We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to stay Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel) (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Texas Family Fun
Ranked #29 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Downey, California
1 review
“Awesome Place to stay Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were in San Antonio for the Inaugural HERO-THON Half Marathon, and to celebrate my wife's birthday. Mariah was awesome at the desk, friendly smile, exceptional customer service. Kudo's to Jessica at the bar, who knew how to make some awesome drinks. All in all, I would recommend the Emily Morgan, not just because of the well kept rooms, but the fantastic customer service from all their staff members...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Mike P,

First thank you for staying with us, we truly appreciate your choosing us! Thank you for the kind words about our team, and for recognizing Jessica and Mariah.

We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    130
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
112
131
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I got a great rate on Priceline for this hotel. Short walk to the Riverwalk and right across the street from the Alamo. Parking was pricey at $30 per night. The only negatives where that a fire door at he end of the hall was propped open by an old rag and the hallway smelled like a wet dog.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
ParkTraveler,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience. I agree we have one of the best locations in San Antonio. We are just finishing up our construction, and have spoken to them about propping open doors with rags, that said, not sure if they were the ones smelling like the wet dog!

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Started off with valet parking, came out to 28 dollars a day. You can probably find public parking at 10 dollars a day, but your car will be be further from your view. My wife and I heard there was a good restaurant downstairs called oro, but we did not go. It is about half a block away from the Alamo. Our hotel was also less than a block from all of the entertainment of the river walk.

Room Tip: We heard the seventh floor is haunted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
krystalstravels,

Thank you for staying with us. There are in fact a number of overnight self park lots downtown, and within four blocks of the hotels. The prices do vary, but are a bit more of a value than we can offer. I am sorry you were not able to make it to ORO to eat, but please check out the Food Network's program Chef Wanted with Anne Burrell February 21st! Our Executive Chef Chris Cook will be on the show.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience, and for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I like many other travelers reviewed the Emily Morgan hotel before I booked it. I must say that as a regular traveler, this hotel is one of the better ones I have stayed in ( I normally stay at the Westin Riverwalk). Its location is hard to beat, the staff were great. The Manager was seen almost every time I walked in and out of this hotel making sure that everything was perfect. My room was a little small, but I didn't expect anything else given the age and shape of this building. It was well appointed with modern decor and had free internet. Breakfast buffet was nice, staff again were terrific in offering their service and ensuring you had anything you need. I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Divedeepbaby,

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. As you pointed out, we do have various sized rooms due to the unique architecture of our hotel. That said, we offer what's called a larger king room type, which are actually good sized and all have sofas in them for additional seating.

Also, thank you for pointing out the fact that you saw me! Me and my team really do enjoy what we do, and are working hard to ensure we are exceeding every guests expectations, every time.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just returned home, which is in San Antonio by the way, from our "getaway" to celebrate my wife's birthday. We loved our stay at The Emily Morgan and will defiantely be returning! The staff did a great job and were always polite and helpful. Having them remember our name and always asking if they could be of assistance was so nice! They got us a cab to take us to dinner the first night as well as giving us a coupon for a free appetizer at the Charter House restaurant.

The room was very nice, 1403 with the sitting area and king bed. The bed was soooo comfortable, probably the best we have ever had in a hotel. The bathroom was clean, well laid out, and the shower was very nice and tall. We loved sitting on the couch and watching t.v. instead of having to sit on the bed. To top it off, we had the Alamo below us and a great view of downtown.

The nicest thing though was when i left my I-Pad in the room! My wife called and they had it ready to pick up when we got back to the hotel. Again, what a top notch staff! We will recommend this hotel to everyone we know coming to San Antonio!

Room Tip: Stay up high for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Ken_and_Pam_Anstead,

Thank you for spending the weekend with us, we are thrilled ya'll had a good time. We truly appreciate your staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we were driving across the country from Boca Raton, FL to San Diego, CA. We booked the hotel on Priceline, and were incredibly impressed with the value. We had a lovely, completely renovated room. The bathroom was really nicely done, and the room very comfortable and large with 2 double beds. We had a very nice view of the Alamo from our 4th floor room. We were greeted with cookies at check-in, and the staff were incredibly friendly at all times. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. San Antonio (and the Emily Morgan) made a great impression on us. We want to come back. Based on some recent yelp reviews that I read, it is possible that some rooms have not yet been renovated. So if you are very particular, you may want to ask nicely at check-in for a renovated room. Every staff person I met made a super friendly, accommodating impression. We did not make any special request, and got a great room.

We did not pay for valet parking. Instead, when we arrived in the evening, we parked on the street 1.5 blocks away for free. We went out in the morning and paid the meter ($0.25/hr) for 5hrs (the max, I believe). On-street parking was abundant when we visited.

BTW, the other hotels we stayed at on our cross-country trip: Courtyard by Marriott Pensacola (good), Marriott French Quarter New Orleans (very good), Courtyard by Marriott NASA Houston (outstanding), Holiday Inn express Carlsbad NM (OK room, friendly staff, nice breakfast), Wyndham Westward Look Tucson (outstanding). We "pricelined" all hotels day-by-day as we drove, paying about $60/night for everything other than the Carlsbad property, which was $120 on priceline.

Room Tip: Renovated room with view of the Alamo is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
VnJnAnJ,

Thank you so much for the very kind words about the team, and the hotel. We are completely finished with our rooms renovations, so rest assured, if you pass back by, we will have a warm chocolate chip cookie with walnuts, and a brand new room waiting for you.

We wish you safe travels, and if you don't mind, post some travel pictures to our Facebook page, The Emily Morgan Hotel a DoubleTree by Hilton!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We bid this room on priceline for $75/night over the pre-Christmas weekend. With tax, the total came to $95 which was of excellent value. The location cannot be beat- right next to Alamo, and within walking distance to Riverwalks. The room is super clean, and the hotel is remodeled and is in excellent condition.
I am surprised by all the bad reviews regarding this hotel. I personally find this hotel to be excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Poyee T,

Thank you for staying with us over the Holidays, and I must say, I like the way you think! Honestly I can tell you our renovations have come out even better than I could have imagined, and we appreciate your taking the time to share.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#29 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the Riverwalk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning Oro Restaurant. Take a dip in our newly remodeled outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.