We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was perfect for our son's graduation from Lackland Air Force Base.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk") (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #95 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This hotel was perfect for our son's graduation from Lackland Air Force Base.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This hotel was perfect for our son's graduation from Air Force Basic Training. We had 7 people traveling with us, plus another 6 that visited. The room was spacious, 2 queen beds plus a huge sitting area. We also had a balcony overlooking the quiet end of the Riverwalk. We would bring in the balcony furniture to seat everyone. We celebrated Christmas/New Years and graduation all at once. The breakfast options were fantastic. And the 24 hour food gallery, lobby seating areas, business center, etc were amazing. It is on the quiet end of Riverwalk, but we found wonderful restaurants within a short walk, and no wait.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    157
    58
    12
    11
See reviews for
115
108
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This was my fourth stay at a Hyatt Place. I like the room set-up. For this stay, I used Hyatt points and considered the value to points used ratio very good. I have previously stayed on the Riverwalk at the Hawthorne Suites (when it was a Hyatt affiliated hotel, poor value to points ratio), the Hyatt (average value to point ratio), Hilton Palacio (average value to points ratio) and the Homewood Suites (very good value to points ratio).

I read through the reviews hereon and would agree with all the favorable comments about the friendly staff, the good and quiet location, the comfortable mattress and the fee parking. The unfavorable comments that I found correct were the bathroom is very small (though the door did NOT get blocked by toilet, though close), the closet and drawer space is limited, the "free" portion of the breakfast is only adequate and there is a an odor in the hallways, though we did not notice it in the room. This type of odor is common to warm climates, we noticed it in the recently opened museum on the recently opened new stretch of the Riverwalk.

Overall, if the rates were the same I would stay at the Homewood Suites since they have a very nice breakfast and the majority of the rooms are larger. If you are a value oriented traveller, and I am, at a $30 or greater price point, my recommendation would be the Hyatt Place (remember the parking is free, a $15 or more nightly saving).

DO walk the recently opened stretch of the Riverwalk if you enjoy gardens and DO run or jog this stretch.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed here for the Rock n Roll Marathon. The best staff and management of any Hotel we have ever stayed. Everyone was super friendly and accommodating. Nice walk to all the restaurants on the riverwalk. We will stay here every trip to SA in the future and have already started telling family and friend about our great experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Based on the price and what you get, this place was better then expected. Updated with clean, new furnishings, comfortable bed and sofa sleeper. Breakfast was plain but enough to get you out the door to your destination. Parking is Free . Walking Distance to all attractions by the river or on the street level. The Alamo, La Villita, and The Riverwalk. Walking on the street level at night back to the Hotel, I DO NOT recommend, not safe. Don't risk. I did it with my family. Walk on the riverwalk level or take a cab.

Friendly Staff. Congratulations Management, Good Team. I think they went above and beyond their job descriptions. Ordered us a Pizza. Directions. We also left something of value behind and they returned it. Thanks....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The location is very convenient, no problem walking to the river walk and you got free parking right outside. We normally stay at one of the hotels directly at the river walk, but they do valet parking and we like the possibility to have your car and stuff right outside!
Rooms are big. Bathroom very tiny.. Just the toilet and bath tube, the sink is outside the bathroom, sort of in you room. The door actually hit the toilet!
Nice beds.
Breakfast is simple and do it yourself style. Not thing to write about but you do get some food before getting out .....
All in all, a nice play to stay – good value if your are a family. For a couple you would have nicer places to pick – since you don’t need that big room anyway!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

First, the front desk employes are SUPER nice!! They greet you each time you go in/out the hotel and are always smiling and friendly. Very rare to find great attitudes on a regular basis. the rooms are roomy and clean and I love the big TV. Location is ok...it's very convenient to downtown and you can't beat the free parking! However, there are a couple of things that need to be improved. 1) There are NO drawers to put your clothes away. I was here for a week and had to layout all my stuff on the sofa. A chest of drawers (or even a night stand with drawers) would make it so much better for those staying for few nights or more. 2) The bathroom is small. It's ok if traveling solo and you don't have to worry about closing the door. You almost have to step in the tub to get the door closed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Good hotel to stay with. The only thing is the breakfast which is not good at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#84 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.