We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel I've stayed at, and I've stayed at a lot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel I've stayed at, and I've stayed at a lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

So I've been everywhere from San Francisco to Paris and I have to say this hotel is the nicest/largest hotel I've ever experienced. I can't imagine how anyone would have anything bad to say about this place, you must be really hard to please.

First of all, just mouth will drop just driving up to the property. It is so humongous it is obscene. It is only a 20 min drive from SAT airport. The door was always opened for us and the staff was friendly and welcoming. There's a nightly $25 resort fee that includes wifi, 2 $10 drinks at the bar downstairs, access to the tennis courts plus racquets, and access to the spa fitness center classes. If you use all those things it's a great deal, if you don't it could be kind of annoying.

The rooms are about the size you would expect from a JW resort. Not humongous, but definitely a lot of room to stretch out. The bathroom had a standard sized tub and separate shower. I was a little (key word "little") annoyed that I had to call to have a second robe brought up. It would be nice to just have two in the room like most JW's I've stayed in. Our view was fantastic overlooking a small courtyard where a wedding later took place.

The pools are awesome. When you arrive an attendant gives you each two towels. I'm sure it gets packed in the summer, but when we stayed in March we really had our choice of seats. We grabbed some free tubes and went around the lazy river and hit up the waterslide a few times. There are at least 10 lifeguards on duty which is probably really nice for parents with young kids, but for us it was incredibly awkward (on one day there were maybe 50 people tops in the pool)

The sports bar is awesome and has the best tvs ever. Watched the Jazz game and had some delicious hot wings and mini sliders. The property is gorgeous at night and it is a lot of fun taking a walk around the property (it's so big it'll give you a work out). My gf loves Food network, so she thought it was very odd that they had it in the exercise room but not in the actual rooms. Overall, I couldn't have asked for a more romantic place to spend the weekend. This hotel was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    738
    279
    91
    30
    30
See reviews for
418
191
21
381
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Channahon, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Travelled with my dh to a convention at the resort. The king size bed in our room sagged so badly that I woke each morning with my head on the edge of the night stand. When our room was finally cleaned at 6:00 p.m. after the first night, the waste baskets were not emptied and dirty glasses were left in the room. The balcony, while small, had a great view, but the railing was filthy. Of course, dh cleaned it with the sleeves of his sports coat as he was leaning on it enjoying the view! Service is the sports bar was extremely slow. The evening we went we were told there was a 20 minute wait, which was expected on a Saturday night, but we joined friends already seated at a group table and saw lots of empty tables while we were still waiting for our buzzer to let us know there was a table for us? Then when we were seated at our own table, thankfully we had drinks with us, because we sat for a good 10 minutes before a waiter came to take our order. There are many nice sitting spots both inside and out and the adult pool is nicely situated away from all the rambuncious poolies. Overall, for the price, is was just a so-so stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

My sister had her wedding here and it was very beautiful. Great service, top of the line, gorgeous setting. Sick pool, fitness center, and spa. Very serene. Expensive but worth it. The suites are ENORMOUS.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My bill for the breakfast buffet in the Cibolo (4 adults @$20each and 2 children (ages 4 and 7 $8) had an unexpected surprise---An 18% Gratuity of $17.28 added on. Shame on me for not obtaining a menu to read the fine print on the bottom, even though we had already decided on the buffett. Shame on the JW Marriott for this ruthless act. All the server had to do to earn his 18% was remove a a few plates and place a thermos of coffee on the table. We stayed here in 2010 and there was no 18% gratuity added on!

Buyer Beware!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was a fabulous place to stay! You could stay here & never have to leave. It was beautiful & very entertaining. Pools were awesome too!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We are staying here for spring break with our 10 and 12 old. Everything is great. Texas spring break was last week so we missed the crowd! We have the place to ourselves, it's great! Pool is wonderful and food is great. Wish the room was a little bigger.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We spent the last few days of the kid's Spring Break at this newer property in north San Antonio. We loved it overall. The location is off the beaten path, but we liked that. The $25 per night resort fee was kind of ridiculous for the kids who shared a second room.
There were tons of little kids all over the place, so if you are looking for a quiet location, Spring Break may not work for you. Our teens enjoyed the lazy river and slides, as we did. The food and drinks were good and not outrageously priced. The service was good and the staff really tries to accommodate every request. We thought the service by the lazy river was very good.
I would recommend possibly having a wing for families with kids under 10, and possibly another area for families with teens and up. Yes, it is family friendly, but toddlers and teens are very different.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78232-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott San Antonio Resort and Spa is situated in Texas Hill Country in Cibolo Canyons, where crystal clear streams and towering oak and cedar trees meet the majesty of the hills. The elements of authentic roots, hacienda style, beautiful views and healing waters serve as the inspiration in bringing this magnificent resort to life. The world-class resort features 265,000-square-feet of meeting and event space, the 36 hole TPC San Antonio and the sophisticated Lantana Spa. Resort guests will find culinary delights and boutique shopping awaiting them at every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.