We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North St Mary's, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in December 2012 for a "Girl's Night Out" on the San Antonio Riverwalk. Our room was perfect for 4 and had a second room with a couch and television to hang out in. The free appetizers and drinks in the evening were not great but hey they were free! You are limited to three cocktails per person. Very close to all the nightlife!! Had a great time and will be back this month for my daughter's birthday with 6 teenage girls!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    252
    61
    35
    8
See reviews for
229
283
15
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first experience with the Drury hotel chain and a good experience at that. Clean rooms, plenty of extras and a very accommodating staff. Free extras include a hot breakfast daily (get there early in the morning if you want a seat), WiFi, Kickback snacks at 5:30 (could be a meal if you like macaroni and cheese , chicken wings and hot dogs), and three alcoholic beverages from 5:30 to 7:00. What made this location great was that it was right on the Riverwalk. We could walk out the bottom door of the hotel and not have to cross any streets. I would recommend paying the extra $10 a night for a room with balcony overlooking the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We brought my 91 year old Grandmother to this hotel. There were 4 of us girls so we wanted two rooms with a door between and a balcony view. I called ahead and asked if they had adjoining rooms and they said yes. I went online and booked two adjoining rooms with a balcony view. When we arrived we were told by the manager that the rooms were not called adjoining but connected. She said "we'll, you are not familiar with the hotel industry and probably don't know that is called a connected room." I am aware what they are called....look it up in the dictionary. She said that adjoining rooms could mean across the hall from each other. NOT! I was not happy when she said there were NO connecting rooms available. We had to be next to each other. Ok, fine. We get upstairs and there is a door in my room going to another room not belonging to my Grandmother and I never heard anyone in that room. Aside from that experience, it was a nice hotel, clean, on the river walk, they have a nice breakfast included and enough food in the evening that we didn't even have to go to dinner. The beds were VERY comfortable and the rooms very quiet. I would stay again but know now that I have to be very specific with the definition of adjoining because it doesn't mean the same thing to everyone.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Clean. Friendly staff. Clean. Free Wifi. Comfortable beds. Clean. Easy access to and from the riverwalk. Secure. Great breakfast buffet with many choices. Each evening at 5:30pm they have a free "Kick Back" buffet and up to three alcoholic drinks per adult. Yeah! Parking garage on site. Texas Land and Cattle Restaurant & Bar downstairs at the riverwalk level. We had a really good view of downtown from our window (6th floor). On the top floor, they have a heated (in winter) pool with a jaccuzi seating area that you can swim into on one end. We will be staying here the next time we return to San Antonio, as the Drury is an excellent value at a perfect location!

Room Tip: Parking garage ends at the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
936 reviews 936 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 258 cities Reviews in 258 cities
2,035 helpful votes 2,035 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a hard time choosing a hotel that was on the Riverwalk in San Antonio. The hotels on the river itself were quite a bit more expensive than ones just a block or so off the river. Was it worth to be on the river? Could we even see the river from our room window or balcony? Would the balcony be big enough to actually have two chairs on it, would it be noisy? I spent a lot of time poring over such info and I was still confused and undecided. Then I read about the Drury hotels in SA; and just picked this one because of their "Kickback" program and advertised rates.

Upon entry to the parking area, there will be a employee there (at least during the evening hours) that will direct you to park near the door and go in and register. We decided to get our luggage out then and there, and get a luggage cart. Much easier. Registration was easy and quick and efficient. They gave us a map of the area and explained our "Kickback" option.

The parking garage is convenient, but I cannot remember for the life of me if there is a parking fee, but I do not believe there is. Lobby is very pretty and large. Front doors are locked and you need a key to get in; side doors are open until a certain time I do believe. This is where you will find the "Kickback" option-bar, pop, juice, breakfast and evening foods. The food is enough to fill you up so you do not have to purchase a meal at a restaurant; however, the quality is so-so. Hot dogs, spaghetti and meatballs, tacos, salad bar (limited), mac-n-cheese for the evening choices and I do not think they change the items out much. The bar has beer, wine and a couple of mixed drinks. I asked for 3 different drinks before I picked one out that they provide! Again nice option, but certainly is lacking in quality, IMHO! What they do have is OK, but don't expect restaurant quality food items. Breakfast was good, basic options, but you can fill yourself up so no meal will be needed when out and about. Seating is difficult, this is a very popular hotel and option, so you will sit with strangers but that is part of the fun.

Our room was great! We had a separate bedroom with a queen bed, dresser, TV, nightstands and a large closet with plenty of hangars, a luggage rack and a built in seat in the room. Bathroom was between the living room and bedroom. Nice bathroom but very small. Towels are very nice.

Living room had a desk with chair, full size sleeper sofa, recliner and extra chair, end tables, lamps, and a coffee table. TV armoire with hidden frig and microwave. We had a balcony room that overlooked the river, though you had to lean over the railing to see it. 4 chairs and one small table on the balcony, which was very nice. Very nice view of trees and other landscaping could be seen if you placed your chairs up to the railing. Worth it in my opinion. It was very quiet in the early morning, and we enjoyed having coffee out there, watching the people go by on the Riverwalk, listening to the birds in the trees. Everything worked very well, except the frig-it was not very cold. Very clean, except carpeting sure could use a deep cleaning, however.

Check out smooth and efficient. They allow you to stay until noon if you request it and we did. Heck, they even offered to let us stay longer, but we did not need to do that. They also let you make a limited number of long distance phone calls from your room.

I would stay here again and plan too one day, and will come at Christmas. I want to see all of those lights hanging from trees, turned on. They do so only at Christmas!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Quebec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were really impressed by the Drury Inn and Suites Riverwalk starting with the warm welcome at the entrance of the parking garage, the fast and courteous check in, the cleanliness of our very large room, the comfort of the beds, it’s view on the "Riverwalk" and our Wi-Fi connection. We were also a little skeptical regarding their "Kickback" but what a surprise, we were allowed to 3 drinks per person per day and we are talking about red and white wine, beer, Bloody Mary, Margaritas, Screwdrivers etc etc.and the choice of food was also sufficient for someone who wanted to have their dinner there.

The safe location of the hotel is directly located on the “Riverwalk”, walking distance to all major attractions. We are frequent travelers around the world and this hotel is honestly one of the best hotels we have stayed for the value of our money and the quality of our whole stay. We will definitely always consider this chain of hotels whenever they are available within our choice of destinations.

Congratulations to all the staff, their friendly and professional attitude regardless of their position and responsibility.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and reserve a room with a private balcony, they cannot guarantee the view but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port A
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our second stay and everything was great! Early check in was allowed and our day began great. Internet wireless worked very well (so used to slow wireless at most places). Our room was clean and comfortable. Staff was nice and courteous. We will be staying here regularly on our visits to the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Address: 201 North St Mary's, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Step outside and into the unmatched beauty of the San Antonio River Walk. With countless restaurants and shops within scenic walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Drury Inn Riverwalk
Drury San Antonio
Drury Inn San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.