We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“served its purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“served its purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is a perfectly adequate hotel if you are not one for frills. The best feature is the location; it is situated well for touring downtown San Antonio with onsite parking, Bit disappointed there is a charge for this but I can understand the logic for doing so. Otherwise, the rooms were clean, but don’t look for a view. It has all the amenities that you would wish for and I will forever treasure my Red Roof Inn tissue pack as a permanent souvenir of my visit!
The breakfast was crowded and no more than you should expect for the price, but a muffin and chocolate drink is better than nothing.
The service left something to be desired. Requested extra towels were not delivered, and front desk staff misdirected me when I needed to find a convenience store. Also beds were not made up; we did not opt out of this!
In general, if you want your hotel to be a destination, this is not for you. However, if you are just looking for a place to crash after a day of playing tourist, this is a reasonable value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to see that travelers, such as you, appreciate an economy brand. We expect our guests to have a positive experience during their stay and it seems as if we may have missed the mark with yours and we sincerely apologize for missing some basic, everyday items that our guest have come to expect.

We do offer our Grab-N-Go breakfast consisting of muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, coffee & orange/apple juice as we understand that with the money they save by staying with us they can go out and explore our wonderful city and experience a true value.

We truly appreciate and value each and every guest’s feedback and we look forward to your return to the Alamo City and continuing to choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    131
    76
    52
    38
See reviews for
116
117
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We needed rooms for several shipmates for our annual ship’s reunion so I contacted Red Roof Inn San Antonio, TX, 1011 East Houston Group Sales Manager and arranged by telephone for our group to stay at the Red Roof Inn.

I had been to San Antonio on multiple occasions but was not familiar with the Red Roof Inn. As it turned out it is an excellent location if you plan visiting the River Walk, Alamo and/or other local attractions. Public transportation is within 200 feet of hotel entrance to attractions and tour trolleys in the Alamo area, and immediate access to the Interstate highway. The airport is 10 – 15 minutes depending upon the time of day and traffic. Everything was really excellent from a local logistic perspective and the hotel was great. The hotel facility is clean and well kept, and done so continuously. We had a group of about 24 people and 13 rooms.

The Group Sales Management I contacted gave us, what we consider, a significant reduced room rate for our group. We were also provided with other amenities’ at significant savings including the conference room use with catering and other services available. The group sales staff did not stop when we arrived at the hotel, they checked with me et al in our group nearly every day to be assured we were happy with our choice. Thanks to Sandra and Lisa.

The hotel manager Max conversed daily with members of our group throughout our four to six night stay making sure we were conformable and happy with our service from the hotel. I have to say, and I am a frequent user of hotels, I have never had a hotel genuinely display such a sincere desire to provide for and make sure clients were happy and comfortable. His staff reflected his desire to please clients. Thanks Max.

The hotel staff made sure the rooms were serviced in a way that was unique. I saw cleaning staff in the hallway every day, yet I never once saw the room service staff in my room. It was like magic, leave, come back and the room was serviced. And, to the person every staff member had a genuine smiling positive greeting. At 5am I would see the parking lot being picked up of any litter by Willie keeping the grounds impressively clean.

The conference room was always cleaned and serviced when we were ready to use the room. The grab and go breakfast room was continuously cleaned, serviced and replenished from beginning to end of breakfast time. And, Angie smilingly reminded folks sitting in the lobby that breakfast would be over soon so that they may get something before closing. The experience renews my faith that most folks really do care and are willing to go the extra mile. Thank you all Mike Marshall, Ohio.

Room Tip: If you would like a micowave etc. ask I'm not sure all rooms have these items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk. Our entire team is happy that you and your shipmates enjoyed your stay in the Alamo City! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as we are in walking distance to the Alamo, the beautiful Riverwalk. Our proximity to the interstate and public transportation makes it nice for our visitors allowing easy access to our cities attractions. We are very pleased that our team was able to make you and your shipmates feel welcome and comfortable during your stay. We are fortunate to have such a great team that works diligently to ensure 100% customer satisfaction. From housekeeping to the front desk our staff strives to give our guest an experience to be remembered. I do have to say we all miss your lively conversations and cheerful presence your group brought to our lobby every morning for breakfast. We truly appreciate the wonderful review and look forward to serving you again in the future should your travels return you to the Alamo city.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston St
San Antonio TX, 78205
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

