We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but look out for the bird poop thus the low rating on service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk") (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #77 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but look out for the bird poop thus the low rating on service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel, only 10 minute walk to main River Walk. Staff is very helpful with one major negative. We were not told about the birds that nest in the trees. When we went out in the morning, there were probably a hundred bird droppings on our car! We had to go to a car wash for an $18 wash. How hard would it have been to be told about this?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Through this forum we are able to listen to our guests so that we can better improve our service and facilities.

We are happy to hear that your hotel stay was a good experience but we are truly sorry about the bird droppings and will definitely let our front desk staff inform the guests when they collect their parking tags to be aware of the bird droppings as per your suggestion. This we wish we can control but unfortunately we cannot; our one consolation is that it is seasonal and we do not have to deal with it all the time.

We thank you again for your response and do look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    200
    74
    15
    14
See reviews for
149
142
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Overall the hotel was great. Its within walking distance to just about everything. It's located on the quieter end of the riverwalk. The hotel was extremely easy to find - right off the highway. However I was not impressed with the check in - it was like walking into a Starbucks or something and at the time I arrived you could swear it was Romper Room time! Kids everywhere and VERY loud. Once I got checked in though the room was very nice - 7th floor facing city (Tower of Americas) - nice view but if you can get the river side do that! Loud road noise and trains. The hotel has self parking with plenty of spaces. The room setup was nice - very clean and modern. Beds very comfy. But the bathroom I had was not great - very small - open door barely squeaks by toilet and almost hits tub. If you are a larger person you are out of luck because its hard to close the door! Good breakfast - not just continental - but the earlier you get there the better! Lines get long quick. Overall good hotel and nice experience.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor on river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Place Riverwalk in San Antonio in August 2012, and returned again in March of 2013. The hotel is located on the quiet end of the Riverwalk, which is what I prefer -- its only a 10 minute walk down river to where everything is happening! With free parking, free WiFi, and free delicious breakfast (yum!) whats not to like? I was fortunate to get an outstanding rate, so it was well worth it.

I stayed in a King size room (bed was extremely comfortable), facing the Riverwalk. Although the room was extremely spacious with a nice flat screen TV, the only downside is the bathroom is extremely tight with a standup shower. (Sink and mirror is outside of the bathroom).

The hotel staff was superb and courteous.

** Please note that only double bedded rooms have balconies.

Room Tip: Only double bedded rooms have balconies. Get up and enjoy the free breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First of all, for me, this was the perfect hotel for our weekend San Antonio stay. The location is on the riverwalk, but on the quiet end away from all the action. I prefer my hotels close enough to walk to everything but far enough away to not always be surrounded by crowds. The hotel also has complimentary breakfast and parking, which I will discuss later.

So check in was super easy. We actually called the hotel while in route to San Antonio to see if a room would be ready to check in early since we knew we would arrive an hour early to check in time. We were told that there weren't any guarantees since check-in is at 3 but were told that if a room came available before check-in, they would call us and let us know. We got a call about noon saying our room was ready. Once we got there we were helped immediately, taken to the express check-in kiosk, got keys and parking tag in minutes. We were offered a tour of the hotel but we politely declined.

Parking: The lot is located in front of the hotel and there were always spaces available. Self parking.

The Room: We were on the 6th floor with a river view. The rooms are nice with modern decor. Our king room also had a sectional pullout couch with ottoman. There is like a half wall between the bed area and the living area. There is a desk, a wet bar area with a mini fridge and coffee maker...sorry no microwave. The bed was large and comfy. The closet was a decent size with a sliding door that is a mirror. The bathroom had a really nice large shower, no tub...the sink/vanity area is separate from the toilet and shower. Like other reviews said, the bathroom space is tiny, the door hits the toilet when the seat is down. There is a really nice size flat screen tv in the room as well, very view-able from the bed as well as from the couch and it swivels from side to side.

Just something that is very important to me...the room had lots of electric outlets. We always have several electronic devices with us and it was great having a place to charge everything overnight or whenever we needed to. Some hotels only have 1 or 2 outlets available at a time and that always bugs me.

Breakfast: Ok so the hotel advertises a "continental breakfast", but it is more than just pastries, fruit and juice which is nice and very much appreciated. The only issue we had was the breakfast options were drastically different between the two mornings we were there. One morning there was options like eggs, sausage, french toast, breakfast sandwiches, fruit, oatmeal, but on day two breakfast was limited with only breakfast sandwiches, oatmeal, cereal, donuts, bagels and toast. But overall the breakfast was pretty good and filling as well.

Other stuff: There are two elevators and we never had to wait long. On the last day one elevator was down because they were changing the flooring from carpet to tile. There is a swimming pool, but we didn't use it. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel but we also didn't use that either so I can't speak to how good the speed is. The hotel staff was great, everyone was always so friendly and helpful...we were even given 2 free beers to enjoy one evening so that was pretty awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk for a conference and the experience has been good.

One downside - because the way the hotel is set up, you sort of get an echo effect from the sounds in the hotel. I stayed on the 8th floor and still got that effect throughout the night.

Their IT person has been AWESOME. Talk about someone who knows his stuff.

The location is PERFECT - it's literally on the Riverwalk and provides a great opportunity to visit the area. On the other side, you have the Alamo literally at your door.

The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Alamo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TailgateJeff
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a convention because the Grand Hyatt was sold out. Great location with free parking and they can park larger vehicles here as well. While not next to the convention center, it was a 10 - 15 minute walk. While the area is just outside the true riverwalk and convention area, it is very safe and secure, even at night.

The rooms are larger and have a living room area and bedroom area, bathroom and sink/vanity. My complaints are minor... if you are getting ready for a early morning meeting, I woke my wife up because the sink is near the foot of the bed and the light will wake up anyone that is sleeping. Also, the closet door is samll and doesn't open all the way. Other than that, everything is great.

The hotel is clean and well maintained as well. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Free breakfast in the morning. Eat your meal in the little room behind the front desk that has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice. Once for about a week and another time for two days. The staff has always made us feel very welcome and the breakfast is really nice. Being close to the Riverwalk makes it really special.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Riverwalk side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this feedback; we sincerely appreciate this. Through this forum, we are able to look at each review so that we can work on improving our services and facilities.

We thank you again and do look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.