We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo IMAX Theatre

Alamo IMAX Theatre
849 E. Commerce St., In the Rivercenter Mall, San Antonio, TX 78205-3910 (Downtown)
210-247-4629
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book Now
Ranked #5 of 47 Fun & Games in San Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the legendary Alamo: The Price of FreedomThe crystal clear images and wraparound sound of IMAX thrills in a way no ordinary theatre can. Six stories high & 83 feet wide, the screen pulls you in!Experience the legend of the Alamo at IMAX prior to visiting the Alamo shrine- see Alamo: The Price of Freedom on the giant screen.The theatre complex also boasts an IMAX 3D screen playing the latest hits.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Educational show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very educational show on the Alama. After touring the Alamo, this IMAX was even more interesting. Look for a coupon in one of the travel brochures.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    68
    32
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florham Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend seeing this before you visit the Alamo. A bit over dramatized and given the lack of eyewitness accounts, perhaps not totally accurate, but a reasonable representation to create the context of what happened at the Alamo.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice short movie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Gives you a history lesson that helps understand the importance of the Alamo. Movie is only 45 minutes long and is well done.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Watching history come alive - well maybe. The Alamo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I've rated the IMAX as being a very good attraction instead of excellent for one due to one reason. That being the film of the Alamo. I question the historical accuracy of movie, but I guess everyone has their own beliefs as to what took place within the Alamo walls on March 6, 1836. I must say the actors and special effects were no less than outstanding. All in all it was a great experience in both sight and sound. My wife and I attended the movie on more than one occasions and most likely we'll go again because we've moved near SA. we'll also take visitors to see it as well. If you've never been to an IMAX be prepared for a one of a kind experience no matter what movie you see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsons Station, TN
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“See The Alamo Before The Alamo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We saw The Alamo movie after we went to the Alamo and wished we did it the other way around. Seeing the film makes the experience more meaningful. There are negative reviews for this movie. I think they were expecting a cinematic masterpiece. This isn't, but it is a great story of the Alamo brought to life on the big screen, an important part of Texas history. Go and enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo IMAX Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Alamo IMAX Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo IMAX Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.