We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - but just not quite a Hyatt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk") (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #93 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice - but just not quite a Hyatt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel but attaching the "Hyatt" name to it places some unfair expectations on the property. First, the positives: the hotel has a very pleasant staff, the rear entrance leads directly to the Riverwalk, it has decent size rooms, a nice television, a warm breakfast, free parking, and the rate we received from their website was very reasonable. And a few negatives: tired carpeting, the lobby seems more devoted to accommodating the breakfast area, and the bathroom was very small. Again, this is a very nice hotel and we'll be staying here again if back in the area...but it's just not a Hyatt in the way you would normally expect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Sir, thank you for your review. Response like yours enable us to evaluate our service to better service our customers. I must let you know however that Hyatt has several brands of hotels in the Hyatt Portfolio and it ranks as follows:
1) Park Hyatt 2)Andaz 3)Grand Hyatt 4)Hyatt Regency 5)Hyatt Place or Hyatt House. Numbers 1-4 in the Hyatt chain are full service hotels meaning they have full service restaurants, room service, concierges, spas, etc and with this comes a service charge of 22% (as with all other full service hotels from all of the other brands). No. 5 in the Hyatt brand is the Hyatt House or Hyatt Place, we are what you called a select or limited service property where we do not have room service, we do not have concierges, we do not have a full-service restaurant and as such we do not charge a service fee of 22%. We do however offer complimentary parking, complimentary breakfast and complimentary wi-fi. We do strive however to service the needs of each and every guest that walk through our doors to the Hyatt standards. I hope that we have done this and will continue to train our staff to offer the best service in this level of the Hyatt Brand.

Again we thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    181
    67
    15
    13
See reviews for
131
124
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I tend to like Hyatt hotels because they guarantee connecting rooms. The walk to the main part of the RIverwalk was fine. The hotel itself seemed old and sloppily done - brown trim paint slopped over the hinges, the hotel had a funny smell to it. The beds are crammed right next to the old-style window heating and air unit. So, air is blowing on you the entire night. The popcorn ceiling and walls had cracks in it and just didn't feel very nice. Getting into the bathroom is tight - we have never seen less clearance between the door and the toilet. The shower had no power to it and wasn't much more than a drip. The rooms are ample in size and the couch in the sitting area is nice. If you get a deal on it, fine. But as it was over the holidays and all that was offered was the rack rate, for that price I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Family of 4 was comfy here, all over six foot, two beds and a pullout met our needs, the free breakfast was wonderful, and the late night cookies hit the spot. Exercise room could be better, but met my needs. Kids had a late night meal from the 24 - 7 menu and were happy with the offering and quickness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Plus:
- Nice staff
- Clean room
- Close to Riverwalk
- Free parking (probably only downtown hotel to offer this)

Cons:
- Breakfast available only until 0930. If you want to sleep in and enjoy a later breakfast, you are out of luck
- Breakfast area not sized properly for number number of guests. Long line to get served (see photo). Inadequate seating.
- Only basic amenities

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to respond as follows. The line waiting to be served breakfast here is not the norm; being the holidays, we had large families staying at the hotel and everyone pretty much waited until just before closing time of the breakfast service to get breakfast. There is also additional seating for breakfast in a room off of the lobby area. During the week, breakfast hours is from 6.30 am to 9.30 am and on weekends, 7.00am to 10am.

We apologize for your waiting time and hopefully you do not experience this again when you visit us in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Although on the Riverwalk it is not on a the main part of the Riverwalk it is short 10 minute walk along the river. The rooms are nice and the staff is very nice and they do have a very good breakfast with hot items on the buffett.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANTON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This property is a bit off the beaten path of the Riverwalk - yet is just a 15 minute walk to the MarketPlace. However, it's on the fringe of the neighborhood and I was not comfortable walking to a local restaurant (even though the staff said it was perfectly safe). Most of the staff were very freindly - however, one of the morning crew putting out breakfast was not happy to see me arrive early (I had a very early appointment) and just plainly said "you'll have to settle for cold cereal or a roll).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent in location, service, breakfast, pricing, cleanliness, guest room space, check-in and check-out except for bathroom, speed of getting the hot water and noicy A/C unit. The room was clean; the beds comfortable. The staff was friendly and attentive. Amenities included free wifi, free parking, and a much better than average free breakfast featuring skillete sandwiches and fresh fruit. The room was spacious, with a separate sitting area with a sofa bed and mini kitchen. HOWEVER, the bathroom was SO SMALL....They could have used somed of the huge space in the room to cover for the smal space in the bathroom. All in all an excellecnt hotel (Try to book a room with a view)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.