guys for the hot dogs.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.