We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! We'll Be Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast and WiFi
Ranked #26 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! We'll Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked into the Emily Morgan with some friends for a quick visit to San Antonio. We were delighted with the property, the cleanliness, and the location. It was great to stay in a place with a little architecutral charm, too. We appreciated that it was right across from the Alamo and was just a few minutes from the Riverwalk. Only complaint is that our air conditioning didn't work very well and our room was too warm. We did mention it to the desk, but it didn't seem like anything was done to get it to work. Parking is quite expensive, so keep that in mind if you are comparing costs with other properies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
MacL,

I agree, it is a great hotel. Thank you for sharing the information on your air conditioner. We have taken it apart, and repaired it, and we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience.

We appreciate your staying with us, and thank you for posting your comments here.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    175
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
153
184
16
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is a very spirited place. If you are adventurous, then book a room in this hotel.
Overall, the beds are extremely comfortable; the bathroom is not very private and the service providers were helpful.

Room Tip: If you want to seek extra attractions, book a room on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Michele F,

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking time to share your experience. Our 14th floor is actually in the roof line with unique windows, angled exterior walls, and are very special hotel rooms. These rooms are our larger king rooms, with sofa sleepers, and some of my favorite in the hotel.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Welcoming staff....beautiful room...great bartender (Thanks, David!) A stone's throw away from the Alamo and Riverwalk. Had the pleasure of meeting the GM, Chris Johnson and Director of Sales, Brent Hartman....great guys and geniunely concerned about their guests. Our conference hit during the same time as the delivery of the "William Barrett Travis Letter"...Chris supplied us with expedited passes to tour the Alamo--(would have been a roughly 2 hour wait). Folks, you can't lose with this splendid hotel! And Chris, per the conversation, responding with a joke or ha-ha to ratings is great....good luck to you all and let your staff know that they were superb!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Julieanne64,

A mushroom walked into ORO sat down and ordered a drink... Our bartender David said to him, I am sorry we don't serve your kind here... The mushroom looked back at David and said why not? I'm a fungi...

It was a pleasure meeting you, and I am so glad you got to see the letter, and thank you again for staing with us!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

just checked in at this hotel after staying 2 nights in another hotel on the Riverwalk. the other hotel was more expensive but looks like a motel 6 with a bad smell. this place is amazing it's beautifully decorated and we had the kindest people helping us. we were going to leave first thing in the morning but now I've decided to have a leisurely morning and enjoy this hotel to its fullest. it's amazing that Chris Johnson the general manager gives you his cell number for concerns questions about the Alamo or anything else you want to talk to him about. we hope we get to meet him while we're here if not we want him to know we had a great time. our son is a soldier at the Air Force Base so we know will be visiting again and this will be the hotel we choose!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
fivelimes,

First let us say thank you for your son's service, we all truly appreciate those keeping us safe, and the courageous efforts of the men and women in uniform. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and sorry I did not get a chance to meet you.

I do put my cell in the room, as we can never be perfect in our service delivery, but I feel strongly if given a chance, we can be perfect in our service recovery!

We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Emily Morgan for the first time after visiting Downtown San Antonio for over 30 years. My husband was quite fond of the warm chocolate chip cookies we received at check in. I booked the room online, and requested the corner suite. It was a nice room with a living area and a large jacuzzi tub. I especially liked the dressing table area that was separate from the rest of the bathroom. Although I called to ask about the privacy of the room with all it's windows, we noticed, as we walked outside, one CAN see into the bathroom, so keep the shades closed! The bed was comfortable, the couch/hide-a-bed was adequate for our son. We made use of the small refrigerator and bar sink. There was plenty of storage cabinets and drawers. The jacuzzi tub was also a nice touch, but we found out after going to bed it was a self-cleaning jacuzzi, and is rather loud! It kept turning on several times for about an hour after we used it.
I saw where another guest's review commented on the elevator situation, so I will, too. There were two or three school groups staying at the hotel at the same time, and we had a difficult time getting on the elevator, being that each time the door opened, it was packed with kids. Also, we found out that some of them thought it great fun to ride it up and down, pushing all the buttons. Perhaps hotel security could be tightened up a bit when these large groups are in house. We gave up and took the stairs (dirty and scary) and ended up in the kitchen!
The outside of the hotel is very interesting architecturally. The lobby is well appointed and there are displays of artifacts from old San Antonio featured throughout. Situated across from the Alamo, the street in front of the hotel was busy, but the double paned windows helped block out noise.
Overall a nice stay, and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner suite for a larger room and great bathroom, and view. The higher floors will offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
TexasLibraryLady,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your comments. I agree it was tough with the groups to get on and off the elevators. We are renovating our stairwells, but we are not all the way there yet, as you noticed...

Your experience is not typical of the hotel with our elevators. They are actually new, and cutting edge technology, but with the amount of group, we were overwhelmed. That said, we don't typically do group like that, and moving forward, will not be creating this experience for our guests.

We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The room was immaculate. Service of the staff was on point of the duties. Their kindness was very much appreciated and added comfort to my stay. I had a beautiful view of downtown and an overlook of a beautiful garden with palm trees. White horse carriages awaited across the street for romantic rides throughout the day and evening. This will definitely be the only hotel in San Antonio I make reservations at.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
MelG25Austin,

So I have to agree, the Alamo grounds are absolutely fantastic! It really is special around here at night with the carriages lit up across the street, in front of the Alamo wall.

Thanks for sharing your comments, and for recognizing the teams efforts, I will make sure I pass that along to the folks here.

C'mon back anytime!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Emily Morgan during a music convention as it was the hotel where my daughter's performance choir was staying. I was expecting musty and old fashioned but the property has been recently updated and was decorated in an airy, Texas chic style. The staff at the bell desk and check-in were all consistently helpful. We ate in the Oro restaurant onsite a couple of times and were pleased with the menu variety and pricing. The best thing the hotel offers aside from its historical vantage is the superb location next to the Alamo. It was extremely central to be able to get to locations on the Riverwalk, at the convention center and all the surrounding activities. The only downside I have to comment on is regarding the elevators. I understand we were staying there when the elevators were inundated with large groups at times, but they seemed to have an out of date programming logic in making sure they went to each floor efficiently. Otherwise I would say that we did not regret the premium price point for this hotel.

Room Tip: Fun to take the carriage rides at night around the city and you can pick them up right across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
HVlgFam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. I think your description nailed our designers vision, so gotta love that.

Sorry about the elevators. We typically don't, and will not moving forward, do such large groups as to inconvenience our guests. For that, I am truly sorry.

Thanks for choosing us here in San Antonio as your home away from home.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the Riverwalk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning Oro Restaurant. Take a dip in our newly remodeled outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.