We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LiveLy and noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“LiveLy and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located 30 minutes from downtown in the Hill Country. It is also home of the TPC San Antonio, where the Texas Valero Open golf tournament takes place.
It is a very large, very lively hotel with many families, many young children. The hotel thus is a mixture between a golf resort and a family resort hotel. Pure golfing travelers might not like it so much because there are always a lot of family activities going on. Also the pace of play on the golf courses is kind of slow.
The hotel rooms are spacious enough and well equipped e.g. fridge and room safe are available. Various restaurants/bars are available, incl. Starbucks but are always very busy and noisy. One morning the wait for breakfast was 45 minutes. That is just too much and needs better organisation. On top service tends to be very slow.
The hotel is relatively expensive, on top of the room rate comes the resort fee which covers things like wifi or the gym. This, however, is available free of charge in many other hotels. But at least free self-parking is available.
All in all much more a large family resort where somehow you can also play some golf.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    729
    276
    89
    30
    30
See reviews for
414
186
21
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful resort with great staff! Our family did not want to leave. As beautiful as the resort it, the staff makes the guest feel so special. We will save up and return as soon as we can. The pool is fantastic and we loved the water slides

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family just returned yesterday from a long weekend at this now-favorite destination in the Hill Country of San Antonio. We were simply amazed by the attention to detail and high level of service, from the housekeeping staff to the restaurant employees to the concierge desk attendants. It is very clear that this JW Marriott really wants to be your favorite vacation destination, and they are all willing to work hard to prove it.

We reserved a room with 2 double beds for our family of 4. They were booked up solid, so we couldn't get an upgrade to a king suite; however, they did upgrade us to a "Hill Country resort view". This wing of the hotel was actually very quiet at night, and on the second night, we requested a rollaway, and one was available, so it made it more comfortable for all of us to sleep. My husband is tall, so a double bed is not really big enough, but we made do with what we had. The view was very nice from the room, although we didn't spend a lot of time there.

We had planned to go "off campus" for dinner one night, but when the food choices were so plentiful, and the food so good, we just stayed at the hotel. The first night we ate the dinner buffet at Cibolo Moon, which was $22 for adults and $10 for kids. There was a very good choice of salads, meats, fish, vegetables, rolls/biscuits and desserts. There was also a kids table, with chicken tenders, mac & cheese and beanie-weenies, with chocolate chip cookies for dessert.

We had lunch by the pool both days at the Rivertop Grille. You can sit at a table, or have a meal delivered right to your poolside chaise loungers or chairs by a server who comes around the pool. The cheeseburgers, fish tacos and chicken Caesar salad were all very good. This restaurant also serves a myriad of adult beverages, as well as kid-friendly drinks.

I cannot say enough about the hardest-working personnel at any hotel, the housekeeping staff. Our maid, Ana G., was incredible. She was very friendly and always kept our room tidy and well-stocked. She even left us extra bottles of water and cookies one day, with a very nice hand-written note welcoming us to the hotel. Granted, we left a small tip for her each morning, but with this kind of service, she also ought to get a good raise.

There are plenty of kid's activities to supplement the pools and slides at the Range Riders Kids Club. Our daughter had lots of fun doing craft project like sand art, making bracelets, jewelry creation, tube decorating and even bingo. The staff - probably college kids - were all professional, yet fun, at keeping all the kids happy and occupied.

I could go on and on about other fine details of this hotel, but you just gotta go there and experience it for yourself. The prices may seem a bit steep, but for everything that's included, it's a bargain for complete family entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I attended a business conference at the JW Marriott and thought the hotel was wonderful. It is quite huge and some of the rooms are a far walk from the lobby. The rooms are very nice and spacious with upgraded amenities, and individual balconies overlooking the pool and golf course. The meeting and food was excellent. They also have an exapnsive pool area and PGA stadium golf course on site. What is unusual is the location of the hotel. Seeing it advertised as being in the "hill country" and fairly far out from downtown and the Riverwalk, I was expecting a very rural setting. However, it is in a new subdivision on the outskirts of town and you are closer to strip malls than the hill country. The hotel is top notch and the grounds and setting are nicely maintained, but don't go expecting to be out in the country.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side had a view of the pool and gold course. Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The pool area is just amazing: from outside you would never guess the size of it!
Rooms are very new and nicely decorated. Excellent choice! Food is excellent and the chef sources most of the ingredients on a local basis which makes a big difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We live in Texas and I have a fondness for the JW brand so we felt a little getaway was in order. The resort is beautiful and loaded with amenities. The rooms are in keeping with the JW standard, comfortable and well appointed with large bathrooms and most importantly, quiet!

The resort is very large and offers a number of meeting facilities, I wish my employer would spring for a conference there :)

Great food in all of the restaurants that we tried (Bison meatloaf?!!), the steakhouse was the only one we could not make it to. They even have a FULL Starbucks, not a kiosk. Very nice feature.

There is a waterpark complete with lazy river, slides and adult pool. We sipped on cocktails while we enjoyed the view from the adult infinity pool.

Guests of the hotel are permitted to play on the TPC course so we could not pass that up! The course is beautiful and challenging. Bring plenty of balls!

The best part of our getaway was the spa. It's amazing. The massage was great but the attention to detail in the locker room really made the experience first class. In addition to the whirlpool (which was fabulous), the steamroom and sauna they also had an inhalation room which was so peaceful and relaxing. The spa also has it's own private pool and you are permitted to come and go all day to enjoy the spa amenities after your treatment.

Overall, the resort is beautiful and very relaxing. I would highly recommend for couples or families and of course those lucky business travelers. Try the tequila flights!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place rocks! My husband and I stayed here with our 2 children (ages 4 and 9 mos.) in mid-May. Even with 2 young children in tow, it was so relaxing. The pool is great for all ages. My 4 yr. old could go down all the water slides with us and the baby was able to sit in the kiddie pool comfortably. There's something for everyone here and the staff is very accommodating. I highly recommend this as a getaway. The spa is fantastic, too. The hotel recommended an outside babysitter for us who was very good. It's about 1/2 hr. from the River Walk and 1/2 from the Knibbe Ranch, which is owned by the hotel. If the hotel is sponsoring a rodeo, go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.