We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are vfery friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff are vfery friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is what you would expect for a budget motel chain, however the staff were very helpful as we were travelling with an infant. Special mention to Jonathon (Reception) that did quite a bit to help us out.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are better as the lights shine directly into your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel in the beautiful Alamo City. We are glad that you and your family found our staff to be helpful during your trip and have passed your compliment on to Jonathan. We do however notice that you had an issue with the pool lights shining into your room. We do have black out curtains installed into all of our guest rooms and apologize that you still experienced an issue with our lighting. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future should your travels return to you and your family to the area.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    124
    72
    46
    30
See reviews for
106
109
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

VERY limited channels on the tv - no MSNBC for you progressives! $7/day parking so add that up as part of your budget. Only a limited continental breakfast - no waffles here. Does have fridge & microwave in the room. The best thing & the worst thing is the location. It is right next to the interstate, very easy off & on, & a half mile from the Alamo & Riverwalk. You can walk to all of the touristy things downtown with ease. But with that location it also means you HEAR all that traffic from the interstate as well. If you're a light sleeper, this is not the place for you. And if you want to use the outdoor pool, it is in the front of the building & all you will hear while trying to relax at the pool is the traffic noise from the interstate. Pretty awful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you choosing to stay with us during your trip to the Alamo City. We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We do offer CNN & Fox News on our cable line up for keeping updated with world news; unfortunately we do not offer MSNBC at this time. We do take into consideration the requests of our guests and will address expanding the networks that we do provide. Parking fees are required and we apologize that this was not part of your budget. Our property, as you mentioned, is in such close proximity to the downtown area that this fee ensures that our lot is used by hotel guest only. Our breakfast selection includes bagels, muffins, and fresh fruit with juice and coffee which is truly a Grab N Go as most of our guests want to grab something on their way out to enjoy the Alamo City. While we are situated downtown and by a major exit into the city the amount of traffic reduces after 8pm so the traffic noise is minimal during the night hours as well we offer rooms on the opposite side of the building for those light sleepers and are more than happy to accommodate these requests. Our pool area, while located in front of the building, is wired with Muzak and the music playing is during the same time as the operation of the pool. Again thank you for your comments and our team would like to invite you to return so that we may provide you with a more memorable experience with our brand.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a great stay and thought the location was fantastic and they accepted our pet. the staff were all very helpful especially Calvin who is in the lobby area at breakfast and Lisa who went out of her way to call us in the lobby when our room was finished one morning. Breakfast was basic but fresh and tasty. Our bed was comfortable and everything clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review your stay with us. We are very thankful that you shared your experience with other travelers. We will pass along your comments to our two team members that you mentioned and we very happy that they went above and betond.

Max Janow
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk
210-229-9973
i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Red Roof Inn in downtown San Antonio was a nice place to stay. As people have mentioned, it is a good place to park and stay and then visit downtown San Antonio. We were able to walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk from the Inn. The front-desk staff was helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was there was construction work being done on the same floor we were staying on. Luckily, the saws were not being used after a certain time. It's great to see renovations being done, but it might be good to inform guests that construction is being done in case that person is bothered by the sound of the workl.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience with our brand during your family trip to the Alamo City. Our team is very pleased to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and that we were able to make you feel comfortable during your stay. We did however notice that you had issues with the renovation work that is currently occurring presently. We do have hours in which noise cannot be made by the construction crew as you mentioned and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are truly looking forward to completion so our guest can enjoy the new rooms with new beds, flat screen TV’s new hard wood flooring and sleep package without experiencing the work needed to accomplish this remodel. Again we thank you for your comments and look forward to serving you again in the future should your travels return you to the area.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here one night on a long road trip. We chose it because it was near the Riverwalk, and would accept pets. Also, it had a locked parking garage, which was important since we had a lot of luggage in the car. It is a large, older building, right on the boundary between the tourist area and a somewhat sketchy neighborhood (run-down buildings, etc.). I felt comfortable walking around in the day, especially on the Riverwalk side, but did not attempt to stroll around at night. Our room was very comfortable, though not completely clean, and we got a good night's sleep. Not a fancy place, but convenient (close to the Alamo), and good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are very pleased that you thought highly about your stay to review our property. Bieng only 3 blocks form the Alamo doesn't mean yuo have to pay a higher price for location. We are currently under renovation and look forward to the WOW factor our guest are going to see in the next couple of months. Thank you again for our review of our location.

Max Janow
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Downtown-Riverwalk
210-229-9973
i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Yes, the hotel is close to downtown, yes, it is possible to walk to the riverwalk from here but you wouldn't at night. You have to walk under the freeway past vacant lots and parking areas. I did it an was very uncomfortable walking back to the hotel alone.
Breakfast was below par compared to most hotels. Very limited seating.
Staff was very helpful, they knew the area and had great customer service.

Room on Sat. was $139.00 which was outrageous for what you got. Small and very dated room, the carpet was old and dirty, the bath room was tiny and shower was scary. Wallboard and paint pulled away from shower head.
The same room on Sunday and Monday was $59. The $60 difference in the room rate better matched the hotel room I had.
Please note the staff was knowledgeable and service oriented I was expecting more from the room.

I would not stay here again but if you’re not real picky it might work.

Room Tip: . Ask for room facing city at least you get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on your recent stay with us. While we are located only a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk we are located at major intersection into downtown off I-35 and the underpass is well lit at night as the city has multi-colored HD lights that change colors and patterns along with well marked crosswalks and street lights. We do offer a Grab-N-Go Breakfast daily where our guest feedback has been they only want to grab something and go see the sights and sounds of San Antonio but we always appreciate feedback to see if could change something in the future. We are currently going through a major remodel with all new beds, flat screen TV, carpet, wood flooring, tub surrounds and amenities. The renovation is scheduled to complete around June 15, 2012. Thank you for noticing the level of customer service that we offer to all our guests as it is our expectation that we go above and beyond to ensure every guest has a positive experience. With our upgrade under way we feel every guest will enjoy the new experience as we will have the newest rooms available to choiose form in the Alamo City. Thank you again for your feedback.
Max Janow
General Manager
i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Our stay at this facility was excellent in all respects. We have two dachshunds and they were spoiled by everyone in the facility, including gettting their picture on Red Roof facebook page.

Rooms were clean, large and well maintained, continental breakfast was very good and some of the best orange juice I've ever tasted.

Hotel personnel were extremely friendly and provided information we asked for quickly and accurately.

I would not hesitate recommending this facility to anyone coming to San Antonio. It is very convenient to downtown and the river walk.

Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for taken time to write a review about your stay with us and sharing with other travelers. We are very excited when our guest has a positive experience as it shows that we are doing what we need to as to ensure every guest receives the same experience. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel and want to ensure they receive the customer service as we understand how they are family members and not just pets. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Max Janow
General Manager
i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.