We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken Paradise--A beautiful place in the country. . . right in the heart of San Antonio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
606 Jackson Keller Road, San Antonio, TX 78216 (North Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
“Chicken Paradise--A beautiful place in the country. . . right in the heart of San Antonio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed a weekend stay at the Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast in San Antonio. What a treat! This truly is a paradise right in the heart of the city. It has a very quiet, relaxed, and country feel to it. Beautiful grounds, a very inviting pool (which we will enjoy on another visit--too cold to swim the weekend we were there), adorable chickens (lots! the source of the eggs for those mouth-watering omelets), a large beautifully furnished suite filled with antiques, one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in, a small kitchenette (with just a microwave and small refrigerator; no way to cook), CD player, and flat screen TV with cable. It's the perfect place to relax, read, get away from the hectic schedule. The owners go out of their way to make you feel like royalty. Anne has put many helpful restaurant and sightseeing links on their website, and they helped point us in the right direction when we headed out. Joe is the chef, although I am sure Anne helps out in the kitchen as well. The breakfasts they serve are absolutely mouthwatering. It's almost worth a trip there just to enjoy breakfast! They went out of their way to accommodate our diet needs; everything they serve there is gluten-free ( a must for us), and I cannot eat eggs, so they created wonderful egg-free options for me. So delicious! It was all presented so beautifully, too. You really must try this place. You'll love it! Really perfect for couples.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Loved the peaceful atmosphere of this wonderful B&B. You feel like royalty being the only ones there and don't have to share the hosts with anyone else. Anne and Joe are very knowledgable of the surrounding area and had some great tips. We had a choice of having breakfast in our very spacious guest room or on the patio. The weather was perfect and we chose the patio but either place would have been perfect. We do not have to eat gluten free meals but found it interesting to discuss the subject with such an expert. This is THE place to come whether you need to be gluten free or not. The breakfast was delicious. We can't wait to return when everything is in bloom! Big thanks goes out to Anne & Joe for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to get to stay at the Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast over the Valentines Day weekend...I cannot sum up the incredible time we had in just a few words...the lodging was comfortable and great; the hosts were amazing and went out of their way to not only help us get to our concert but also in cooking a special request breakfast that I will never forget. I couldn't believe we were in the middle of the city! You didn't hear traffic, the scenery - especially the chickens - was beautiful and fun; the pool was refreshing...I could go on and on. This location was convenient to any major HWY you wanted to get to, and if we needed directions or wanted to know where particular shops were, all we had to do was ask. We will definitely visit again! If you are looking for a quiet getaway in the middle of a big city with incredibly wonderful and knowledgeable hosts...look no further than the Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast and Anne and Papa Joe! Great fun, great atmosphere, great food and great people! What more could you ask for? Best of all...we relaxed and had fun!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheoCleo, Owner at Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
It is always nice to have the chance to pamper folks celebrating an anniversary, especially the first anniversary! We are glad to know we played a little part in their celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everyone needs to put this on their bucket list! Although we are do not eat gluten, after experiencing 100% gluten free meals here, we are considering the alternative! The food is incredible as well as fresh, hot, delicious and the presentation is like a beautiful portrait. The hosts are friendly, informative, and there to make your stay an experience that lingers in your feelings as a "warm afterglow" that keeps on giving! Children and adults enjoy the chickens, the tree house, the sound of the water falling in the pool, the wonderful music as you dine around the pool.
This is a hideaway in San Antonio which, if you have to venture out, it is located with easy access to The Riverwalk, restaurants, and Sea World! A very unique B and B!

Room Tip: Bring food if you choose to eat in for lunch or dinner as the room is very large and has a small kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheoCleo, Owner at Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are so pleased to be part of the "warm afterglow" that our guests experience when they stay with us. And we love to share samples of the gluten-free diet to those who don't know much about GF or other dietary restrictions. It is great to let them know that GF dining can be awesome. Thanks for staying at Chicken Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It can't be paradise for the chickens because they don't get to enjoy the delicious breakfasts that fit any dietary restriction. It certainly is a paradise for guests, though. Papa Joe and Ann are gracious hosts and the property is beautiful and isolated. It is convenient to downtown, the north loop and the Airport. The room is paradise - the paradise suite - with a king bed, lots of space, a roomy bath and a small kitchen space. The grounds are fascinating with a pool, tree house and huge old live oaks. It is a haven for song birds. Joe and Ann's gardens are beautiful.
If you are travelling to San Antonio, do not miss this slice of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheoCleo, Owner at Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are pleased to hear that our guests consider us a Paradise because we feel the same way. We are fortunate to live and tend to the gardens and animals of Chicken Paradise. I will let you in on a little secret...... the chickens do enjoy all the remains of the breakfast and all the vegetable and fruit scraps that come from our kitchen. It is nice to be called a slice of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Chicken Paradise is a homey cabin in the middle of the city. Once you're through the gate you'd never know you were in the midst of a city of 1.3 million people. There's a tree house, a pool, an outdoor shower, and a deck on which to sit and enjoy the calming effects of the garden.The breakfasts are amazing ... bring a big appetite ... and the hosts couldn't be nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheoCleo, Owner at Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed visiting Chicken Paradise, especially our tree house, pool, outdoor shower and gardens. We hope you come back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Paradise is a great description for the Chicken Paradise Bed & Breakfast. This is a beautiful secluded oasis tucked away right in the busy city. The breakfasts were incredible with servings of delicious fresh organic gluten free foods. Having gluten sensitivities I never had to worry whether I should eat or not. EAT! I did - yummy! It was very relaxing each morning having breakfast by the pool surrounded by a tropical paradise.

The innkeepers were most gracious and extremely accommodating. Anne and Joe were so very helpful in suggesting gluten free restaurants for us to try and sites to see. We miss our morning conversations with them. We stayed a week but wanted to stay even longer. Thank you Anne and Joe for making our stay so perfect. We will definitely stay at the Chicken Paradise when returning to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Only one large suite available which is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheoCleo, Owner at Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
It is always nice to be able to pamper folks with gluten sensitivities, especially those with multiple sensitivities. Having only one suite means we can focus on your specific needs.We enjoyed the breakfast conversations as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast

Address: 606 Jackson Keller Road, San Antonio, TX 78216
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > North Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful farm retreat bed and breakfast in the heart of San Antonio, Texas: A gluten free breakfast prepared in a gluten free environment is at the top of the list at Chicken Paradise. There is a large pool, a private outdoor (hot water) shower, a tree house and places to read or stroll around in the serenity of the lush bed and breakfast retreat. The chickens and peacocks roam the premises and are curious to meet you. There is a big organic garden where you are welcome to forage or visit the herbs. You may go for a dip or lounge around the pool. Just make yourself at home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicken Paradise Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.