We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out door life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Botanical Garden

San Antonio Botanical Garden
555 Funston, San Antonio, TX 78209
210 207 3250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 196 attractions in San Antonio
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A wide range of plants from Texas and around the world spread out over 33 acres.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Out door life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

you need see this place in the spring .great place for a stroll in the sun or take the kids for some out door fun

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    113
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Only If You Have Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's a beautiful place and a nice part of a trip to San Antonio but I'd recommend it only if you really have the time. I wasn't too overwhelmed, particularly by the "special exhibit", which was so small that I literally walked past it twice. But coverall it was nice and reasonably priced if you spend a couple hours. It's especially nice in the evening, when it's cooler and not busy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I came here twice, one on the month of May/June and the other in October. Both times were very enjoyable, but it was very hot in May/June whereas October was very pleasant. During both times, there was so much to see, and I think going to walk around the pond was my favorite part. The geese were a little scary when they were squawking at me and coming closer, but the ducks were very cooperative when I was snapping their portraits. There's also a children's garden, zen garden, scent garden, and tropical garden. There are benches all over the place to rest or take it all in. The trellis canopies were gorgeous in bloom. I had a great time in both of my visits.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Botanical Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I have visted many gradens in many states and this one ranks near the top. Clean, well taken care of and layed out for easy navigation. As a bonus, the onsite cafe is very good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Late summer visit to SABOT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was in San Antonio the first week of August 2013. We were there for three and a half days and made the most of the visit to this historical and beautiful city. My first visit in 2012 was nice, but extremely hot and the plants were suffering from the heat and not much color to speak of. This trip was very different. It's Texas, it's still hot, but that week was tolerable and so much color and so much to see that I was compelled to make a second visit the next day. I bought several packets of seeds to bring back to Houston with me. Both visits were at least two hours or longer and I only left when I was exhausted from all the walking. I went solo, so I wanted to see it all so I practically power walked throughout the property which is massive in ways that I couldn't imagine until I walked it. There is so much to see that I missed alot on the first visit, but happy that I came back to catch the rest of it. The second day I found the bird viewing area and the nature trail. The nature trail has a ranking according to difficulty. Trail 1 was packed dirt or fine gravel so wheelchairs would have no problems. Trail 2 can be reached halfway through Trail 1 and is thickly laid mulch making it a very cushy walk yet difficult to push wheelchairs through. Trail 2 follows the border of a lake that has several benches all facing the lake and a rustic cabin close to where Trail 2 ends and Trail 1 picks up again. I can go on all day and would love to, but this place is something you need to see for yourself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Antonio Botanical Garden to your Saves list