We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 4 day getaway at JW Marriott in San Antonio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Aledo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome 4 day getaway at JW Marriott in San Antonio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

PROS: Check in was quick and seemless. Our room was just like a courtyard. Nothing spectacular but we hardly spent any time in the room. Golf course is beautiful but difficult for the average golfer. Mango towels were very nice. Pool was fantastic for families. Slides were great as was the kids area. Get to the pool EARLY to reserve your spot as space is limited after about 11:30, especially weekends. There are some quiet spots around the pool to unwind as well if you need to get away from the kids. Food was great throughout the resort...Pricing was on par with other resort food. The Buffet restaurant was great...Order off the menu for even better food! Staff around the hotel were very responsive to anything we needed, which was not much. Beds were really comfortable. All sorts of great stuff to do with kids, although some of the activites had fees that went along with them. We kept to the free stuff and the kids were busy throughout. The movie at the pool and the hamster ball was pretty fun!

CONS: Parking is difficult if you do not valet...tough to find a spot within 100 yards of entrance after 5:00PM. Also, be prepared to wait for your orders from the pool bar or restaurants. However, the wait staff always kept us informed and apologized for the delays, which was nice. Resort fee was a little steep...make sure to take advantage of your 2 free drinks.

BOTTOM LINE: We will be going back again!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room viewing the back of the resort, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    318
    101
    33
    32
See reviews for
474
211
24
437
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler,TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

CUSTOMER SERVICE:
fair,lack of enthusiasm was evident by staff upon check in,as
well as staff seemed overwhelmed and not focused on customers

LOCATION:
hill country san antonio approximately 20 minutes away from city

SETTING:
hotel type resort,rooms with small fridges,no microwave,great bathrooms/showers(spacious)

FOOD:
fair for price

CLEANLINESS:
wet swim wear found in my room from previous
occupant

WOULD I RECCOMEND:
only at a discount
new braunfels does a better job at schlitterbahn

TIPS:
nice golf course,decent spa,
pool area nice,staff service at pool horrible,
overwhelmed on weekends

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've sent in 1 review on this hotel but TA hasn't put it up. I think people should know some of this stuff so i'm reposting. First, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and close to nothing. Also, this hotel does not have in-room movies which sucks when you have kids. Most nice hotels have this feature, I was amazed that this very expensive joint had none. There is also no mini-bar in the rooms, which again was quite surprising. The staff was nice, the hotel is nice. the grounds are nice. The pool is very crowded, cabanas are 350 a day. The kids activities are pretty worthless. they're 30 bucks a pop, last 30 minutes and are pretty lame over all. although the staff did offer to loan us a monopoly game to take to our room. we passed on that very bad idea. The restaurants were poorly run and the food was terrible. the wait staff was friendly but inefficient. again the food was terrible. the main restaurant has a buffet, i would not recommend it. i would not recommend any of the food at this hotel at all. this might be a great place to golf and hang out with friends, but for families its not worth the money.

Room Tip: avoid rooms located above the sports bar, unless you like load music alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a business conference when the hotel had just opened for several months. It was nice because everything was brand new and the property was gorgeous and resort-like. However, the downsides were that it lacked southern charm and an experienced staff, which mainly consisted of college kids from nearby colleges off for the summer.

Location-wise, the property is secluded so you'll need a car to get around or be prepared to pay for the taxi. A taxi ride to the Alamo or River Walk is about $50 - $60 dollars. There are several dining options on property, including the Cibolo Moon, which is highly recommended. High Velocity has really good buffalo wings. The hotel also has a list of somewhat nearby restaurants that offer van service to their restaurants. The mexican one (forgot the name) was really really good.

If the price was right, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hill Country, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The new JW Marriott is the newest of three resort hotels in San Antonio--and I think maybe the nicest. The only less-than-desirable aspect, in my opinion, is that it sits on a fairly bald hilltop. While the views are nice, I prefer the shady surroundings of another San Antonio resort. All of the buildings are beautiful inside and out. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. The bathrooms are huge and have a separate shower and tub. The Cibolo Moon Restaurant is the only one I have tried and everything I have had has been quite good. The menu prices are in line with other resort restaurants. My daughter is gluten-intolerant and the food service staff did a great job of accommodating her, even at the banquets we attended. Although there is free parking, I would recommend the valet parking as it is quite an uphill hike from the parking lots to the hotel, and most valet parking is in a parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Don't expect much service when they are near 100% occupancy in the summer. Numerous calls for room service or housekeeping go unfilled. The food at the pool is horrible. Over an hour wait for water floats each day. Many families are cheating the system and getting other family members from nearby in the waterpark. Management needs to figure out who the real customer is and then provide the Marriott service to them. It's not there since it opened last summer. We have been 3 times and will go to the Hyatt till they figure it out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went to the resort for a weekend of R&R and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! We ate in the hotel restaurants (Cibolo Moon and 18 Oaks) Friday and Saturday night. The food and service in both restaurants was excellent. We spent a good part of the day Saturday by the beautiful pool and received excellent service from Heather even though it was 100 degrees! We enjoyed cocktails in the lobby bar (The Crooked Branch) and received great service from Julie and Brian. This is a special place, there is something for everyone. Lots of family friendly activities but a nice couples experience as well. The room was great, it was spacious and very well appointed. I don't think there's a room in the resort with a bad view. The surrounding Hill Country scenery is beautiful. I didn't get to check out the spa this visit so we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.