We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old school style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmount

Save Saved
You added The Fairmount to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmount
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“old school style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here and was amazed at the size of the suite for the great bargain price. Also the restaraunt has fantastic food and drinks and excellent service. Located right next to LaVillita and a short walk to the Riverwalk or the Tower of the Americas. The suites are very large and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell E, General Manager at The Fairmount, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again!!Thank You Russell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    13
    11
    24
See reviews for
11
26
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weslaco, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Booked hotel for event, it was cancelled due to weather. We arrive and room not ready. We walk into room is smaller and no balcony as booked but only one available. Room is really stuffy a/c not working. Advise front desk clerk sounds lost on what to do but calls maintenance. we sight see for three hours to give chance for repairs. We return and have to wait a bit more. Finally get to settle in room. No frig, after paying $295 before tax, need to pay extra $25 if we want little frig. We were traveling with two kids so we paid. Horrible lighting used flaslight most of the evening. Room was still stuffy slept with door kept open with trash can. Hotel does not offer breakfast does have attached restaurant but already felt we overpaid for room didn't want to gamble anymore. Hotel was pretty, kind of outdated but pretty. Other than having a dog who lives in lobby who serves as mascot nothing special. Informed front desk of my unpleasant stay and was given a reluctant apology. Asked for manager clerk handed me business card. (Found out later she was a mgr, think assistant) Called number provided for 1 week straight, always got voicemail left messages. Never contacted me. I would not recommend this overpriced hotel. With our busy schedule, hard to get away and was very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell E, General Manager at The Fairmount, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for staying at our hotel .Its sounds like it wasn't pleasant and I apolagize for your stay.I really would like to here the troubles with your stay so I can address the issues you encountered.If you would be so kind as to give me a call at the hotel.(210)224-8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful building great location, but desperately needs upkeep. We had a suite (350 a night) and upon checking in our bathroom was still dirty, the room was a pet room (which we had no pets) the carpets were very heavily stained and soiled. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The manager came in to change sheets and bring towels (all staff was very nice and tried their best). For some reason they do not keep housekeeping on staff all day (and it shows).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

They upgraded us to Veranda Suite, after our designated room and every other room we looked at was infested with huge crickets. All the furniture was old, like going to grandma's house, ill fitting doors sunken cushions etc. Had to run water to dissipate rust. Nice robes, ok service, bed lumpy. Luke the mascot was charming.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is an old historical hotel. I came to the hotel with 2 friends and it was a very pleasant experience. A brief problem with the toilet flushing but soon corrected. Ordered wine and it was delivered within 30 minutes of our arrival and was on ice. Extra towels ordered and they were delivered within 30 minutes. The second night we ordered ice to our room and it never came.
The rooms were clean, wonderful pillows. Robes are provided. When our car was ordered it was promptly brought in.
We stayed in an upgrades suite and the rooms were lovely.
Some outside renovation needs to be done as paint is peeling around most of the windows. The evening staff were very nice and gave us recommendations of places to eat and night spots to go to.
We had a great time and will go back when in San Antonio!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Absolutely awful hotel room. Old, dirty, hair dryer positioned next to the sink, worn out furniture and stained bedding, smelled unpleasant - all made worse by the fact that we had booked a newly refurbished room. Incredibly expensive and when I wrote to the hotel to complain - twice -they didn't have the courtesy to respond - not even an acknowledgement. One definitely to be avoided!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

this hotel would have gotten a full 4-5 stars for me, but when i booked the room they stated that the valet parking was free for bookings in the presidential suite (which i booked in part to take advantage of that amenity). when we were checking out, they refused to honor what the staff had said and i ended up being charged $84 extra for valet. it's really a shame when businesses refuse to honor these kinds of statements, implying that the customer fabricated it somehow. it ruined an otherwise wonderful trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount

Address: 401 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmount 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, European-style hotel built in 1906 and located on San Antonio's River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Fairmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmount Hotel San Antonio
Fairmount San Antonio
Fairmount Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.