We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, complete resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Quitman, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, complete resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything you could wish for is delivered here! Great for romance, convention, spa, golf. 2nd time here ... Wonderful place, superb staff. Be sure if given the opportunity go to Knibbe Ranch as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    318
    101
    33
    32
See reviews for
474
211
24
437
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore,md
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel property is sprawling and beautiful. Everything you could need was on site. The food and service were excellent. Although there for a business meeting - would recommend for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only regret we have is going to Sea World and then coming here. We should've just stayed here the entire time. Lots to do!! Very kid friendly! They had smore's, a movie by the pool, decorate your own float etc.. Excellent grounds to enjoy, pool was fantastic, restaurant was super yummy! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort and Spa is a fantastic place to stay. We were there for business and the guest rooms as well as the conference rooms were beautiful. Lunch and breakfast were delicious and the service was outstanding. The waitstaff were polite, courteous and attentive to any needs we had. My room was spacious with a nice little couch and a very comfortable bed. I had even forgotten a toothbrush and the gift shop in the resort was open late, thankfully!!

The only con of the resort is that the location is a little remote. It was about a 15-20 min shuttle ride to the nearby mexican restaurant and a 30 mile cab ride to the Riverwalk/Alamo area. If you're going for sightseeing, that may be something to consider.

Otherwise, I highly recommend JW Marriott San Antonio!! Get some Rudy's BBQ, too, while you're there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for work of couple years ago. This was the second JW marriot I have stayed at and they were both pretty much the same. The hotel was pretty much brand new, yet everything ran like they had been open for years.
The entire building is very modern, clean and impressive. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the JW this past week end and we had a lovely time. The hotel took great care of us and as we have experienced in the past at the JW the staff are really kind. We ate lunch at High Velocity and the food was great. If you are a sports fan this restaurant will be a true treat. I have never seen so many TV's in a space of that size. For dinner we went to 18Oaks. The food and atmosphere were perfect for a couple celebreating their anniversary. The rooms are lovely and spacious and I love the bathrooms, great tubs. On Sunday morning we enjoyed brunch at 18Oaks. Again, this was wonderful. How can you argue with endless mimosa's. We have stayed at this hotel in the past and the water park and pools are fantastic for sunny days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We usually stay at the Hyatt in the Hill Country when we stay in San Antonio but we got a great deal on Priceline so we just had to try the JW finally. It was a huge property compare to the Hyatt, but still had a similar feel and charm. The property well kept, pools were great fun for my 3 kids age 4, 6 and 8. That kept them busy for hours each day even if was chilly outside - the pools were heated and the kids played in them until they turned blue!

Rooms are nice and updated, food was good at the restaurant and reasonably priced. My only big complaint is that we had come for the Thanksgiving day buffet and it was sold out by the time we got there. Also, the breakfast with Santa buffet was sold out on Saturday. My kids were dissapointed not to see Santa which we always did at the Hyatt. If they suggest you reserve something believe them and do it or you will be stuck out!

Also note that the kids activites are very expensive - almost ridiculously so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.