We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna Get Away?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #10 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helotes, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wanna Get Away?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Oh My God! So Lovely and Beautiful! The pool is awesome and the view from the rooms are so lovely. High Velocity Bar and Grill was delicious! This place is great for the kids in Dec.
They have elves tucking your children in bed at night. You can take pics with them and the cookies and milk is a nice touch. You gotta get away and come stay at the JW Marriott in SA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    346
    108
    37
    35
See reviews for
519
226
25
477
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a massive property, 1002 rooms. We were there for a large group trip, of which I'm sure they do many. Rooms,food, ameneties, decor and service were all excellent. However, if I were not at a group meeting, and not a golfer or seeking a big spa, and I wanted to see San Antonio for the first time, I might look for a hotel on the Riverwalk downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a conference- hotel was gorgeous, staff incredibly helpful and friendly, food creatively displayed and tasted amazing!!! Loved the lavender lemonade. Room service pricey but I expected that.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our long weekend at this property - spent time in the restaurants and spa - A+ property. A bit isolated, so settle in and enjoy the property. All of the restaurants are fantastic, the staff in the spa is very attentive and the pools are great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Here for a conference, staff was wonderful and food was top notch. The bees by the pool were ridiculous. They were everywhere, so unrelentlous and two of us were stung. Waiters carried fanny packs with special swabs for bee stings and epi pens??? (I'm not kidding) When we asked about the issue, they replied "it's much worse in the summer" Then they made up some story about how it's nature and JW keeps a large hive nearby and collects fresh honey for use in all their cooking. Meanwhile at breakfast there were packets of Smuckers honey. I wasn't really there to sit by the pool, but I was shocked by the bee swarms. These were no honey bees, they were agressive bees. Other than that it is a beautiful property, spa was great and spa lunch was incredible.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a large property with glorious views of the Hill Country and really superb water features. Infinity pool, lazy river, giant hot tub fit for a platoon, kids pool, etc. Large room, great bedding, nice flat screen. One complaint is Internet service. For the premium price paid, there should not be a surcharge. It is a little bit bush league.

The bar downstairs provides generous pours and good munches. There is a fireplace, and another out back. I have had live music in the past, but this was a week day visit as opposed to weekends. The bar is on the level below the lobby.

The steakhouse by the spa has really wonderful food. I had a rib eye and it was excellent. Appetizers were good as well. Much of the food is locally sourced. Really very good.

The staff was friendly, attentive, and professional.

There is a championship golf course which I did not experience, although it looked well kept and maintained from the vantage point of the resort property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved loved loved this hotel.grounds are gorgeous, service is wonderful, and even to my difficult standards, hotel is kept very clean. As platinum members, we were upgraded to an amazing suite that was huge, had views of the golf course and the pools, and was gorgeous overall. The service all over the hotel was super. It reminded us of a classic ritz carlton experience. Kids activities were wonderful, and my boys loved the elves.. Thank you and well done to the hotel management.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.