We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would think twice before staying at the Red Roof Inn.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Plano, Texas, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would think twice before staying at the Red Roof Inn.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn - San Antonio Riverwalk 03/25-03/28 during a Texas Division of Emergency Management conference. When we checked in and went to our room the A/C was making a loud buzzing noise and the toilet was constantly running and leaking water around the base. We left to attend the conference and made notification to the front desk clerk so he could have maintenance service the room while we were out. He informed us it would be fixed before we returned. We came back a few hours later to find that nothing had been done. There were also dogs in the room next to us and across from us that were barking non-stop. We then called the front desk to inform them nothing had been done, they informed us that we could move from 401 to 409 and that they would be coming up with a luggage cart and keys. We waited 20-30 minutes for someone to come, finally after getting tired of waiting because we had been gone to the conference after driving several hours from Dallas we walked down to the front desk on our own. Upon arriving at the front desk the two male clerks were just standing around joking with each other, there were no guests around. I took the keys and moved into our new room with no help. The new room was better but still has some issues such as a dirty floor and light bulbs missing in the lamp. On the second night, we took the elevator up to our room to find the keys no longer worked, we had to return to the front desk and wait 15 minutes to get new keys made to 3 of our rooms because none of the keys would work. The breakfast area is extremely small for the number of people that stay at the hotel and lacks greatly. When I say lacks, I mean it only has fruit and danishes with limited juice and coffee. When we checked out, we informed the front desk clerk, who asked "How can I fix this for you?". How does one appropriately answer this question? Would you like me to say Comp the room? Needless to say, I will most likely never stay in a Red Roof Inn hotel again. After working in a hotel for 4 years, this facility was lacking greatly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel here in San Antonio. I am truly sorry that you did not have a good experience at our property. I will speak with the staff that were present during that particular conference and will reference your comments to address the issues you had during your stay. I do appreciate you letting us know about your disappointment and would like to reassure you that it will be addressed at our next employee meeting. Thank you again and please accept my sincerest apologies.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    129
    74
    48
    36
See reviews for
112
112
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Red Roof Inn a few weeks ago. We both enjoyed the experience there. The staff was helpful and friendly. It was a short and pleasant walk to the Riverwalk and had a great time. We'll be visiting there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for posting such nice review about your visit to the beautiful city of San Antonio. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed yourselves and found our proximity to the attractions pleasant. Our team was happy to serve you and we all look forward to serving you again should your travels return you to our wonderful city.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Came here for a conference at the Henry B Gonzalez Center: just needed somewhere to sleep so it was perfectly adequate and got a good nights sleep. Very close to the downtown area so very convenient. The view over the freeway is much better than the bleak urban sprawl to the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel while in the city for a conference. I am happy that you found our hotel convenient for your needs and had a good night’s sleep. I do hope to serve you again should your travels return you to our area.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbysbire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've just come back from a 12 night stay at this hotel, and we had an enjoyable stay. We did have a minor issue with the safe in our room being locked when we arrived, and we had to ask 3 times over a 24 hour period before someone came up and opened it for us. However the room was large and and comfortable. It was nothing fancy and the view from the window wasn't inspiring, but we spent so little time in the room it didn't matter. The Location is great, which is why we chose this hotel, its 5 minutes from The Alamo and all the major attractions such as the Towers of the Americas, La Villita, San Fernando Cathedral, the Spanish Governors House etc are within walking distance. Its also close to the Riverwalk (a few minutes walk.....honestly!) so you have easy access to all the great restaurants etc. The staff are nice too.

Ok breakfast, lets be honest it can be like feeding time at the zoo. But remember ifs complimentary so if you want waitress service, a variety of food and a place to sit you might want to go elsewhere and buy your own. Breakfast consists of coffee, juice, fruit, toast, porridge and pasties. There is limited seating, and no where near enough to accomodate everyone. So if you time it wrong be prepared to wait in line, share a table or take your breakfast back to your room. We did indeed have breakfast at the hotel every morning, and thoroughly enjoyed chatting with the other hotel guests. What better way to start the day, and we met some lovely peole.

lastly when walking back to the hotel in the dark, check out the light show under the interstate highway. its really cool!

Please, if you want a fancy hotel go find one. This is an good budget hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for giving such a detailed review of your experience of our hotel during your visit to our wonderful city. I am so happy to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your vacation and the accommodations we provided. Your review will be very helpful to our future guest allowing them an inside view to what they are expected to experience with our brand and our great proximity to the local attractions. Our breakfast area has been a topic that I am still currently addressing. This past week I have changed out our toast for bagels and will be adding yogurt very soon. I do apologize for the lack of seating and will definitely continue to work on improving this. Thank you again and do hope to serve you again should your travels return to our area.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the worst hotel we have stayed at. To begin with, it's not near the riverwalk. The room we were given had a handicapped restroom that smelled like urine. The room itself smelled like skunk. The sheets on the bed were dingy and dirty. The paneling on the restroom wall was falling apart and the restroom itself was not clean. The walls were so thin I could hear everything going on in the hall. I kept hearing noises out our window and was afraid someone was going to break in. I couldn't wait to get out of that place. While I was checking out, the person in front of me was also complaining about his stay. I would not recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel. We are advertised as being Downtown/Riverwalk to purposely identify ourselves with the other Red Roof Inns in the San Antonio area. We are only a short 5-7 minute walk to the Riverwalk and the Alamo and I do apologize if this was not conveyed during the process of your reservation. I do see that you were not pleased with your accommodations and do regret that you had not brought this to our attention during your stay so we could have arranged for different accommodations as your issues are not a normal occurrence for our guest. I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and I do hope that you will give us another chance so that we may better serve you.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything OK for the price paid, and the night manager, Jesse L, was most helpful but slow Internet is just not acceptable today. It's like not having water in the taps. If you want to be in the middle of town and not pay much, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience with our hotel during your visit to our beautiful city. I am truly sorry that our internet failed you during your stay. I am happy to announce that we have currently installed new fiber optics to expand our broadband width, this will be launched by the end of April. I do l do hope that you will give us another chance and experience the improvements we have made since your departure.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here based upon price and location. This hotel with its location only a few blocks from the Riverwalk make it a great value. Additionally, our pet was welcomed for a nominal fee of $10.

It is important to note that you will have to walk across a few roads and down a few block to get to the Riverwalk area as this hotel is not directly accessible. However, for us not being directly on the Riverwalk was worth the money saved staying here.

The rooms were clean and large. The hotel has a parking garage which is gated and accessible only to hotel guests.

We had an issue at check-in and had to wait almost 45 minutes. There was a long line of people waiting to check-in and the assignment of rooms was not moving smoothly. I think this was due to the popularity of the hotel and a large group of people showing up at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay here at our hotel in the beautiful Alamo City. I am happy to hear that you found our rooms to be a “great value” and that you were happy with your accommodations for you and your four legged family member. I do apologize for the delay at check in and thank you for patience with us during such a busy period. Thank you again and we all look forward to serving you again should your travels return you to the area.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.