We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak I've Ever Had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ounce Prime Steakhouse - CLOSED

Ounce Prime Steakhouse
1401 N. Loop 1604 W, San Antonio, TX (Far North Central)
210-493-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Cross street: Blanco & 1604
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Steak I've Ever Had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Keep in mind you are paying top dollar for the best steak. The rest of the experience is rather lower class. The tables are crowded and the bar is nothing special. The price on the menu is for a steak. Anything else is extra. Come prepared to spend some cash. With that said, the steak is to die for. I almost cuts itself and jumps into your mouth and melts. The only reason I am not giving five stars on this is the atmosphere. I felt claustrophobic eating in such a crowd. BTW, make a reservation. I have tried to get in a couple of times without a reservation and was not able to get in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible Service - Won't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

3rd Visit. Service had been mediocre and the food good but not great. The Manager's rudeness assured that this trip will be the last.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closed for Non Payment of rent”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Ok, I don't know what ShaunSCatterick is talking about. This place is closed down. I found out today when my wife and I drove up to the same address listed above. I made reservations online well in advance and there was no indication that this place was going to be closed; on Valentine's Day...When all other nice restaurants in town are booked full. Shaun, are you in San Antonio, Texas?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Ok, the meat is very expensive, but you do get what you pay for. And oh my does this place blow your mind! Considering we loved just about every steak we ate at every restaurant whilst in Texas, Ounce certainly tops the list.

The food was amazing. Melt in your mouth and cooked to perfection.

The restaurant is quite posh, and some of us felt under dressed.

Would definitely go again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Decent sides, mediocre steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Went to Ounce planning to eat ribeye, but they had none....on a Saturday night? The New York strip was very undercooked, but we did not send it back because it had already taken 55 minutes for our meal to be served. The mac and cheese was very watery and unappetizing, but the cheddar potatoes were really good. The rolls are the best thing there. We sat at our table for 55 minutes and were never served any bread until we asked for it when the meal arrived. Would never go back to this odd steakhouse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ounce Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ounce Prime Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.