We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

very nice resort, great service, very clean. they have a large swimming pool with a lazy river and water slides. heard the golf course was very nice (looks it). food was also pretty good, pricy but good. recommend taking day trip (few hrs needed) to see alamo and river walk. not much more needed to be seen in san antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    353
    108
    37
    36
See reviews for
532
236
25
489
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice for a work conference in late Feb/early March. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and I enjoyed walking around the property and neighborhood close by. It was too chilly to use the pool but it looks nice, spacious and fun for the kids. The rooms are very nice and some have the extra benefit of having a full balcony with chairs. I enjoyed the sunsets from my balcony with a glass of wine after a long day of being cooped up in a conference room. I enjoyed room service one evening with attentive and capable service. This isn't the hotel to stay at if you want to be close to the river walk and downtown but is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel. Good for golf groups or families. Two golf courses to play. Both are solid. The Oaks course is very difficult but fun to play. The hotel has 1000 rooms. My room was first class. I ate at the sports bar called Velocity and it was good. Everything from bar food to steak or fish. The Cibolo restaurant was very good as well. I heard the steak house is top notch as well. I didn't use the pool area but it is tremendous for kids and families. Lazy river, slides, all the stuff. It's probably 45-50 minutes to downtown and the Riverwalk area. This hotel is one you check in and never leave the property until you head back to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just attended a business conference and all I can say is the property and staff are outstanding.

The facility including restaurants, fitness center, spa, pool etc etc are all what you should expect at a JW. We were fortunate enough to be at the property during the Valero Texas PGA event (Played at the TPC course on the property).

Would recommend anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property with great accommodations! Lazy river and water slide was great. The two championship golf courses are beautiful and outstanding maintenance. Service was great and the staff was outgoing and very accommodating!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Monday April 1 to Sunday April 7. The hotel is very nice and staff seems friendly enough; however I had a really bad experience with Room Service. I ordered lunch on Thursday afternoon and when the woman delivered my lunch, she realized she forgot the side salad. She left to get the side salad and returned 10 min later with the side salad. While she was gone, I decided I was going to eat my enchilada until I realized there was no silverware. When she returned with my salad, I told her I did not have any silverware and she left again to go fetch some silverware. I was unable to eat my meal until about 30 min after it was originally delivered. I was definitely annoyed, but did not mention it or take it out on the service staff. The woman who delivered my meal felt bad about the experience and asked if I like wine. She said she would have a bottle of wine and a cheese plate delivered to my room later that day to make up for what happened. About 10 min after she left my room, she called me to see what time I would like my wine and cheese delivered. I told her 5pm. I stayed in my room until 6:30pm that evening and never received my bottle of wine and cheese plate. I could have lived with the "mistake" that was made with my lunch; however it is very disheartening that they promised something to make up for their mistake and didn't follow through. This is by far the worst service I have ever received at a Marriott. We are very loyal Marriott customers and I am currently thinking of switching brands because of this incident.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a short stay due to work... The staff ask the nature of our business/pleasure? We replied honeymoon... The bartender Stephanie sent(on her own, not the hotel) brownies, strawberries & a wonderful light sparkling wine! The hotel staff provided a special padded hanger for my dress... Provide late checkout & covered dessert at our meal... Everything was "Congrats Mr & Mrs!" This place is gorgeous with huge live oaks everywhere, our room was beautiful, fully equipped walk in 2 person shower & an oversized tub. Segway Tours if the grounds, full waterpark , lazy river, kids area, swim up bar, food cabana, several pools & the entire water park is heated in case at say spring break its chilly to us Texans. Oh and, volleyball, tennis, basketball & a world class TPC players golf course & clubhouse!!!!! Overall I could not have asked for more accommodating service, staff, more beautiful views!! Wonderful place to be! We're taking the kids summer break!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.