We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a family on vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6809 North Loop 1604 West, San Antonio, TX 78249 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Northwest) (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #46 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a family on vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were a little concerned since this hotel was very inexpensive and thought it might be noisy. We had a family of 4 with 2 kids 7 and 9. However we found it to be clean and very quiet. The hotel is close to Fiesta Texas and La Canterra. It is good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear easygo,
We are so glad your family enjoyed staying at our hotel and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in San Antonio soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    51
    30
    5
    12
See reviews for
95
26
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is certainly a nice hotel with a very pleasant outside area. Unfortunately we ran into some personnel untrained or being trained on the job. We got wrong information about friends we expected in the hotel and the breakfast table service meant well but was very insecure. The breakfast itself was okay and well presented but to be special an extra fee applied.
The rooms were equipped to standard but the air condition was a nuisance as it developed substantial noise when starting the compressor and the wall mounted controls displayed temperatures that were not in coordination with the air condition unit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We found this place to be close to Six Flags. The price wasn't bad but it was suppose to be a nonsmoking room but it definitely wasn't. It was very strong and they couldn't give me another room because they were booked. Too bad they didn't compensate us for having a stinky smoke room. I won't stay here again. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear adventurermom,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on our hotel with us. We're glad to hear you found our location convenient and close to 6 Flags, however regret to hear you found your room to smell of smoke. I have passed this comment on to the rest of the hotel management team so we may look into this and resolve moving forward. We hope you will give our hotel another chance next time you visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We travelled from Australia and found this hotel out of the San Antonio CBD next to a huge shopping centre and six flags park. The rooms were very clean and well equipped contrary to another review of this hotel. Clearly we arrived when things were at their best. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The pool was OK although a bit small so go early in the morning. The gym was well equipped. It's a great place to stay at reasonable prices and we used it as a hub for day trips. But the greatest surprise of all was the chef's ability to cook Mexican food beautifully. We had the whole range of tacos from steak to pork to tilapia an excellent fish and they were just fantastic. We even went back for the second night rather than try all the ho hum standard take out places which dot the highways serving fatty food. The food at Four Points was fresh, well cooked and we thought the chefs tacos were one of the wonders of the modern world. The deserts were also excellent. The staff member serving us was friendly and could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was good and very reasonable. Have the Mexican eggs a variety of scrambled eggs which were excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Nadebaum,
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences of our hotel with us. We are thrilled to hear you found out hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you came such a far way to stay with us! Most of all, its great that you enjoyed our restaurant Sabor, and found our chef's Mexican dishes outstanding. San Antonio is one of the greatest places for fresh Tex Mex and we are so glad you tried our restaurant and loved our Mexican dishes. We hope you will return to San Antonio and stay with us again when you do - we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very Clean and the Hotel staff was great. Very close to Six Flags. The Breakfast was good but average, ate there once in my three day stay. Will book again if the price is right! The outside area is very nice and have Happy Hour specials daily. Pool is small but was expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pretty location. Hair in bathroom. Disorganized breakfast buffet--not good. Cold eggs. No biscuits. Greasy bacon. Staff ignored us until we tried to get coffee. Said THEY would serve us? No soap or shampoo in bathroom. Chef admonished us for entering buffet the wrong way. Worst part was noisy ac and very smelly pillows. No remote in room.

Only good part was pretty location with deer in the bushes so close to the property and they brought remote quickly. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear TravelingAustinite,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with us. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay and want to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. I have passed your comments along to the rest of the hotel management team so we may look into these issues further and resolve moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel conveniently located near great shopping and the Six Flags park. I had a group of 17 stay here for a business trip and was very pleased with the guest rooms and the helpfulness of the hotel staff. The breakfast buffet exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend it for meetings or personal stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear lpswift,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and that you found our hotel accommodating to your group. We hope to see you all bask very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera

Address: 6809 North Loop 1604 West, San Antonio, TX 78249 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#33 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden near La Cantera Parkway is a luxury hotel near Six Flags Fiesta Texas, the Shops at La Cantera, UTSA Campus, Valero Corporate Headquarters, the Alamo, and many golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton San Antonio Northwest Hotel San Antonio
4 Points By Sheraton San Antonio Northwest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.