We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11426 IH-10 West, San Antonio, TX 78230 (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #141 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 daughters for 2 nights, while visiting relatives in San Antonio. The hotel is very nice and updated. The decor is retro looking. Check-in was quick and efficient and the young man who checked us in was very friendly. We were given a "goody bag" upon check-in with snacks, water, and a welcome note from the hotel manager. I thought this was a nice touch. We stayed on the 4th floor and although the hotel is off the interstate, we had no problems with noise from the road. Our room was a double queen suite and was clean and nicely updated, but was a little smaller than other SpringHill Suites we've stayed in. The room included a sitting area with a sofa, a small table, a desk, and a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. There was a small room with a toilet and small sink and another room with the tub/shower and counter and sink. The hotel does offer a complementary breakfast but we did not eat at the hotel for breakfast. My only minor complaints were that our carpet had a couple of large and very noticeable stains, the bathroom had very low lighting and my husband had to go all the way down to the 2nd floor to find a working ice machine. Again, this is a very nice hotel with very friendly staff and a great value. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    9
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
6
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was a good value and close to perfect except for some little things.
My first impression when I walked in the lobby was "wow, I'm walking into Cinderella's living room." The lobby decor is really weird. Not particularly nice, just weird.
Good: the room was set up a lot different than most rooms. The toilet room was a separate room. The decor was retro with a nice tv, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and interesting lighting. The free breakfast was good, not spectacular, but good with waffles, eggs, sausage, juices and all the other stuff one would expect at a self-serve breakfast bar. It was quiet on the 4th floor. The nightly rate was really low for reserving the day before. I wasn't expecting anything this nice for the price I paid..
Now for the less-than-perfect stuff that is almost expected at any hotel. The toilet seat was about to fall off. (I would expect housekeeping to report this to maintenance). The ice machine for this floor was out of order. Housekeeping was aware of it but I had to put a sign on it, since nobody else bothered. The vanity lighting is poor. The shower water got hot enough but obviously had the scald feature set too low for my liking. There is no night light in the toilet room so if one has to get up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, the main light had to be turned on, flooding the sleeping area with a bright light. Both bathroom doors are sort of in the center of the room and are full length translucent glass. There is really no low light source if someone wants to get up and still be able to see around the room. Again, not a bad deal and I'd still give it a 5 simply because this place was a great value.

Room Tip: For some reason, the rooms with 2 queen beds was less expensive than a single queen bed. We only us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I would have given this hotel an "excellent" rating, but as we were checking out, and eating breakfast, there was a time-share sales person literally hounding patrons as they came out of the elevator, tried to load their cars and while there were anywhere near the front desk. We even told the manager at the front desk that this would not go over well with us, as we are contributors and we will make not of it in our review.

Beyond this incident on our last morning, the rest of the time there was fine. The room was clean and large enough for our crew. There is a small refrigerator and microwave, so you can save left overs from the restaurant and eat them the next day, or keep your drinks cold without storing them in a cooler with ice. The layout was modern and good. There was a handwash sink in the room with the water closet, and another counter with sink in the room with the shower. Each of these rooms had sliding doors, which while a cool feature to the room, did not affort as much privacy as swing doors with gasketing. Not a deal breaker though. I would stay here again without hesitation.

We swam in the pool, which was small, but perfect for the kids. We had it all to our selves the first night, but there were others there the next two nights. Still not crowded or anythhing. Could use a few more adult chairs and tables.

Breakfast includes hot "scrambled eggs" and a side, such as home fried potatoes, or sausage. There are two waffle makers in the shape of Texas. And there is of course, the usual cereals, muffins, bagels, fruit, yogurt, milk and juices. I put the eggs in quotes because they are not really good eggs. They are frozen and come in more of a crumble style and scramble style. I would call them edible, but not good. Everything else was good.

We also found a fantastic rate for this place, so we could not touch it staying anywhere else. It was close to the medical center, which is why we were in town, and it was also close to relatives.

Room Tip: Tell the desk clerk you want a room facing the parking lot. Should be a little quieter, as it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here several nights on a busines trip. Hotel seems pretty new. Modern design inside the lobby, also rooms have a modern diferent lay out. Had a suite which was all good.& clean. Noise from the highway can be an issue so bring earplugs. Breakfast was the usual but fine. Service was friendly. All 'n all it was OK for me and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were set to arrive for thanksgiving but the hotel was overbooked. We had a reservation for two beds but the hotel was oversold and we were placed in a single king. The hotel was noisy, crowded, and for being a supposedly new property it was stained and worn down. The only bright spot were the two desk agents, Toni and Michael, who were very kind to us and did everything to make us comfortable. As an overall hotel, this place sucked, but the staff was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went to San Antonio for Thanksgiving week to spend time with family. Because we knew it was going to be a busy week, we booked our hotel back in September for 1 night. The day we were supposed to check in around 2pm we got a voice mail from the receptionist of this hotel saying that we have been moved to another hotel, he left the address but not even the name of the new hotel, an hour before our check in. Of course we are not locals, so we had no idea where this place was. My husband called them back and of course there was no manager to talk to so it was VERY stressful/frustrating. After 3 calls later we decided to just cancel the reservation because of their horrible customer service. Their excuse was that they overbooked, but it's not fair that we had to go through this because of their incompetency and lack of professionalism. I would never consider this hotel ever again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed at this property multiple times this year for business. The first couple of times it was booked solid and the main area was extremely dirty, sticky floors, etc.. This time around things looked better though it is starting to show some age. The room I was in had torn wallpaper and the shower glass could of been cleaned from the last occupants.

We are required to stay here when visiting our company offices for business, they do offer a farily cheap rate and for what you do pay the value is definitely worth the money.

The one thing we all would like is for the hotel to step in and address the ongoing issues with kids running up and down the halls with no supervision and the use of the pool/hot tubs after hours with everyone screaming, dripping on the floor and making the elevators smell terrible.

We did find some really good restaurants close by, Mama Margies we enjoyed at 1am in the morning after working late. They had some good mexican food and are open 24 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to eliminate any residual noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags

Address: 11426 IH-10 West, San Antonio, TX 78230
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Six Flags, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.