We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed Overall A” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #9 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very Impressed Overall A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There is really no need to lever the property Unless you want to sample some of what downtown San Antonio has to offer along with the local cuisine. several restaurants to choose from, onsite shopping, FedEx, Starbucks, a waterpark. sports bar, 2 gyms, walking an running trails. PGA golf course and Spa/ The rooms were very clean beds were extremely comfortable. The only thing keeping this from an A+ and an excellent rating is that there is no free wifi. Wifi is charged on a per day rate.

Room Tip: Upper floors have great views of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    651
    256
    76
    30
    27
See reviews for
377
171
21
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed 4 nights here for a conference. The service from the staff was tremendous. Always eager to help and with a smile. The hotel is very clean and gorgeous. The pool area makes you feel like you're on an island instead of in the middle of San Antonio. By far the best place I've ever stayed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot & short of a few resorts in Vegas this is one of my favorite in the country. Every thing here was great. Slept very well. Enjoyed my patio & the fountain outside. Nice big bathroom. Starbucks in the lobby. 2 workout centers (1 in lodging side 1 in day spa). The day spa is amazing & relaxing. Food & drinks were all decilous. The only downside was the $65 cab ride each way to/from the riverwalk. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff are incredible. There is a little something for everyone and the top dining places are willing to come pick you up and shuttle you into San Antonio for a great dinner. Twenty minutes from river walk set in a tranquil area just outside of town. The staff exceeds expectations. The spa is incredible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

An amazing property, accompanied by quite possibly the best management and staff I've encountered in years. As reference, I've been travelling in business for 30+ years and so have become somewhat enlightened and critical about what to expect from a good hotel. This property and staff exceed any expectation I've had from a 'chain' hotel group. In fact, I've not stayed in a nicer chain hotel in the USA.

Clean and fresh in every detail, both in my room and throughout the public areas. Spacious and quiet room, great bed and pillows, spotless bathrooms, quality amenities... all perfectly attended and 'professional.' (what I mean by 'professional' is nice, informative and genuinely pleasant, without being clingy or overly 'handwringy')

The ONLY issue I have with this property is the same that I have with most four star+ hotels... Why not embed the internet fee in the room charge, instead of irritating us by isolating and upcharging that $14 connection tack-on? Even the $49 freeway hotels manage this, so at hundreds per night, why not consider a different approach with these nuisance fees?

Bottom Line... I always judge a hotel I've stayed in for business, by asking myself if I would recommend it to family and friends, or return there personally for leisure... at my own expense. The answer on this one is, 'Absolutely Yes.'

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place has something for everyone. Huge pools with slides, great golf, a spa and great service. The food all around is good and 18 oaks is worth eating at for dinner. Highly Recommend this place for all occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff's genuine friendliness, attentiveness, and helpfulness puts this resort experience at the top. This was our second stay and we plan many more. Beautiful setting and wonderful amenities made this such a much needed relaxing time. Food at the Cibolo Moon was great (breakfast Eggs Benedict and dinner of pork tenderloin). The lobby and attached patio fosters a great early evening atmosphere for drinks and appetizers. The cost is on the expensive side, but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.