We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Woodlawn, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hotel stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our hotel had all the amenities, a continental breakfast, outdoor pool, etc. however we were always short on wash towels and the floor did not appear to have been cleaned in our hotel. It wasn't horrible, but the corners were dirty and tidbits were there all week in certain spots. It was convenient to the downtown Riverwalk.

Room Tip: there was a safe available in our room and nice hotel parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our Downtown location, just 4 blocks from the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. I apologize for the issues you described with your towels and room service. When your travels bring you back to San Antonio, please contact me directly so we can ensure your next experience is flawless!
With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210-229-9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    133
    76
    52
    38
See reviews for
117
118
38
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

First our bed was dirty and our sheets weren't changed.Secondly we paid for a lock box and were never able to get into it due to the fact that there was no maintenance on site. Our first night there was a huge party full of drunk people right next door to us and our family so we had to request four times to have them quieted or removed. Finally at 5:30 a.m. they were removed. Needless to say without a night of sleep we were all quite tired the next day so it made it hard to enjoy our plans. Red Roof Inn will not be getting our business anymore if we would have known there was a Comfort Inn right next door we would have stayed there instead. We should have done a little more research first but the logistics of how close the hotel was to the boardwalk Lured us in. Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. I am truly sorry we failed to meet your expectations during your time with us. At Red Roof Plus+ we strive for excellence in customer service and while I know we cannot have a second chance at a first impression, we would be honored to welcome you back. We would hope that your next visit is flawless.
With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210-229-9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Walking Distance from River walk, Nice interior room with same level sky bridge from parking garage, clean room, clean beds, hot shower with good water pressure, safe for valuables, ironing board, nightstand plugs for charging multiple devices, pool, simple breakfast (pastries, oatmeal, fruit)

Cons: bed firm, city noises, a/c needs filters cleaned more often.

I would like to thank Reuben for going above and beyond this morning during breakfast. He was very helpful. I brought my family of five down for breakfast and he helped me fill their tummies. As a mother the kindness he provided means a lot. I have traveled plenty and it is rare that you find such service with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. Rueben will be honored to read your kind compliment on his breakfast service.. At all Red Roof Plus+ locations, we provide the 100% Smoke Free Guarantee and strive to provide service that WOWS our guests. We certainly hope to welcome you back when you return to Downtown San Antonio!
With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210-229-9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Pleasant hard working staff, quite rooms and close to the riverwalk. I would stay here again, next time longer than 1 night. Clean and again I'd stress how quite this hotel was. It's very close to the highway, yet I could not hear the traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. Our staff will be honored to read your kind compliments. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our Downtown / Riverwalk location, just 4 blocks from the Riverwalk and the famous Alamo!
With Warm Regards,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210-229-9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Upon check in we were greeted by a very smiley, very friendly genuine receptionist. He was very helpful and even gave us some tips on where to eat and where to drink. We were asked if we had a car with us which we said yes to and he advised us to park it in the car park adjacent to the hotel, however we were not advised that there was a charge and had a little surprise on the credit card bill. We would've still happily paid the fee, but were quite annoyed that we were not told in advance. The rooms were good and comfortable, although a little on the small side compared to what we had stayed in the previous nights. We didn't stay for breakfast as when we walked past it looked very unappealing. Location was great, only a 5-10 minute walk to the Alamo and Riverwalk. Would I stay again? Probably not, but no drastic complaints about the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review.
I apologize for the front desk not advising of the parking fee upon your arrival. I am happy that despite this issue you enjoyed the service provided.
I hope you enjoyed your time at the Riverwalk and Alamo!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The best part is that is really near to riverwalk. But if u want to park ur car u need to pay 10 dollars per day. The breakfast is served in a really small place and the hotel is big... so no place to sit to have the breakfast. The room was ok, and was clean, but no mini bar, no microwave and no closet. Bed were confortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review.
We are delighted to see that you found our Serta beds comfortable! During your next visit with Red Roof Plus+, I recommend trying one of our Premium Rooms. Our Premium Rooms feature a microwave and refrigerator, a larger television, a larger work desk and a Snack Box for your enjoyment!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

It took us an hour to check in. Once we got to our room, we were well aware that we were in a budget hotel. There was an old toothbrush and razor pushed down behind the sink from a previous guest. The breakfast was very disappointing - Danish and bagel ... Period. The perks - good price and decent location. We were able to walk to the riverwalk in 5-10 minutes depending upon traffic. The hotel was very easy to get into and out of from the highway. Basically, you get what you pay for. Shop around and get a good rate on this hotel. He got $80 a night (taxes and all fees) but saw it advertised at $200+ a night. Definitely not worth that high price.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us.
At Red Roof Plus+, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. I was delighted to read that despite the inconveniences during your stay you did enjoy our location and its proximity to the San Antonio Riverwalk. I hope you enjoyed your time in beautiful San Antonio.
Should your travels bring you back to the area, we would be honored at another opportunity to welcome you back, so we can ensure that your next stay is flawless.
Yours In Service,
Natalie Furka-Padgett
General Manager
210.229.9973 i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.