We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Motel or Hotel ?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6809 North Loop 1604 West, San Antonio, TX 78249 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Northwest) (Northwest Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #55 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Motel or Hotel ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided to go to Sea World to celebrate Christmas and New years. While looking for a hotel around Sea World San Antonio, and since I usually prefer staying at a Starwood property, I came across this hotel to stay for 4D/3N. It was a disappointment.

The first night we stayed, the air conditioner/heater broke, so we just decided to stay under the blanket in a cold San Antonio night. We informed the front desk that our heater did not turn off/on the next morning and that we spent the whole night in the cold under the blanket and she said she will have someone look into it.

As with the other reviews, the housekeeping was terrible. I have never stayed in a starwood property with this low level of service. Most starwood property I stayed in had great housekeeping service, but this hotel is definitely an exception. The first night we arrived, the shampoo is half empty, the next day, we thought well, they should replace the toiletries anyway but Noooo!!, they never did. So we called the 3rd day to housekeeping to ask them to replace the toiletries only to be asked - which one do we need ? They are definitely very stingy when it comes to toiletries, so better bring your own if you stay in this hotel.

Another reason why I would give the housekeeping 0 star is the cleanliness of the room. We have a daughter that stayed with us and she had some chocolates and smudged some of it in the pillow and the bedsheets the first night, when we came back from Sea World, the room was cleaned up the the chocolate smudges were still very much there in both the pillows and bedsheets. We called housekeeping again and made sure they changed it, but they informed that they will change the next day.

Towels - first day, there were 4 towels, 2nd day, 3 towels, by the 3rd day, there were only 2 towels. Again, have to call housekeeping.

I have to ask myself, who is the housekeeping manager ? is this a starwood property ? am I staying at motel 8?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus M, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor. The cleanliness of the hotel and guest rooms is a top priority at the Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Northwest. Based on your comments we have made some adjustment to our housekeeping procedure to make sure we provide our guest with a great stay. We apologize for the experience you had at the property and hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    56
    32
    7
    12
See reviews for
104
26
11
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Centrally located in downtown San Antonio and at a great price. Even left my phone and the staff turned it in and are mailing it home for me. Very clean room and walking distance to main parts of down town. Recommend it and will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel was very nice & rooms were great. It was very close to La Cantera shopping center & right across from UTSA. The bar was very nice & staff were great, especially the bartender. Such a nice young man! The outdoor patio was great. Great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I took a group of nine students and a parent chaperone to San Antonio for the National High School Journalism Convention. Our stay at Four Points went very smoothly. We were pleased with the size of the rooms which allowed us to hold nightly meetings comfortably. The price per night was nearly $100 cheaper than the convention center hotel. The staff was extremely helpful in making the arrangements for the stay. I couldn't have asked for a better buffet breakfast. All of the picky students were able to find something they liked. I ate bacon and eggs every morning. The pineapple wasn't the best but that's a minor complaint. No, this hotel is NOT on the Riverwalk, but it is only a few blocks South, right next to the convention center. We took the trolly over to eat at Mi Tierra's in the farmer's market area, otherwise we walked everywhere else. My parent chaperone did have an issue with her room smelling like smoke but the staff was able to move her to a different room without a problem. The bed was a tad hard and the trash truck woke me up in the middle of the night one night, but otherwise it was a great visit. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has great services and really clean rooms. The beds are enough confortable and the bathroom has it all. If you want a place near La Cantera is the greatest place ti be because of the combination between price and location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I really loved my stay on Four Points. I would definitely recommend it!
Excellent for those who demand a clean room with a lovely decoration. The plus?? Free wi-fi
Although I did not have the chance to use the pool, the whole area looked very nice. Will definitely be back on summer to try it out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is fine. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool was small but ok for kids. The rooms were spacious and had lots of ports to plug in all our electronic goodies. The location was convenient. I just wish they had a fridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera

Address: 6809 North Loop 1604 West, San Antonio, TX 78249 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#64 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden near La Cantera Parkway is a luxury hotel near Six Flags Fiesta Texas, the Shops at La Cantera, UTSA Campus, Valero Corporate Headquarters, the Alamo, and many golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Antonio Northwest
Four Points By Sheraton San Antonio Northwest Hotel San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.