We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Roof Rocked For Rock 'N' Roll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Red Roof Rocked For Rock 'N' Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We're local but stayed at the Red Roof Sat. night before the Rock 'N' Roll Marathon to avoid the traffic stress. The race starts on the "main" side of downtown but finishes at the Alamodome near the Red Roof. Upon check-in, the desk clerk asked if I was in the race. When I said "yes," he offered a late check-out without my having to ask. At no additional charge, mind you. Also no charge for parking which was nice! Race start was 7:30 and the Red Roof had breakfast going by 6:00 which made it easy to grab something on the way out the door. They also offered water bottles and bins of fruit both before and after the race. Paid twice the price last year to stay at the Grand Hyatt (not including the GH's $40 valet parking fee) where the staff was rude and unaccommodating. Much better effort by the Red Roof and can't thank them enough!

On the downside, I might disagree with the "Downtown/Riverwalk" description as the hotel is on the "other" side of downtown, and I don't think there's Riverwalk access from the Red Roof. It's not far, though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about you experience at our hotel during such a busy time like the Rock “N” Roll marathon. Our beautiful city practically shuts down for this event and we have happily joined in on the festivities. The past few years we have become more aware of our runners needs and listened to what they have telling us. The late check-out and complimentary parking was to accommodate our runners so they wouldn’t feel rushed after the marathon. We are happy to hear this was helpful to you and your spouse. As an economy brand we strive to give our guest’s a good value for a great price! Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we look forward to serving you next year should you choose to run again.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    130
    74
    48
    38
See reviews for
113
113
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for one night to take in the Riverwalk and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is a short 5 block walk to the Riverwalk/Alamo area or you can cut through the Rivercentre Mall (all safe for walking day & night). You save a lot of money by being on the "other side" of the freeway to most of the hotels. The rooms have recently been rennovated and are really nice with laminate flooring, vessel sinks and good quality mattresses. We have stayed in higher priced hotels that are not as nice. Ask for the side of the hotel away from the freeway - it was quiet. Breakfast was minimal - muffins and bagels, coffee & juice, but enough to get you going.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the freeway as they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with our hotel in the beautiful Alamo City. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and that we were able to make you comfortable during your stay. We are also pleased that our location suited the needs of you and your friends. We are fortunate to be only a short walk to all the fun attractions our city has to offer. We enjoyed having you and your friends and we look forward to serving you again should you return to our area.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed 6 nights and had a great time. You don't need a car, just take the bus everywhere. The Yellow Route is about 50 feet from hotel, get a transfer for 2 hours, or you can walk to the Alamo in about 5 minutes. Very convenient hotel. Breakfast is continental with bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, and fruit. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway and streets are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took time to share your experience with other potential guests. Yes, we are in close proximity to the Riverwalk-about a 10 minute walk-and we are close to everything in the downtown area within walking distance and you found one the biggest secrets we offer....having a Trolley Stop right outside our front door! We are happy you enjopyed our Grab N Go Breakfast and our newly renovated roms and we do look forward to your return stay.
Max Janow
General Manager
Red Roof Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I selected Red Roof Inn for the low cost of room and not disappointed. Close to riverwalk, bus transportation stops at end of hotel parking. Room was nice with wood flooring, the room view was of highway and river city mall direction. The swimming pool was clean and a plus of the Grab and Go breakfast served the purpose, plus saving some money.
I had a leak around the toilet, when I called the front desk gentleman took care and since maint. had already left, he helped moved me to another room and ask if I needed anything else.
I would recommend staying, the room was nice, comfortable, staff friendly, with the breakfast and location, free internet in the room, good value, for the cost.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and felt like no one else was there. If you would like a view I would as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for letting other guest know how much you enjoyed your stay. And we're very happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to your return stay!
Max Janow
General Manager
Red Roof Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked in for two nights while taking in the riverwalk. Rooms are nice, breakfast somewhat limited but hey, the monies saved is well worth it. Staff extremely friendly, location couple blocks off the riverwalk. Would recomend to anyone visiting san antonio and not planning to live in the room. View from room not so nice but didnt bother us. Covered garage with elevators vehicle well secured, however, the do have a 7 or 8 dollar a day parking charge but again the monies saved more than makes up for it. Pool outside looked very refreshing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with our hotel and team during your vacation here in San Antonio.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location is great if you want to see the Riverwalk and Alamo. It was within a 5-10 min walk. Great views of the downtown city! The rooms are very spacious and beds are comfortable.

However....

Upon check in we were given a dirty room at first....I mean it had not even been cleaned from the previous guests. Upon calling down to the front desk, they brought up another set of room keys for us. This time this room was clean and ready as it should have been.

We headed out into the town for the night and got back to the room, and upon using the bathroom it got clogged. We called the front desk around 10-10:30 pm for a plunger or someone to come unclog our toilet. At nearly 2 am and still no one had come we fell asleep. Upon waking up multiple times throughout the night, we had to go to the lobby and use the lobby restroom because ours was still clogged and not usable. I understand that the maint. crew goes home around 6 or 7 pm, but that is no excuse for the person running the front desk to communicate with us and tell us what was going on. I was not pleased at 4 am to have to get up in my pajamas and go down an elevator to the lobby just to use a restroom.

Upon speaking at the front desk the next day about the incident, the kind lady did send maint. immediately up to the room to unclog it which took all of 5 seconds to do. They do charge for parking which is $7 a night (plus taxes, I was informed). Due to our toilet being clogged they did end up comping our parking, but when you pay 80.00+ a night 21.00 in comps really isn't even 1/2 of the room costs when the reality is we only could use 1/2 out room anyhow (the beds). To me it was a bit short of customer service after both the incidents to start how our night began at the hotel.

This wasn't the only complaint I heard from guests while I was there also.

Not sure that I would use this place again, if we come back to San Antonio, Texas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel here in the beautiful Alamo City. We are pleased that you liked our location and that you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. I do however apologize for the issue you had with your restroom during your stay. I have already addressed this issue with all of our front desk staff and appreciate you letting us know about this. At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I took my 5 daughters and stayed here The location was fantastic. .We felt safe and had a blast in San Antonio. The rooms were large, comfortable, clean and we were able to park in a parking garage with easy access to our room. The only complaint is they charge for the room safe and you have to ask for it to be removed as you check out. Just wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. A guest’s safety is our number concern while traveling and we are happy to hear that you felt safe and secure during your stay with your family. We are also happy to hear that the entire stay was wonderful and that our location and amenities fit what you needed. We do apologize for the additional fee and we were more than happy to make the adjustment before a guest checks out. We look forward to your return to our great location and wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.