We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North St Mary's, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was our first visit to San Antonio. We really enjoyed our stay at the Drury Inn.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.The location was perfect,with access to the Riverwalk. Price per night was very reasonable The food (breakfast & 5:30 snacks ,free drinks were great. No complaints about room or room service. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    274
    64
    41
    9
See reviews for
253
316
15
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is in an older restored building so I didn't know what to expect. It turned out to be a nice stay.
I'll start from the beginning. When coming down St. Mary's street, look for a sign reading "Drury Inn Parking". You pull into sort of an ally and that is the side entrance to the hotel. We were greeted by a security guard of sorts that I'm sure is there to make sure non-guests do not park there. He found our name on the "check in" list and asked us to park there while checking in. After checking in, your room key allows entry to the parking garage which is straight ahead from where we initially parked. Garage allows vehicles up to 6.5 ft high if I recall. This will accomodate most vehicles (I saw some full size SUV's in there) but you may want to check your vehicle ahead of time if it is large/high.
Our room was a typical suite type with a couch, small table, and television as you walk in. Beds were in the back. Our room had a balcony with a nice view of the riverwalk. The balcony is off the back of the suite (room with beds). There is also a window to the balcony from the bedroom. Bathroom was medium size and adequate. Looking at the hotel floorplan on the back of the door, it looks like the rooms vary in size - likey because of the conversion of this older building into a hotel. The room was not a river view but on the side near the corner. The way the building was oriented and the curve of the river allowed a very good view even though the balcony was not actually directly facing the river. There are other rooms with direct river view balconies and I'm sure they have great views also. Exit stairway accesed near the elevator is actually quite nice - large with brass handrails. Not your typical hotel exit stairway. This must have been the original master stairway before elevators were in the building.
Free drinks and snacks are served in the lobby in the evening (not sure if on weekends also - we stayed during the week). Started at 5 or 5:30pm I believe. You get a couple of drink tickets (alcohol) for each night of your stay. Choices for the snacks included salad, hot dogs, nachos, soup, macaroni, chicken strips, and maybe a couple other items. Choices alternate a bit every other day. Details of the evening snacks and drinks are describe on the Drury Inn website. Popcorn and fountain soda are also offered each day after 3pm I believe. Breakfast is served in the same are and includes hot and cold choices. Lobby is nice and the eating/sitting area is along the side with windows overlooking the riverwalk.
Hotel is right on the riverwalk near the end of the "horseshoe" section of the river. When you go out of the hotel at the river, heading left will take you to the busy part of the riverwalk. Main lobby doors to St. Mary's street are normally locked and entry is by your room key. This seemed kind of nice since the location is downtown with lots of pedistrian traffic and a nearby bus stop. You don't have to worry about non-guests walking into the hotel through the front door. Previous reviewers mention the busy bus stop and yes, it is near the hotel but didn't really bother us. Our room was away from that location and we heard no noise but I cannot speak in regards to rooms which may be closer.
There is an outdoor pool and sitting area on the upper floor of the hotel. I thought there may be views from that location but there is a wall around the perimeter which blocks most views. Exercise room and weight room is up there also with some good equipment. Coin operated washer/dryer in the same vacinity as well.
Overall, the stay was enjoyable. The hotel may not be one of the fancy high-dollar choices but it certainly is above average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
312 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
514 helpful votes 514 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This property has all the staples of the Drury chain (including the popcorn) but it is located in a neighborhood that they feel makes it necessary for them to keep the entrance door locked 24 hours a day. The first night we stayed in a suite which had a large, windowless living room that we didn't use. The next night we stayed in a standard room, which we liked more.

The men and women working at the front desk were invariably cheerful and friendly--something one does not always find in hotels that cater mostly to tourists.

The young woman who poured wine in the evening looked at me with narrowed eyes as though she might be held responsible if I got behind the wheel and had an accident. It was creepy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you found our front desk staff warm and accommodating! We work very hard to deliver the highest levels of customer service possible. I do, however, apologize if any staff member left you with an uncomfortable feeling during your stay. Management will be looking into this in order to make sure that our guests feel comfortable 100% of the time while they are here at our property. Comfort and security are also the reasons why we maintain a facility that is only accessible to our guests, as downtowns can be high traffic areas. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make sure that we deliver the best experience possible in the future.

Sincerely,

Matthew Funk
Assistant General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was on a business trip which was not going smoothly. Then, I checked into the Drury Inn & Suites, and the service was so great, I forgot about the flight mishaps and the computer power cord I had forgotten. (The hotel has a 24 hour business center with free computer use and internet access.) I interacted with housekeeping and the front desk and everyone was attentive, polite and provided exceptional service. The location is beautiful, right on the Riverwalk. I will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were looking for a short getaway with alot of bang for a couple of days and boy did we make a great choice. We had never been to San Antonio before but knew we wanted to stay on the riverwalk. The reviews we had seen on here certainly helped us to make our decision. The room was very clean and well kept for us. The breakfast and managers reception were all great! I loved that they offered you real food to eat at the managers reception as well. That can save you money if you're on a budget! The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful in letting us know what was open late. The pool on the rooftop was a little small but very cozy. If you get a chance to stay at this hotel ....DO IT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our room overlooked the famous River Walk, and was simply delightful. We sat on the balcony in the evenings with a glass of wine, watching the people walking the river, and the riverboats passing by. At night it's all lit up with tree lights, along with the lights from the many businesses and restaurants. We were within walking distance of the Market Square and the Alamo. The room was clean and well cared for. The only downside was that the carpets in the halls were not well vacuumed. Some debris was there for the three days we stayed. Oh, and the breakfast and evening snacks were well intentioned, but definitely institution food. Great to get the two free drinks per night though.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the River Walk are great. Do NOT get a room on the 7th floor adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Decided to do a quick trip to San Antonio to see the Christmas lights on the Riverwalk. Wanted to stay downtown. Have been happy with other stays at Drury Inns, therefore chose this one. We were able to check in early. This allowed us time in the roof top pool and hot tub with no other guests. What a relaxing way to spend the afternoon. The food in the evening was as to be expected. Adequate but not spectacular. The breakfast food is much better and with more variety. The location of the hotel is excellent for spending time on the Riverwalk. Only negative is the parking garage. If you have a large car or high profile vehicle, doubt you will be able to get in. Overall, the room was nice, hotel quiet and clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Address: 201 North St Mary's, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#26 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Step outside and into the unmatched beauty of the San Antonio River Walk. With countless restaurants and shops within scenic walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Drury Inn Riverwalk
Drury San Antonio
Drury Inn San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.