We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, complete resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #10 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Quitman, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome, complete resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything you could wish for is delivered here! Great for romance, convention, spa, golf. 2nd time here ... Wonderful place, superb staff. Be sure if given the opportunity go to Knibbe Ranch as well.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    368
    111
    37
    37
See reviews for
552
241
25
498
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore,md
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel property is sprawling and beautiful. Everything you could need was on site. The food and service were excellent. Although there for a business meeting - would recommend for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only regret we have is going to Sea World and then coming here. We should've just stayed here the entire time. Lots to do!! Very kid friendly! They had smore's, a movie by the pool, decorate your own float etc.. Excellent grounds to enjoy, pool was fantastic, restaurant was super yummy! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort and Spa is a fantastic place to stay. We were there for business and the guest rooms as well as the conference rooms were beautiful. Lunch and breakfast were delicious and the service was outstanding. The waitstaff were polite, courteous and attentive to any needs we had. My room was spacious with a nice little couch and a very comfortable bed. I had even forgotten a toothbrush and the gift shop in the resort was open late, thankfully!!

The only con of the resort is that the location is a little remote. It was about a 15-20 min shuttle ride to the nearby mexican restaurant and a 30 mile cab ride to the Riverwalk/Alamo area. If you're going for sightseeing, that may be something to consider.

Otherwise, I highly recommend JW Marriott San Antonio!! Get some Rudy's BBQ, too, while you're there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for work of couple years ago. This was the second JW marriot I have stayed at and they were both pretty much the same. The hotel was pretty much brand new, yet everything ran like they had been open for years.
The entire building is very modern, clean and impressive. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the JW this past week end and we had a lovely time. The hotel took great care of us and as we have experienced in the past at the JW the staff are really kind. We ate lunch at High Velocity and the food was great. If you are a sports fan this restaurant will be a true treat. I have never seen so many TV's in a space of that size. For dinner we went to 18Oaks. The food and atmosphere were perfect for a couple celebreating their anniversary. The rooms are lovely and spacious and I love the bathrooms, great tubs. On Sunday morning we enjoyed brunch at 18Oaks. Again, this was wonderful. How can you argue with endless mimosa's. We have stayed at this hotel in the past and the water park and pools are fantastic for sunny days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We usually stay at the Hyatt in the Hill Country when we stay in San Antonio but we got a great deal on Priceline so we just had to try the JW finally. It was a huge property compare to the Hyatt, but still had a similar feel and charm. The property well kept, pools were great fun for my 3 kids age 4, 6 and 8. That kept them busy for hours each day even if was chilly outside - the pools were heated and the kids played in them until they turned blue!

Rooms are nice and updated, food was good at the restaurant and reasonably priced. My only big complaint is that we had come for the Thanksgiving day buffet and it was sold out by the time we got there. Also, the breakfast with Santa buffet was sold out on Saturday. My kids were dissapointed not to see Santa which we always did at the Hyatt. If they suggest you reserve something believe them and do it or you will be stuck out!

Also note that the kids activites are very expensive - almost ridiculously so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.