It is located near a bus stop, about 200 FT away, and only a few blocks from the Alamo. Breakfast was okay, just fruit, muffins and bagels, coffee and juice. Very comfortable bed and large room. Nice bathroom and lighting. Train station is nearby, just a couple of minutes by cab.We didn't hear any trains during the night though. Everything we needed for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk. Our entire team is happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Alamo City! We appreciate the great information about our proximity to our public transportation, the information you shared is useful to our future guest. Our team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make you comfortable and happy with accommodations. We all truly look forward to serving you again in the future should your travels return you to our wonderful city!
Max Janow
1011 E Houston St
San Antonio TX, 78205
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Were a little reluctant because of the great deal we got. But we were delighted. Rooms clean. Location couldn't have been better. Trolley service right outside. Had a not so good experience at a red roof in Santa Fe but this one was great. Jonathan at the front desk had more customer service than I have seen in years. That's what its all about. Making the customer happy. And that they did.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk. Our entire team is happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Alamo City! Our economy brand is a good value especially for the location and we find pleasure in giving our guest the same value and service as other brand hotels do without charging outrageous fees. We have passed your nice comments on to our team member and he would like to say that is was his pleasure to have served you. Our team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make you comfortable and happy with our service. We all truly look forward to serving you again in the future should your travels return you to our wonderful city!
Max Janow
1011 E Houston St
San Antonio TX, 78205
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Libertad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked the Red Roof for proximity to the Alamo, my reason for visiting San Antonio. upon arrival I found it was also not too far from the Greyhound station, within walking distance of restaurants, stores & there was a city bus stop nearby, the perfect location.

Room was as expected from the chain, clean comfortable & everything worked. Free continental breakfast gave a start to the day.

Although they have no laundry facilities, guests can use of the hotel next door.

Staff helpful with directions, information & in storing luggage for the afternoon so I could enjoy my last day exploring the city until my early evening bus.

Would definitely recommend this inn to any budget traveler wishing to explore this interesting city

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk. Our entire team is happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Alamo City! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as we are located within walking distance to the Alamo and the beautiful Riverwalk. We are very pleased to hear that you were comfortable and pleased with the cleanliness of your room. Our team takes pleasure in assisting our guest with directions and maps to our wonderful attractions, one of the perks of working in hospitality. Thank you for your recommendation and tips about our property, this allows our future guest better understanding of our economy brand. It was our pleasure in serving you and we look forward to your return should your travels return you to the area.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston St
San Antonio TX, 78205
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I would recommend this place to anyone. The staff was very friendly and very helpful with anything I needed. I arrived alone at 3am and never once felt unsafe. Not only is there a Trolly stop across the street, it is only a short walk to the Alamo, Riverwalk, Imax theatre, and Tower of Americas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk. Our entire team is happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Alamo City! We are very fortunate to be located so close to the attractions here in San Antonio and glad you got to explore our wonderful city. It was our pleasure to have served you and we all look forward to serving you again in the future.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Red Roof Inn Riverwalk is about a 10 minute walk from the Riverwalk. The Riverwalk can't even be seen from the top floor of this hotel! However, if you are attending a conference and can't afford to stay in one of the conference hotels, this is the place to stay. The air conditioning works and was easily adjustable; although noisy it isn't as noisy as a cheap motel. Although it is right next to the freeway and I could see the traffic go by, the soundproofing stopped it from being a problem. The grab-and-go breakfast is adequate; bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, apples and oranges. Out of 6 breakfasts the coffee machine didn't work one day, the juice machine another day and there wasn't any fruit on another. The muffins were sugar soaked, sugar sprinkled, sugar overload but the bagels were healthier (toaster available) with a choice of spread, cream cheese and jelly (jam). The breakfast area was short on places to sit but it worked out reasonably well as business starts early (by 8am) and tourists seemed to eat later. The food area was clean and I didn't see any flies.
The room was large, the bed was very comfortable with plenty of high quality pillows. The bathroom was clean and although they only provided bars of soap and hair shampoo, the soap had a very pleasant almond scent. There was plenty of clothes hanging space and an iron and ironing board. The hair drier was better than some hotel hair driers I've used. There was a safe. The room had two double beds, a dresser, with drawers and a small table with two chairs. The bedside alarm clock worked, the lightning was adequate. The coffee maker could not have been used to boil water for tea without it being coffee-tainted. The tv didn't have a lot of channels and the digital signal froze now-and-again but you could get news, weather, a film or cartoons for the children. The pool was on the side of the hotel next to the freeway flyover but it looked clean.
I chose not to have my room serviced and I was never disturbed by housekeeping.
The hotel does not have an airport or conference centre shuttle. If the 10 minute walk is too much there is a regular bus ($1.10 per trip). The nearest stores are downtown and you have to go about a mile and a half to find a non-tourist supermarket. There are two 'Superdrug' type shops in the Riverwalk area but you have to go further for a pharmacy.
Walking in the opposite direction to downtown, San Antonio is very rundown.
If I had to work in San Antonio again I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, Front Office Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel while you were in town on business. The Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center has brought many travelers to our area and we are one of the few economy brands in this vicinity that are able to accommodate those who are traveling on a budget. We are very fortunate to be located within walking distance to the Convention Center and other attractions like the Alamo and Riverwalk. We did notice however you did encounter some issues with our grab and go breakfast and truly apologize for the inconvenience of the two machines that were out of order. I would like to reassure you that both the coffee maker and juice machine have been addressed and were in working order within 24 hours of their malfunction. We truly do appreciate the information you have posted as our future guest can better understand our property and the services we offer. We thank you again and look forward to serving you again in the future.
David Vanderhoof Front Office Manager
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.