We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay at the Emily Morgan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast and WiFi
Ranked #25 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
2 reviews
“my stay at the Emily Morgan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I like staying at the Emily Morgan Hotel when I go to San Antonio, this is my third stay here and I will stay again, everything is just right, never have I had anything to complain about. The rooms are clean and everything smells fresh. I love the robes they have in the rooms too, in fact I had to get a couple for home. Close to everything in San Antonio around the River Walk and the Alamo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    175
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
153
184
16
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The absolute best location for someone truly wanting the historic Riverwalk experience because the hotel overlooks The Alamo. The rooms are spacious & attractively furnished & the Reception staff is amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great location, on the doorstep of the Alamo and only 5-10min walk to the Riverwalk. Free cookies on check-in, valet parking only as garage is off-site (expect to wait for up to 10mins when collecting your car unless you ring ahead). Rooms are on the smaller side but big enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Emily Morgan is an iconic hotel next to the Alamo. Our stay was splendid. We were upgraded to a junior king suite room. Panoramic views of the city, high ceilings, and a jacuzzi tub were included in the package. We stayed one night. Unfortunately we were on the latter side of the buffet breakfast the next morning (included in our best of Emily package along with valet parking) so it seemed that the pickings were less than spectacular, but it was still adequate.

Great way to stay in San Antonio!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Deaconzach,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you had a splendid stay! I'm glad that you chose the Best of Emily, one of our popular packages for your trip. We will definitely address the slim pickings you found towards the end of the breakfast buffet with the restaurant staff. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope that you will return next time you are in the San Antonio area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just got back from a weekend stay at the Emily Morgan. The hotel is in a fanatstic location next to the Alamo and close to the Riverwalk without being right on top of it so you can get away from the crowds and noise. The hotel is in a beautiful buidling and has a comfortable decor. The rooms are on the smaller side as this is an older hotel but the beds are very comfortable and the room blocks the outside light very well. I would have given the hotel a 4 rating except there were a few issues. The faucet in the bathroom leaked which left the countertop constantly wet. It was very warm and the airconditioning unit did not work properly. When we notified the desk about the unit they sent someone up right away and repaired it but others in our group had the same problem. Another odd thing, the shower curtain was too small for the shower - it was not quite long or wide enough. On our last day one of the elevators was out of service so it took a while to get downstairs to check out as we were on the 12th floor. Before it was out of service the elevators were usually very quick.

This is a lovely hotel, the staff was great just a few minor issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location for not being on the river walk. Most of the staff is sub par and do not follow through on what they have promised. Everyone is friendly, but that doesn't help when you are told you will receive a call when they have completed something and it never happens!! The service in the restaurant is worse than what I would expect from a Chilis or McDonald's for that matter and the food was awful!!! It was a very overpriced meal with crappy service and reason enough to not stay in your hotel again.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

First time to stay at the T.E.M., my room was more than expected, very spacious, and clean. I will be staying again. Enjoyed the cookies every evening. Easy access to the Alamo, River Walk and local resturants.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the Riverwalk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning Oro Restaurant. Take a dip in our newly remodeled outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.