We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #8 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my kids 13 & 14. Customer service was top notch from the moment we arrived. I parked in self parking, which is a little uphill hike back to the lobby. A valet attendant gave me a ride back up, which was very nice. The hotel was booked, so I wasn't able to get a pool view room, but we got a lovely view of the hill country with a full balcony. I'd only reserved a room with a Juliette balcony. The rooms were very nice and I loved the separate shower and bathtub. Everything was very clean. I have no complaints about any of the staff. They are very attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the pool and the various activities at the resort, including Games 2 U, an animal show, s'mores, and movies. Next time I would bring a soccer ball for my daughter to play on the grass in the evening. We also did a Segway tour, which was tons of fun. We got to ride them all over and around the property. Probably our favorite part of the trip! My only complaint, and it is minor, would be that there were kids that hogged the pool table for hours on end. It was as if their parents left them there for entire day, every day. I saw many irritated people who were waiting to use it. Not sure why they didn't tell them that their time was up. We were able to snag it for a little bit before they woke up, I presume. All in all, a great staycation that my kids and I enjoyed. Great job, JW Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    276
    89
    30
    30
See reviews for
414
186
21
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taft, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of July. Resort was beautiful. My kids (12 and 9) as well as my husband and I spent all day at the pools and attractions. We rented a cabana one day and it was fabulous! The service was awesome and the food at the pool grill was super! We brought snacks and drinks for the room to save a bit of $$ and used the in room fridge. Next time we will bring some balls to play with on the lawn in the evenings. The view from the adults only infinity pool was one of the best around. Overall so relaxing and tons of fun! We will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augie101898
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a work recognition trip here and was very nice. room service food was excellent.
Bed was a bit so so. I would stay here again. Was way too hot when we were there so did not do the pool or golf. Staff was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved our stay! The rooms are nice, the pool is really fun for the kids, but I think the thing that impressed us most were the restaurants. We ate poolside (wonderful sandwiches), we ate at Cibolo Moon (worth staying on property for), plus we hung out at High Velocity Sports Bar (wait staff was phenomenal!) not to mention fries, strawberries & cake plus salads! The TV screens in there are hard to describe - but worth hanging out if a big game is on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at the JW Marriott two nights for a large corporate event. Front desk help was excellent. We had reserved a King but at check in, were told they only had doubles but with balcony,etc... We gave it a go but when we got to the room, were a little disappointed. Definitely two "doubles" (i.e. not queens). Since this was a getaway for the two of us (without kids), we went back down to the lobby and found someone who was able to find a king room for us. And the room we got was a king with larger balcony with chairs and a table. Much better.

So the room was top-notch. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom had separate tub and large walk-in shower. The pool area was very nice and the staff were friendly (including housekeeping staff). Big, big, big hotel - be prepared to walk long, long hallways. That's not necessarily bad; just keep in mind it's that type of property. It's not an intimate, boutique hotel.

We were there for a huge event (1,500 people) and the hotel did a great job. Food at these large hotel events can be predictably bad, but not so in this case. Everything was very good.

We did not partake of many of the hotel ameneties aside from the pool, so I can't really comment on those (i.e. golf course, restaurants, spa, etc...). No free wi-fi (I would hope at this point all hotels would have moved past charging for wi-fi). Location: You are pretty far out from the center of San Antonio. But I'm guessing it won't bother most people that choose this hotel. If you were concerned about being close to San Antonio, you'd probably book one of the many choices that are downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Be prepared to walk to get around on the grounds. Has restaurants, large heated pool, golf courses, children activities. Need live band because the outdoor area/patio is very large you don't want to be in your room.

Room Tip: Get a room near pool if you plan to be there most of your stay-you don't want to have to walk ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here June 16 - 18th and was very pleased. The resort is large and beautiful sitting on top of a hill with great views. The staff was friendly and helpful. The water park has plenty of things to do with your family. The food was very good, pricey but you received good quality in return. The rooms were clean and enjoyable. The balcony rooms gave great views especially of the golf course. Most of the wait times at the restaurants (on weekends) were ridiculous unless you had a reservation. All in all i would definitely return to this spacious and fabulous resort.

Room Tip: adjoining rooms are nice for families traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.