We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best onion rings ever - even better than mine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Time Charlie's Bar and Grill

Good Time Charlie's Bar and Grill
2922 Broadway Street, San Antonio, TX 78209
210-828-5392
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 4,197 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best onion rings ever - even better than mine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ate out on what may have been a porch at one time which made for good people watching. We split a plate of onion rings because the order is so huge, and they are so tender and good they are better than mine. I had the jalapeno queso chicken sandwich and my dad had the same but with a burger instead of chicken, and my mom had the fried mushrooms (which were also splendid) and we could not eat it all, there was just so much good food.

The service was good, the atmosphere was funky, and the food was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good burgers in a neat atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were seated in the porch area of the restaurant which has a neat atmosphere. I had the bacon cheeseburger, which was good, but not the best in town. The fries do not come with the burgers, you must buy them separately- the fries there are average,I wouldn't get them again. The onion rings do stand out though, and we thoroughly enjoyed them.Beers are $5 a bottle, expensive for a burger joint. Their frozen margaritas were not good at all, we could not drink them- not sure what they use as their mix and the texture was very grainy , not smooth as you would expect them to be. The waitress was kind enough to remove them from our bill. I'm not sure I would return to this restaurant, as there are plenty of other burger places in San Antonio that deliver a better burger and much better fries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great old-timey atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had burgers and onion rings at Good Time Charlie's. While the burgers were good, they weren't my favorite (they weren't greasy enough, so I'm sure that's why many people love them!). Onion rings were really tasty...the breading was just right. We were seated in the "porch" area and it was a great, summery atmosphere. Our waitress was happy and pleasant and efficient and we really liked her (I wish I remembered her name ... but I do remember that she had fun, bright red hair!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rude server”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our waitress was so rude, clearly we were putting her out just by our very presence. My husband and I were visiting for the weekend and my brother in law wanted to eat here because of the chicken fried steak. My husband did not like his - said it was just ok. I was rushed to order so got the grilled cheese sandwich. It was burned black on the outside but I dared not say a word!
I only had water to drink (another annoyance for her) and the water tasted awful!
I will not be back. Ever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good times had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I frequented Charlie's when I was attending school up the road at Incarnate Word. It was the spot for late night dining after rehearsals and where we would converge after opening night for pitchers of Shiner Bock. I still dream about their cream gravy, which paired perfectly with their delectable chicken strips. The staff was friendly and efficient, and knew us as reliable customers, even if we were poor students.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Time Charlie's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Good Time Charlie's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Time Charlie's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.