We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna Get Away?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Helotes, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wanna Get Away?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Oh My God! So Lovely and Beautiful! The pool is awesome and the view from the rooms are so lovely. High Velocity Bar and Grill was delicious! This place is great for the kids in Dec.
They have elves tucking your children in bed at night. You can take pics with them and the cookies and milk is a nice touch. You gotta get away and come stay at the JW Marriott in SA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    322
    101
    33
    32
See reviews for
475
212
24
440
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a massive property, 1002 rooms. We were there for a large group trip, of which I'm sure they do many. Rooms,food, ameneties, decor and service were all excellent. However, if I were not at a group meeting, and not a golfer or seeking a big spa, and I wanted to see San Antonio for the first time, I might look for a hotel on the Riverwalk downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for a conference- hotel was gorgeous, staff incredibly helpful and friendly, food creatively displayed and tasted amazing!!! Loved the lavender lemonade. Room service pricey but I expected that.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our long weekend at this property - spent time in the restaurants and spa - A+ property. A bit isolated, so settle in and enjoy the property. All of the restaurants are fantastic, the staff in the spa is very attentive and the pools are great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Here for a conference, staff was wonderful and food was top notch. The bees by the pool were ridiculous. They were everywhere, so unrelentlous and two of us were stung. Waiters carried fanny packs with special swabs for bee stings and epi pens??? (I'm not kidding) When we asked about the issue, they replied "it's much worse in the summer" Then they made up some story about how it's nature and JW keeps a large hive nearby and collects fresh honey for use in all their cooking. Meanwhile at breakfast there were packets of Smuckers honey. I wasn't really there to sit by the pool, but I was shocked by the bee swarms. These were no honey bees, they were agressive bees. Other than that it is a beautiful property, spa was great and spa lunch was incredible.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a large property with glorious views of the Hill Country and really superb water features. Infinity pool, lazy river, giant hot tub fit for a platoon, kids pool, etc. Large room, great bedding, nice flat screen. One complaint is Internet service. For the premium price paid, there should not be a surcharge. It is a little bit bush league.

The bar downstairs provides generous pours and good munches. There is a fireplace, and another out back. I have had live music in the past, but this was a week day visit as opposed to weekends. The bar is on the level below the lobby.

The steakhouse by the spa has really wonderful food. I had a rib eye and it was excellent. Appetizers were good as well. Much of the food is locally sourced. Really very good.

The staff was friendly, attentive, and professional.

There is a championship golf course which I did not experience, although it looked well kept and maintained from the vantage point of the resort property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved loved loved this hotel.grounds are gorgeous, service is wonderful, and even to my difficult standards, hotel is kept very clean. As platinum members, we were upgraded to an amazing suite that was huge, had views of the golf course and the pools, and was gorgeous overall. The service all over the hotel was super. It reminded us of a classic ritz carlton experience. Kids activities were wonderful, and my boys loved the elves.. Thank you and well done to the hotel management.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.