We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, with a few flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sazo's Latin Grill

Sazo's Latin Grill
101 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
2105546180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #609 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Tapas, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Commerce
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Convenient, with a few flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sazo's is conveniently located in the Marriott Rivercenter, which allows for business meetings and meeting up with friends. I would recommend ordering from the menu rather than the buffet, which seems a bit pricy considering the selection and quality. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and accommodated many of our wishes, including reducing the volume of the music. I would suggest to the managers to not play music at all, it would be better for having conversations during meals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place, especially for a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I ate breakfast and lunch here while staying at the Marriott Rivercenter Hotel. Breakfast, although pricier than I like, was worth it. There is a beautiful buffet, but I opted for something off menu. I ordered the scrambled eggs with ham and it was REALLY good. I went back the next day for the same. The service is wonderful and it was just a really nice way to start my day.

Today we had lunch there and it was more of the same. They didn't have the Latin food, but standard general fare. I just got nachos and they were good, but the best part was the service. We lingered for quite some time and (it was the middle of the afternoon, so not busy) the staff did not seem to care how long we talked (business meeting). They checked on us occasionally, brought us drink refills, and were totally patient.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Location and Service in the Marriott Riverwalk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Sazo's is not a restaurant that you would make a special trip for, but its convenient location, good service, and reasonably priced food make it a good place to catch breakfast or lunch if you're staying at the Marriott on business. While in San Antonio on business recently I stayed at the Marriott Riverwalk and ate a handful of meals at Sazo's. The staff was consistently friendly, helpful, and attentive, and the food leaves nothing to complain about. Overall, it's a nice addition to the comprehensive service provided to business guests at the hotel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Name has Change..in Marriott.. Okay for Quick Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Okay folks..if staying at the Marriott--this place can not figure out what it is or is not. When we visited, the Latin Grill has been removed and not replaced. The decor stays the same....Marriott needs to figure out what it wants done with this space and do it.

Now for good points--we had lunch there..right before taking advantage of late check out--crab salad was simply terrific...salmon salad was the same. Wait serivce was friendly, attentive, and informative.....

\But, this places needs a definition as to what it wants to be..and how to get there. With so much competition around, unless it does so..it will remain as it is..a shot in the dark

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dinner okay, breakfast great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We actually ate here twice. The first time was for dinner. There were not very many patrons in the restaurant at any point while we were there. Our server was attentive, but service was slow, especially given the lack of others dining. The food was pretty good, but wasn't anything to write home about.

We did decide to eat breakfast there though because of recommendations we received from others. This was AMAZING. We all opted for the buffet which did not disappoint. Made to order pancakes, waffles, and omelets, various breads, meats, fruits, cereals. Everything we had was great. The cost was a bit high, but it was a good meal. I would definitely recommend it for breakfast to others.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sazo's Latin Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sazo's Latin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sazo's Latin Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.